Opinion

—AscentXmedia/iStock/Getty Images Plus

An Open Letter to the NAEP Governing Board

The change under consideration would make the reading test less accurate not more, writes E.D. Hirsch Jr. (December 1, 2020)

Top Opinions

—iStock/Getty Images Plus

We Americans Risk Losing the Ability to Govern Ourselves. Better Civics Education Can Help

The ability to discern fact from fiction and to recognize reliable news is fundamental, writes News Literacy Project’s Charles Salter. (November 24, 2020)

—Getty and Vanessa Solis/
Education Week

My District Reversed Course on the Implicit Bias Training We Need. What Now?

The principal advice column takes on communicating district decisions you disagree with, optimizing virtual lunch bunches, and more. (November 19, 2020)

—Melody T. Newcomb for
Education Week

Parents Are Watching Like Never Before. 'Trust Us' Isn't Enough

COVID-19 has revealed stark inequities, but education leaders should seize the moment to dismantle them, writes Sonja Brookins Santelises. (November 18, 2020)

More Opinions >

From the Pueblo to College: The Journey of Two Rural Students

What does it take for rural students to succeed academically? This three-part video series follows two Native American students as they transition from high school to higher education and explores what their decisions mean for their families and their Jemez Pueblo community.

More opinion videos >

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Q&As With K-12 Thought Leaders

Read insights from some of the K-12 field's most prominent education scholars, leaders, and practitioners. Education Week and Education Week Teacher have gathered years of valuable interviews reflecting some of the most pressing issues in K-12 schooling. (March 18, 2019)

More interviews >

Letters to the Editor

MORE letters from our readers >

Our Community

Teacher Voices

Forget Self-Care for Teachers. We Are Fighting for Our Lives

For many teachers facing the imminent return to school, the customary combination of nerves and excitement has been replaced by mortal terror, writes Justin Minkel. (July 21, 2020)

Teachers Are Caring More Than Ever. Here Are 4 Ways to Care for Them

Since the pandemic began, teachers have been shouldering the immense weight of students’ increased social and emotional needs. School and district leaders should look after their well-being, too. (July 21, 2020)

More FROM TEACHER >

Opinion Collections

There’s no single solution for combating anti-Black racism in schools. That’s why we filled an entire special report on the subject. (September 23, 2020)

Students are carving their own paths in the pandemic. Educators and students explore what that means for schools. (September 9, 2020)

In a recurring Education Week advice column, two experienced former principals will share their decades of expertise with their colleagues. (July 23, 2020)

More OPINION COLLECTIONS >

Most Popular Stories

Viewed

Emailed

Recommended

Commented