Opinion Blog


Rick Hess Straight Up

Education policy maven Rick Hess of the American Enterprise Institute think tank offers straight talk on matters of policy, politics, research, and reform. Read more from this blog.

Policy & Politics Opinion

The Top 10 RHSU Columns of 2020

By Rick Hess — December 28, 2020 3 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

It’s almost 2021. I keep thinking, “You can’t get here soon enough.” As we prepare to put 2020 in the books, we have a chance to reflect on the strangest year I can recall. The shocks came fast and furious, from impeachment, to a once-a-century pandemic, to a massive wave of protests sparked by the killing of George Floyd, to a summer of riots, to a president refusing to acknowledge his election defeat. Much of this found its ways into the world of education, most obviously through the school closures that—for millions of students—are now stretching into their 10th month. Amidst all this, I thought it worth taking a look at some of the most popular or most impactful RHSU posts from 2020.

As always happens when ranking the year’s top RHSU posts, there were a few that didn’t make the final cut but seemed to merit a mention. This year, they included Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Antonin Scalia, Betsy DeVos, and the Rage Gene (October 5, 2020), Pedro Noguera and Rick’s Excellent Adventure (September 28, 2020), and COVID-19 Has Capsized the Case Against School Choice (October 13, 2020). Now, on to the top 10 RHSU columns of 2020.

10. Four Mental Traps That Stop Schools From Getting More Bang for the Buck (September 21, 2020) - My newly released volume, “Getting the Most Bang for the Education Buck,” explores how to spend edu-dollars smarter. Today, I talk about the role of mindset in that process.

9. Sen. Lamar Alexander on the Congressional Response to Coronavirus (May 11, 2020) - “A one-hour flight to Washington doesn’t make you any smarter, and I don’t think we need to come up with a bunch of big ideas up here and send them back to states to implement—especially in education,” says Alexander.

8. Why Is School So Boring? (July 6, 2020) - Young kids are filled with curiosity, so I wonder why we design schools that seem intent on taking that hard-wired fascination with the world and stomping it flat.

7. Five Thoughts on the Coronavirus and Schools (March 16, 2020) - The coronavirus has upended our lives. Now, I know nothing about epidemiology or public health. But the impact on schooling has been enormous, and that is an area I know something about.

6. What Makes for an Effective Secretary of Education? (November 18, 2020) - Having enjoyed a front-row seat for the tenures of the past 5 secretaries of education, I have concluded there are a half-dozen traits that President-elect Biden should seek in his choice.

5. America’s Schools Are Named After Some Horrible People (July 1, 2020) - The segregationist naming of schools for those who took up arms against the nation to defend human bondage is not reflective of the values we want our kids to learn.

4. Four Things You Need to Know About Education Policymaking (January 27, 2020) - Before expecting to effectively shape policy in a world full of complexity and honest disagreement, learn about the world you want to change.

3. Bernie, Bloomberg, Booker, and the New Politics of Education (January 21, 2020) - For three decades, there was a quiet assumption that education’s growing economic import was pushing education politics toward the pragmatic middle—it turns out that this dynamic was surprisingly fragile.

2. Remote Learning: The Triumph of Hope Over Experience? (October 19, 2020) - Online learning is not a viable substitute for most learners most of the time. We shouldn’t kid ourselves that what’s being provided is a better option than it really is.

1. Participation Is Only a Part of Democratic Education (November 2, 2020) - Free nations also rely on norms and habits of mind that are less intuitive. Civics education needs to focus on these, too.

There you are. I welcome your thoughts and comments on the list. Meanwhile, let’s turn the page on to 2021.

The opinions expressed in Rick Hess Straight Up are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.

Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Student Well-Being Webinar
Stronger Together: Integrating Social and Emotional Supports in an Equity-Based MTSS
Decades of research have shown that when schools implement evidence-based social and emotional supports and programming, academic achievement increases. The impact of these supports – particularly for students of color, students from low-income communities, English
Content provided by Illuminate Education
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Student Well-Being Webinar
A Whole Child Approach to Supporting Positive Student Behavior 
To improve student behavior, it’s important to look at the root causes. Social-emotional learning may play a preventative role.

A whole child approach can proactively support positive student behaviors.

Join this webinar to learn how.
Content provided by Panorama
Recruitment & Retention Live Online Discussion A Seat at the Table: Why Retaining Education Leaders of Color Is Key for Student Success
Today, in the United States roughly 53 percent of our public school students are young people of color, while approximately 80 percent of the educators who lead their classrooms, schools, and districts are white. Racial

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Law & Courts Supreme Court to Hear Case of Coach Who Prayed After Games in Defiance of School District
The U.S. Supreme Court will consider whether school districts may prohibit private religious expression by public school employees.
4 min read
Former Bremerton High School assistant football coach Joe Kennedy is in a conflict with the Bremerton, 
Wash., school district over his silent prayer after games.
Former Bremerton High School assistant football coach Joseph A. Kennedy stands at on the 50-yard line at Bremerton Memorial Stadium. The U.S. Supreme Court agreed to hear an appeal over his dismissal for praying after football games.
Larry Steagall/Kitsap Sun via AP
States Pivoting to Remote Learning: Why It Is Harder in Some States Than Others
In calling the shots on the switch back to remote instruction, states have very different rules, an Education Week analysis finds.
8 min read
Macy Schulman, left, and Mason Yeoh, both students at Fairfield Warde High School, carry pro-remote learning signs during a rally of parents and students fighting to have an online option for school this year, Monday, Aug. 16, 2021, in Fairfield, Conn.
Macy Schulman, left, and Mason Yeoh, both students at Fairfield Warde High School in Connecticut, carry pro-remote learning signs during a rally in August of parents and students fighting to have an online option for school this academic year.
Ned Gerard/Hearst Connecticut Media via AP
Law & Courts Supreme Court Blocks Biden Vaccine Mandate Applying to Schools in Much of the Country
The justices ruled 6-3 to stay an Occupational Health and Safety Administration rule that covered schools in 26 states and two territories.
4 min read
Members of the Supreme Court pose for a group photo last April.
The U.S. Supreme Court blocked a federal vaccine mandate for large employers, including school districts in about half the states.
Erin Schaff/The New York Times via AP
Law & Courts Students Lose Appeal on Right to Civics Education, But Win Praise From Judges Anyway
A federal appellate court panel commended Rhode Island students for the novel effort, but said Supreme Court precedent stood in the way.
3 min read
Scales of justice and Gavel on wooden table and Lawyer or Judge working with agreement in Courtroom, Justice and Law concept.
Pattanaphong Khuankaew/iStock