Opinion

—JC_Design/Getty

Trauma-Informed Practice Is a Powerful Tool. But It's Also Incomplete

Trauma-informed practice must be informed by the individual needs of students and the systems that caused their trauma, write Simona Goldin and Debi Khasnabis. (February 19, 2020)

Top Opinions

—AP Photo/Elise Amendola

How to Vet the Presidential Candidates on Education

There are five key values to consider when separating campaign rhetoric from how a candidate would actually govern, writes Robert Feirsen. (February 13, 2020)

—Sam Hurd/Education Week

We Lost Family at Parkland. You Should Learn From Our Personal Tragedy

On the second anniversary of the mass shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, three surviving family members write about how they believe schools can be made safer. (February 11, 2020)

—Vanessa Solis/Education Week,
Z_Wei/Getty

Does Studying Student Data Really Raise Test Scores?

Many teachers believe that analyzing student assessment data can improve performance, but the research suggests otherwise, writes Heather C. Hill. (February 7, 2020)

More Opinions >

From the Pueblo to College: The Journey of Two Rural Students

What does it take for rural students to succeed academically? This three-part video series follows two Native American students as they transition from high school to higher education and explores what their decisions mean for their families and their Jemez Pueblo community.

More opinion videos >

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Q&As With K-12 Thought Leaders

Read insights from some of the K-12 field's most prominent education scholars, leaders, and practitioners. Education Week and Education Week Teacher have gathered years of valuable interviews reflecting some of the most pressing issues in K-12 schooling. (March 18, 2019)

More interviews >

Letters to the Editor

MORE letters from our readers >

Our Community

Teacher Voices

I've Changed How I Grade My Students. You Should, Too

My job as a teacher is to help students learn, not to use extrinsic motivation to get them to work, writes Miriam Plotinsky. (February 18, 2020)

Is Your School Affirming Institutional Racism During Black History Month?

One particularly tense staff meeting helped educator Robert Parker rethink how his school celebrated Black History Month. (February 12, 2020)

More FROM TEACHER >

Opinion Collections

As the media landscape becomes more atomized and the political landscape more fractious, we wanted to know how scholars are keeping current. (January 13, 2020)

In the latest edition of Big Ideas, Education Week reporters and editors question some of the basic assumptions that underpin public education and stand in the way of transformation. (January 7, 2020)

The word choices we make can inform and affect how we view student potential. This special Opinion package tackles what educators need to know. (December 5, 2019)

More OPINION COLLECTIONS >

Most Popular Stories

Viewed

Emailed

Recommended

Commented