Opinion Blog


Rick Hess Straight Up

Education policy maven Rick Hess of the American Enterprise Institute think tank offers straight talk on matters of policy, politics, research, and reform. Read more from this blog.

Policy & Politics Opinion

The Top 10 RHSU Columns of 2020

By Rick Hess — December 28, 2020 3 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

It’s almost 2021. I keep thinking, “You can’t get here soon enough.” As we prepare to put 2020 in the books, we have a chance to reflect on the strangest year I can recall. The shocks came fast and furious, from impeachment, to a once-a-century pandemic, to a massive wave of protests sparked by the killing of George Floyd, to a summer of riots, to a president refusing to acknowledge his election defeat. Much of this found its ways into the world of education, most obviously through the school closures that—for millions of students—are now stretching into their 10th month. Amidst all this, I thought it worth taking a look at some of the most popular or most impactful RHSU posts from 2020.

As always happens when ranking the year’s top RHSU posts, there were a few that didn’t make the final cut but seemed to merit a mention. This year, they included Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Antonin Scalia, Betsy DeVos, and the Rage Gene (October 5, 2020), Pedro Noguera and Rick’s Excellent Adventure (September 28, 2020), and COVID-19 Has Capsized the Case Against School Choice (October 13, 2020). Now, on to the top 10 RHSU columns of 2020.

10. Four Mental Traps That Stop Schools From Getting More Bang for the Buck (September 21, 2020) - My newly released volume, “Getting the Most Bang for the Education Buck,” explores how to spend edu-dollars smarter. Today, I talk about the role of mindset in that process.

9. Sen. Lamar Alexander on the Congressional Response to Coronavirus (May 11, 2020) - “A one-hour flight to Washington doesn’t make you any smarter, and I don’t think we need to come up with a bunch of big ideas up here and send them back to states to implement—especially in education,” says Alexander.

8. Why Is School So Boring? (July 6, 2020) - Young kids are filled with curiosity, so I wonder why we design schools that seem intent on taking that hard-wired fascination with the world and stomping it flat.

7. Five Thoughts on the Coronavirus and Schools (March 16, 2020) - The coronavirus has upended our lives. Now, I know nothing about epidemiology or public health. But the impact on schooling has been enormous, and that is an area I know something about.

6. What Makes for an Effective Secretary of Education? (November 18, 2020) - Having enjoyed a front-row seat for the tenures of the past 5 secretaries of education, I have concluded there are a half-dozen traits that President-elect Biden should seek in his choice.

5. America’s Schools Are Named After Some Horrible People (July 1, 2020) - The segregationist naming of schools for those who took up arms against the nation to defend human bondage is not reflective of the values we want our kids to learn.

4. Four Things You Need to Know About Education Policymaking (January 27, 2020) - Before expecting to effectively shape policy in a world full of complexity and honest disagreement, learn about the world you want to change.

3. Bernie, Bloomberg, Booker, and the New Politics of Education (January 21, 2020) - For three decades, there was a quiet assumption that education’s growing economic import was pushing education politics toward the pragmatic middle—it turns out that this dynamic was surprisingly fragile.

2. Remote Learning: The Triumph of Hope Over Experience? (October 19, 2020) - Online learning is not a viable substitute for most learners most of the time. We shouldn’t kid ourselves that what’s being provided is a better option than it really is.

1. Participation Is Only a Part of Democratic Education (November 2, 2020) - Free nations also rely on norms and habits of mind that are less intuitive. Civics education needs to focus on these, too.

There you are. I welcome your thoughts and comments on the list. Meanwhile, let’s turn the page on to 2021.

The opinions expressed in Rick Hess Straight Up are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.

Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Professional Development Webinar
Strategies for Improving Student Outcomes with Teacher-Student Relationships
Explore strategies for strengthening teacher-student relationships and hear how districts are putting these methods into practice to support positive student outcomes.
Content provided by Panorama Education
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Classroom Technology Webinar
Transform Teaching and Learning with AI
Increase productivity and support innovative teaching with AI in the classroom.
Content provided by Promethean
Curriculum Webinar Computer Science Education Movement Gathers Momentum. How Should Schools React?
Discover how schools can expand opportunities for students to study computer science education.

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Law & Courts Maine Opts Out of $440M Multistate Settlement With Juul
Maine was not willing to agree to Juul's condition that would have barred school districts from suing the company.
1 min read
A cashier displays a packet of tobacco-flavored Juul pods at a store in San Francisco on June 17, 2019.
A cashier displays a packet of tobacco-flavored Juul pods at a store in San Francisco on June 17, 2019.
Samantha Maldonado/AP
Law & Courts Maine OKs First Religious School for Tuition Reimbursement
A Supreme Court ruling had ordered the state to treat religious schools the same as other private schools regarding tuition reimbursement.
1 min read
The U.S. Supreme Court building in Washington, Monday, June 27, 2022.
The U.S. Supreme Court building in Washington, Monday, June 27, 2022.
Patrick Semansky/AP
Law & Courts A School Librarian Pushes Back on Censorship and Gets Death Threats and Online Harassment
Amanda Jones lost her legal battle against online harassers this week but vows to continue to press her case.
7 min read
Amanda Jones, a librarian in Livingston Parish, La., pictured on Sept. 13, 2022. Jones is suing members of a Facebook group who harassed her virtually after she spoke against censorship in a public library meeting. Jones received angry emails and even a death threat from people across the country after she filed the lawsuit.
Amanda Jones, a librarian in Livingston Parish, La., is suing members of a Facebook group who harassed her virtually after she spoke against censorship in a public library meeting.
Claire Bangser for Education Week
Law & Courts Affirmative Action Cases Lead What Could Prove Another Momentous Supreme Court Term
The cases on race in college admissions could affect K-12. The justices will also weigh copyright, American Indian law, and LGBTQ rights.
7 min read
The U.S. Supreme Court building in Washington, Monday, June 27, 2022.
The U.S. Supreme Court building in Washington, Monday, June 27, 2022.
Patrick Semansky/AP