Opinion

—Getty

Superintendent: Immigrant Students Need a Safe Harbor in School

In the wake of anti-immigrant violence, we must help make sure that all students feel welcomed, writes Susana Cordova. (August 19, 2019)

Top Opinions

—Andres Leighton/AP

An El Paso Teacher's Pledge: I Will Help My Students Through Their Fear

The killer may have known El Paso's demographics, but he did not know our community's heart, writes teacher Christina Mier. (August 14, 2019)

—Getty

National PTA President: Congress Must Reconvene Now to Address Gun Violence

We don't elect leaders to offer thoughts and prayers, writes Leslie Boggs. It's time for those lawmakers to pass common-sense gun reform. (August 8, 2019)

—Getty

How to Bring Research Into Your Classroom—And Become Your Own Researcher

Even if you're too busy to wade through dense 30-page articles on best practices, don't give up on research, writes educator Cassandra O'Sullivan Sachar. (August 6, 2019)

More Opinions >

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Q&As With K-12 Thought Leaders

Read insights from some of the K-12 field's most prominent education scholars, leaders, and practitioners. Education Week and Education Week Teacher have gathered years of valuable interviews reflecting some of the most pressing issues in K-12 schooling. (March 18, 2019)

More interviews >

Beyond Bias: Countering Stereotypes in Schools

In four videos, education researchers discuss their perspectives on the criminalizing of black girls in American schools, including by school resource officers.

More opinion videos >

Letters to the Editor

MORE letters from our readers >

Our Community

Teacher Voices

The Urgent Need for Anti-Racist Education

In the wake of recent shootings linked to white supremacy and an uptick in hate crimes, we need to teach students to actively work against racism, writes Christina Torres. (August 14, 2019)

I Knew Toni Morrison. She Was a Gifted Teacher

An unexpected friendship with the author and Nobel laureate gave this professor—and her preservice teachers and their middle school students—insight into Morrison’s talents as a teacher. (August 13, 2019)

More FROM TEACHER >

Opinion Collections

Education Week reporters and editors identify 10 of today’s most pressing challenges in education and offer bold ideas for addressing them. (January 8, 2019)

Five education scholars share their best advice for how to make have your voice heard in education policy and practice. (January 15, 2019)

From school shootings to student suicides to hurricanes and more: School leaders open up about how they faced some of the most difficult circumstances of their careers. (November 27, 2018)

More OPINION COLLECTIONS >

Most Popular Stories

Viewed

Emailed

Recommended

Commented