Opinion

—Johannes Kramarek

Should I Choose My Life Over My Life's Purpose? A Teacher's Dilemma

Our leaders have failed us on COVID-19. Now, they’re asking educators to risk our lives dealing with the consequences of those mistakes, writes Allie Alejandra. (August 12, 2020)

Top Opinions

—Digital Vision Vectors/Getty

Sure, Envision a New Public School System. But Don't Ignore the Emergency at Hand

As we work to address the centuries of injustice in education, families need short-term solutions as well, writes Michael J. Feuer. (August 11, 2020)

—Twitter via AP

You Made Me Enforce Useless Dress Codes for Years. Don't Claim Face Masks Go Too Far

Dress codes have disproportionately harmed Black students. A face-mask mandate could save their lives, writes James Bridgeforth. (August 10, 2020)

—Getty and Vanessa Solis/
Education Week

How to Evaluate Teachers During Remote Learning, and Other Advice for Principals

This principal advice columnist answers your questions about remote teacher evaluation, staying accountable on racial equity, and what she wishes she’d known as a first-year principal. (August 5, 2020)

More Opinions >

From the Pueblo to College: The Journey of Two Rural Students

What does it take for rural students to succeed academically? This three-part video series follows two Native American students as they transition from high school to higher education and explores what their decisions mean for their families and their Jemez Pueblo community.

More opinion videos >

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Q&As With K-12 Thought Leaders

Read insights from some of the K-12 field's most prominent education scholars, leaders, and practitioners. Education Week and Education Week Teacher have gathered years of valuable interviews reflecting some of the most pressing issues in K-12 schooling. (March 18, 2019)

More interviews >

Letters to the Editor

MORE letters from our readers >

Our Community

Teacher Voices

Forget Self-Care for Teachers. We Are Fighting for Our Lives

For many teachers facing the imminent return to school, the customary combination of nerves and excitement has been replaced by mortal terror, writes Justin Minkel. (July 21, 2020)

Teachers Are Caring More Than Ever. Here Are 4 Ways to Care for Them

Since the pandemic began, teachers have been shouldering the immense weight of students’ increased social and emotional needs. School and district leaders should look after their well-being, too. (July 21, 2020)

More FROM TEACHER >

Opinion Collections

In an ongoing series, Susanna Loeb and Heather Hill put the pieces of research together so that education decisionmakers can evaluate which policies and practices to implement. (February 7, 2020)

As the media landscape becomes more atomized and the political landscape more fractious, we wanted to know how scholars are keeping current. (January 13, 2020)

In the latest edition of Big Ideas, Education Week reporters and editors question some of the basic assumptions that underpin public education and stand in the way of transformation. (January 7, 2020)

More OPINION COLLECTIONS >

Most Popular Stories

Viewed

Emailed

Recommended

Commented