Opinion

—Migo/iStock

Domestic Violence in the Age of COVID-19: A Teacher's Perspective

We must have extra compassion for students who have lost their safe haven during this crisis, writes high school teacher Shalander Shelly Samuels. (May 20, 2020)

Top Opinions

—iStock

6 Classroom Changes Teachers Will Make When Schools Reopen

Teaching during the pandemic is bringing home the value of fewer grades and “old people" technology, writes Gina Denny. (May 18, 2020)

—iStock

The 5 Urgent Questions Ed. Researchers Can Help Answer Right Now

COVID-19 has upended education research agendas, so researchers should now pivot, write Sara Kerr and Paige Kowalski. (May 14, 2020)

—iStock

We Might Have Gotten Remote Learning Wrong. We Can Still Fix This School Year

Rather than mimicking regular school, districts can use the remaining weeks for intense work with at-risk students or for training teachers, writes Larry Ferlazzo. (May 13, 2020)

More Opinions >

From the Pueblo to College: The Journey of Two Rural Students

What does it take for rural students to succeed academically? This three-part video series follows two Native American students as they transition from high school to higher education and explores what their decisions mean for their families and their Jemez Pueblo community.

More opinion videos >

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Q&As With K-12 Thought Leaders

Read insights from some of the K-12 field's most prominent education scholars, leaders, and practitioners. Education Week and Education Week Teacher have gathered years of valuable interviews reflecting some of the most pressing issues in K-12 schooling. (March 18, 2019)

More interviews >

Letters to the Editor

MORE letters from our readers >

Our Community

Teacher Voices

6 Classroom Changes Teachers Will Make When Schools Reopen

Teaching during the pandemic is bringing home the value of fewer grades and “old people" technology, writes Gina Denny. (May 18, 2020)

We Might Have Gotten Remote Learning Wrong. We Can Still Fix This School Year

Rather than mimicking regular school, districts can use the remaining weeks for intense work with at-risk students or for training teachers, writes Larry Ferlazzo. (May 13, 2020)

More FROM TEACHER >

Opinion Collections

In an ongoing series, Susanna Loeb and Heather Hill put the pieces of research together so that education decisionmakers can evaluate which policies and practices to implement. (February 7, 2020)

As the media landscape becomes more atomized and the political landscape more fractious, we wanted to know how scholars are keeping current. (January 13, 2020)

In the latest edition of Big Ideas, Education Week reporters and editors question some of the basic assumptions that underpin public education and stand in the way of transformation. (January 7, 2020)

More OPINION COLLECTIONS >

Most Popular Stories

Viewed

Emailed

Recommended

Commented