Opinion

—Getty and Vanessa Solis/Education Week

How to Support Teacher Morale, and Other Urgent Advice for Principals

How do I discuss race in my mostly white school? How do I rethink our social-media policy? Sharif El-Mekki has answers. (October 21, 2020)

Top Opinions

—iStock/Getty Images Plus

A Day in the Life of a Hybrid Teacher

It involves pivoting between two laptops, students online and in person, and a lot of safety precautions, writes teacher Mary M. McConnaha. (October 20, 2020)

—iStock/Getty Images

What an Anti-Racist Principal Must Do

An anti-racist principal’s work must rest upon a strong moral foundation, writes Mark Anthony Gooden. (October 13, 2020)

—iStock/Getty Images

A Roadmap for Reparations in Education

Breaking the cycle of institutional racism includes a quality education for Black students, writes Khalilah M. Harris. Here’s how that could look. (October 15, 2020)

More Opinions >

From the Pueblo to College: The Journey of Two Rural Students

What does it take for rural students to succeed academically? This three-part video series follows two Native American students as they transition from high school to higher education and explores what their decisions mean for their families and their Jemez Pueblo community.

More opinion videos >

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Q&As With K-12 Thought Leaders

Read insights from some of the K-12 field's most prominent education scholars, leaders, and practitioners. Education Week and Education Week Teacher have gathered years of valuable interviews reflecting some of the most pressing issues in K-12 schooling. (March 18, 2019)

More interviews >

Letters to the Editor

MORE letters from our readers >

Our Community

Teacher Voices

Forget Self-Care for Teachers. We Are Fighting for Our Lives

For many teachers facing the imminent return to school, the customary combination of nerves and excitement has been replaced by mortal terror, writes Justin Minkel. (July 21, 2020)

Teachers Are Caring More Than Ever. Here Are 4 Ways to Care for Them

Since the pandemic began, teachers have been shouldering the immense weight of students’ increased social and emotional needs. School and district leaders should look after their well-being, too. (July 21, 2020)

More FROM TEACHER >

Opinion Collections

There’s no single solution for combating anti-Black racism in schools. That’s why we filled an entire special report on the subject. (September 23, 2020)

Students are carving their own paths in the pandemic. Educators and students explore what that means for schools. (September 9, 2020)

In a recurring Education Week advice column, two experienced former principals will share their decades of expertise with their colleagues. (July 23, 2020)

More OPINION COLLECTIONS >

Most Popular Stories

Viewed

Emailed

Recommended

Commented