Opinion
Reading & Literacy Opinion

Computer-Assisted Classes—Elementary

By Jonathan W. Gerlach — September 29, 2006 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

4th grade teacher
Lopez Elementary School
Seffner, Florida

“As we learn, we grow.” Someone wise once told me that, and it’s the best way to describe our Ebooking project at Lopez Elementary. It’s made possible through Realewriter (www.realebooks.com), a program that allows students to create, edit, and publish books in print and online.

We started this project just over a year ago, with a team of three teachers. We now have 15, and we’re beginning to see results. The idea developed after my co-coordinator read research stating that, for a child to be successful in school, he or she needs to have access to at least 52 books before entering kindergarten. For various reasons, lots of kids arrive in school not nearly this prepared and get frustrated as they struggle to read. So, using Realewriter, our older students started writing books for the younger ones. Eventually, we began delivering books to Head Start programs, clinics, homeless shelters, and other places where underprivileged children have little to no access to free books.

It took a while. We began with only two computers and no printer. But after drawing interest and accumulating resources, we finished the 2005-06 school year by publishing more than 150 books. I never imagined this was possible! We’ve also incorporated the writing and publishing of Realebooks in our intermediate students’ science and social studies classes. And we’ve had great success with primary students writing class books in response to literature they’ve read. I’m currently transferring all of these books to our new Web site, lopez.realelibrary.com.

Eventually, this project will become bigger than we are. We’re finally getting the support we need, and many people want to be part of the project. It’s a long road, but we’re moving with a purpose. If you want to learn more about Realewriter, feel free to e-mail me at Jonathan.Gerlach@sdhc.k12.fl.us. Or you can visit the new site mentioned above or the old site, www.myrealebooks.com/site/lopez/.

Related Tags:

A version of this article appeared in the October 01, 2006 edition of Teacher as Computer-Assisted Classes

Events

English-Language Learners Webinar The Science of Reading and Multilingual Learners: What Educators Need to Know
Join experts in reading science and multilingual literacy to discuss what the latest research means for multilingual learners in classrooms adopting a science of reading-based approach.
School & District Management K-12 Essentials Forum Get a Strong Start to the New School Year
Get insights and actions from Education Week journalists and expert guests on how to start the new school year on strong footing.
Reading & Literacy Webinar A Roadmap to Multisensory Early Literacy Instruction: Accelerate Growth for All Students 
How can you develop key literacy skills with a diverse range of learners? Explore best practices and tips to meet the needs of all students. 

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Reading & Literacy 5 Insights on Getting the ‘Science of Reading’ Into Classrooms
Here are 5 things to know from EdWeek's reporting on the national movement to overhaul reading instruction.
5 min read
First grader Geniss Gibbs practices reading skills at Eastern Elementary School in Washington, N.C., on May 23, 2022.
First grader Geniss Gibbs practices reading skills at Eastern Elementary School in Washington, N.C., in May.
Kate Medley for Education Week
Reading & Literacy Opinion How to Help Students Embrace Reading. Educators Weigh In
To encourage the development of lifelong-reading habits in their students, educators must use both science and art.
3 min read
Surreal Illustration of books flying through the air
Jorm Sangsorn/iStock
Reading & Literacy Tracker Which States Have Passed 'Science of Reading' Laws? What's in Them?
Education Week tracks which states mandate that schools use evidence-based methods to teach young students how to read.
1 min read
Reading interventionist Laura Beth Ross teaches reading skills to first graders at Eastern Elementary in Washington, N.C., on May 23, 2022.
Reading interventionist Laura Beth Ross teaches reading skills to first graders at Eastern Elementary in Washington, N.C., on May 23, 2022.
Kate Medley for Education Week
Reading & Literacy Project What Is LETRS? Why One Training Is Dominating 'Science of Reading' Efforts
The intensive, expensive teacher training has boomed—but what does it include? And does it work?
12 min read
Monica Littlefield teaches reading skills to her first grade class at Eastern Elementary School in Washington, N.C., on May 23, 2022.
Monica Littlefield teaches reading skills to her first grade class at Eastern Elementary School in Washington, N.C., on May 23, 2022.
Kate Medley for Education Week