Opinion Blog


Rick Hess Straight Up

Education policy maven Rick Hess of the American Enterprise Institute think tank offers straight talk on matters of policy, politics, research, and reform. Read more from this blog.

Policy & Politics Opinion

I Spoke to Arne Duncan About School Reform. Here Are 5 Takeaways

We cannot dust off old ideas that were bipartisan 10 or 20 years ago
By Rick Hess — October 11, 2023 6 min read
Image shows a multi-tailed arrow hitting the bullseye of a target.
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Last week, at the American Enterprise Institute, former Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and I sat down to talk about the future of school reform with The New York Times’ Erica Green (you can see the video here). Across town, at exactly the same time, Rep. Matt Gaetz and his gang of very online arsonists were toppling the House Speaker out of pique.

Against that backdrop, our conversation felt civilized, even convivial. That’s funny both because so much educational debate of late has felt far from that and because, as longtime readers may recall, I had a fairly contentious relationship with Arne and his team during Obama-era fights over stuff like Race to the Top, teacher evaluation, Title IX guidance, and the Common Core.

Well, last week, we covered a lot of ground: Testing. Parents. “Book bans.” Leadership. Chronic absenteeism. And more. I don’t want to rehash the whole thing here (watch it if you’re curious or read a summary here). But as I reflected on the conversation and heard reactions to it, there are five thoughts I thought were worth sharing.

First, as I’ve found in my A Search for Common Ground book with Pedro Noguera and my “Straight Talk” exchanges here at Ed Week with Jal Mehta, it’s a lot easier to find significant points of principled agreement than you might think. The clickbait, fiery denunciations, and breathless coverage frequently make it sound like no one can agree on anything. That’s not my experience. As I’ve often said, I’ve found that it’s just not that hard for me to get to 50 percent or 60 percent agreement even with someone who sees things real differently, if we’re willing to sit down and get clear about the particulars. That means that there’s 40 percent or 50 percent we won’t agree on, but that’s life—and if we whittle our arguments down to human size, they can feel less daunting and more manageable.

Second, Duncan lamented the sense that we’re adrift and articulated a vision of leadership focused on a set of broadly shared goals. This seemed to land with people. Arne urged a bipartisan focus on something like early-childhood access, 3rd grade reading score, graduation rates, and some gauge of postsecondary completion—with the understanding that there will be healthy disagreement on how to make these things happen. The degree to which this notion seemed to resonate with viewers had me pondering how much of a full circle we’ve traveled, given that the Clinton-Bush-Obama school reform era really took off when the nation’s governors (including a guy named Bill Clinton) and the first President Bush embraced a set of national goals at their historic Charlottesville meeting more than three decades ago.

Third, the conversation reminded me just how partial or tentative the conversation can be when it comes to parents. For instance, the question of “book bans” came up. This is an issue that’s often presented as a caricature, inevitably leading to a partisan dead end. When the reality is framed more fully and precisely, though, asking why parents might be concerned about graphic sexual imagery in elementary school libraries (for instance) as well as which parental complaints are unjustified or excessive, it’s a lot easier to find common ground. Similarly, when it comes to chronic absenteeism and youth well-being, it turns out there’s a fair bit of agreement that schools must do their part, but parents also need to get kids off their phones, in bed at a reasonable hour, and to school on time.

Fourth, like it or not, I was reminded yet again that would-be school “reformers” can’t just go back to the policy agenda that they spent so much time building and buffing during the Bush-Obama years. This is true even for those who cherished No Child Left Behind, Race to the Top, and the Common Core. Why? Well, I hate to break it to anyone who really loved those programs, but they weren’t some elegantly designed, Platonic ideal of “reform.” Rather, they were compromise-laden attempts designed with a careful eye to the educational priorities, technological tools, and political realities of the moment. That means both that those reforms may be poorly suited to where we are today; they’ll almost inevitably include features that may be outdated, not necessary, or counterproductive. And, of course, it’s a mistake to imagine we can dust off old ideas that were bipartisan 10 or 20 years ago and assume they’ll be popular (or productive) in a very different environment. The future of school reform may look quite different from the past of school reform. And that’s OK.

Finally, watching Gaetz’s antics play out, and then seeing him soak up primetime cable time and campaign contributions as a result, is a reminder of how the rewards for performative behavior have been fundamentally corrupting across so much of American life (my colleague Yuval Levin has written elegantly about this). While there are plenty of toxic right-wing and left-wing performance artists in the education space, to my mind, those most guilty of abandoning their scruples for the cheap thrills of clickbait and culture war have been the stewards of once-austere establishment organizations who’ve eschewed mature leadership and instead embraced the satisfaction of being part of the performative mob. They’ve corrupted unifying institutions, hollowed out constructive places for Americans to work out principled disagreements, and burned the hard-won credibility that a long list of predecessors had carefully accumulated. Who do I have in mind?

In particular, I’m thinking of organizations like the National School Boards Association and the American Library Association, which have eschewed the chance to lead inclusively in favor of performative theatrics. During the pandemic, many parents were furious about how school districts approached reopening, masking, “anti-racist” education, and more. In response, a few parents behaved indefensibly, threatening district officials. But most were just vocal, angry, and active. Instead of distinguishing one from the other and working to honor both parent frustration and the need to police unacceptable behavior, the NSBA infamously asked the federal government to treat irate parents as “domestic terrorists”—even though most of the examples flagged in its letter to the Biden administration didn’t involve any actual threat. More recently, the American Library Association has passed on the opportunity to help bridge the gap between parents troubled by what they consider pornographic images and text found in elementary and middle school materials and those reasonably concerned about censorious behavior. If any group is situated to provide measured guidelines and guardrails for reaching reasonable judgments about such materials, it should be the ALA. Instead of noting that library curation is something librarians do, and helping communities talk constructively about reasonable distinctions and age-appropriateness, the ALA has lent its credibility to those who seem determined to label even modest efforts to remove perceived pornographic texts from elementary and middle school libraries as “book banning.”

Arne argued that we’re at a point where we need leadership from anyone who’s willing to provide it: Governors. Mayors. Educators. Parent leaders. National officials. That resonates. As Erica Green noted, we opened bars before we opened schools during the pandemic. Yep. As I’m prone to note, we’ve just given K-12 over $200 billion in borrowed funds that our kids and grandkids will have to pay back, and it’s hard to find anyone who thinks we got our money’s worth. Our kids need the adults to step up, and we need more adults in the room. Let’s work on that. That just may be the way forward when it comes to the future of school reform.

The opinions expressed in Rick Hess Straight Up are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.

Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
School & District Management Webinar
Leadership in Education: Building Collaborative Teams and Driving Innovation
Learn strategies to build strong teams, foster innovation, & drive student success.
Content provided by Follett Learning
School & District Management K-12 Essentials Forum Principals, Lead Stronger in the New School Year
Join this free virtual event for a deep dive on the skills and motivation you need to put your best foot forward in the new year.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Privacy & Security Webinar
Navigating Modern Data Protection & Privacy in Education
Explore the modern landscape of data loss prevention in education and learn actionable strategies to protect sensitive data.
Content provided by  Symantec & Carahsoft

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Policy & Politics Trump Is Fine, Campaign Says, After Being Whisked Off Stage Following Shooting at Rally
The shooting is being investigated as an assassination attempt, law enforcement told AP.
3 min read
Republican presidential candidate former President Donald Trump is helped off the stage at a campaign event in Butler, Pa., on Saturday, July 13, 2024.
Former President Donald Trump is helped off the stage by Secret Service agents after a shooting at a campaign event in Butler, Pa., on Saturday, July 13, 2024.
Gene J. Puskar/AP
Federal Project 2025 and the GOP Platform: What Each Says About K-12 in a 2nd Trump Term
A side-by-side look at what the two policy documents say on key education topics.
1 min read
Republican presidential candidate former President Donald Trump speaks at a campaign rally at Trump National Doral Miami, Tuesday, July 9, 2024, in Doral, Fla.
Former President Donald Trump speaks at a campaign rally at Trump National Doral Miami, Tuesday, July 9, 2024, in Doral, Fla.
Rebecca Blackwell/AP
Law & Courts Posting Ten Commandments in Schools Was Struck Down in 1980. Could That Change?
In 1980, the justices invalidated a Kentucky law, similar to the new Louisiana measure, requiring classroom displays of the Decalogue.
13 min read
Louisiana Gov. Jeff Landry signs bills related to his education plan on June 19, 2024, at Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School in Lafayette, La. Louisiana has become the first state to require that the Ten Commandments be displayed in every public school classroom, the latest move from a GOP-dominated Legislature pushing a conservative agenda under a new governor.
Louisiana Gov. Jeff Landry, a Republican, signs bills related to his education plan on June 19, 2024, at Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School in Lafayette, La. One of those new laws requires that the Ten Commandments be displayed in every public school classroom, but the law is similar to one from Kentucky that the U.S. Supreme Court struck down in 1980.
Brad Bowie/The Times-Picayune/The New Orleans Advocate via AP
Education Funding A State Considers a Future in Which Schools Can't Rely on Property Taxes
How would school districts fill the gap if a governor gets his wishes?
10 min read
A school building rests on vanishing columns of rolled hundred dollar bills. Vanishing property tax support for schools.
Vanessa Solis/Education Week + Getty Images