Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

George Betts, associate professor of special education at the University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, has received the 1990 Distinguished Service Award from the National Association for Gifted Children.

Alice E. Christie', assistant professor of education at the University of Akron, Ohio, has been named the 1990 Outstanding Special Educator of the Year by the Ohio Federation of the Council for Exceptional Children.

Pam Kirk Doak, a special-education teacher at Booker T. Washington School in Lexington, Ky., has been named Special Education Teacher of the Year in Kentucky by the Kentucky Department of Education's Office of Education for Exceptional Children.

Augustus F. Hawkins, recently retired Democratic U.S. Representative from California who served in the House for 28 years and chaired the Education and Labor Committee for five years, has received the American Council on Education's Distinguished Service Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Arthur W. Steller, superintendent of the Oklahoma City Public Schools, has received the 1991 Advanced Placement Special Recognition Award from the Southwestern Regional Office of the national College Board.

Ada Jane Walters, principal of Craigmont High School in Memphis, Tenn., has received the 1991 Greater Memphis State Inc. (g.m.s.) Educator of the Year Award.

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education has named two individuals and a foundation recipients of its 1991 Independent School Awards:

Virginia Howard, director of development at the Potomac School in McLean, Va., has won the Robert Bell Crow Memorial Award for extraordinary support for her school and involvement in case programs; Scott Probasco, trustee of the Baylor School in Chattanooga, Tenn., has won the Seymour Preston Award for his leadership in developing voluntary suport for the school; and the William Randolph Hearst Foundation won the biennial John R. Chandler Award for its contributions to independent schools.

The National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts has announced the first two winners of its recently established Distinguished Teacher in the Arts Award:

Walter M. Bartman, art instructor from Walt Whitman High School in Bethesda, Md., and Rosann McLaughlin Cox, dance instructor from Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts in Dallas, Tex.

The Charles A. Dana Foundation recently awarded its fifth annual Charles A. Dana Awards for Pioneering Achievements in Health and Education, which include $50,000 grants, to the following recipients:

David P. Billington, of Princeton University, for his work toward integrating engineering and the liberal arts in undergraduate education; James E. Burke, Chairman of the Partnership for a Drug-Free America, for his organization's successful anti-drug advertising; John W. Farquhar, of the Stanford University School of Medicine and Stanford Center for Research in Disease Prevention, for his work in the field of comprehensive community-based health promotion and disease prevention; Norbert Hirschhorn, of John Snow Inc., for his part in the development of oral rehydration therapy; and David A. Micklos, of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, for his work in gene technology with the aim of understanding human health and development.

The National Foundation for the Improvement of Education and its Christa McAuliffe Institute recently named five teachers as its Christa McAuliffe Educators for 1991.

The recipients, their positions, their schools, and the school locations are listed below:

Elizabeth Barrett, an instruction-technology specialist at Penn High School in Mishawaka, Ind.; Carol Stumbo, who teaches journalism, oral history, speech, and drama through the use of distance-learning networks to rural students in grades 9-12 at Wheelwright High School in Wheelwright, Ky.; Sassiree Miles, an advanced-Spanish teacher who goes "on-camera" at Surrattsville High School in Clinton, Md., and other high schools in Prince George's County, Md.; Bill Mulvey, a technology educator from Geneva, N.Y.; and Jan Perry, a fourth-grade teacher at Kimball Elementary School in Seattle, Wash.

Arlene Johnston, a kindergarten teacher at Solana Vista Elementary School in Solana Beach, Calif., was recently selected as the national $10,000 winner of the "Excellence in Geography Teaching Awards" program sponsored by Rand McNally and the National Council for Geographic Education.

Along with Ms. Johnston, ten teachers from across the United States, Canada, and the Department of Defense Dependents Schools were honored at an awards ceremony on Capitol Hill as regional winners. The teachers, their grade levels and subject areas, their schools, and the school locations are listed below:

Patricia R. Holmes Finlay, third-grade social studies, Greeneview North Elementary School, Jamestown, Ohio; Richard R. Fisher, grades 9-12 social studies, Aviano High School, Department of Defense School, Aviano, Italy; Bill Herman, seventh-grade social studies, Noblesville Junior High School, Noblesville, Ind.; Michael D. Mower, ninth-grade geography/world studies, American Fork Junior High School, American Fork, Utah; Judy Pearce, eighth-grade social studies, Kamehameha School, Honolulu, Hawaii; June Ploen, first grade, Lyon Elementary School, Glenview, Ill.; Linda Poff, fifth grade, Straley Elementary School, Princeton, W.Va.; June Switzer, seventh grade, Erin Public School, Erin, Ontario, Canada; E. Harven Tewes, third grade, Grace E. Hardeman Elementary School, Fort Worth, Tex.; Virginia Tyler, sixth-grade social studies, Pine View School, Sarasota, Fla.

Vol. 10, Issue 24

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories