Advisory Group Members

November 27, 2002 | Corrected: February 23, 2019 1 min read

Corrected: We inadvertently omitted the chairperson of the What Works Clearinghouse’s Technical Advisory Group. He is Larry V. Hedges, the Stella M. Rowley professor of education, psychology, public policy studies, and sociology, University of Chicago, Chicago, Ill. In addition, Betsy Jane Becker’s current position was erroneously listed. She is a professor of measurement and quantitative methods, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.

The developers of the U.S. Department of Education’s What Works Clearinghouse last week named the 14 experts who sit on its technical advisory group.

They include:

Betsy Jane Becker and Jesse A. Berlin, professors of bistatistics, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia; Douglas Carnine, professor of education, University of Oregon, Eugene; Thomas D. Cook, professor of sociology, psychology, education, and social policy, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.; David J. Francis, professor of quantitative methods, University of Houston; Edward H. Haertel, professor of education, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.

The other members are:

Robert L. Linn, professor of education, University of Colorado at Boulder; Mark W. Lipsey, senior research associate, Vanderbilt Institute for Public Policy Studies, Nashville, Tenn.; David Myers, senior fellow, Mathematica Policy Research, Washington; Andrew C. Porter, professor of educational policy, University of Wisconsin- Madison; David Rindskopf, professor of psychology and educational psychology, City University of New York Graduate Center, New York City; Cecilia E. Rouse, professor of economics and public affairs, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.; William R. Shadish, professor of psychology, University of Memphis, Memphis, Tenn.

A version of this article appeared in the November 27, 2002 edition of Education Week as Advisory Group Members

Let us know what you think!

We’re looking for feedback on our new site to make sure we continue to provide you the best experience.


This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Future of Work Webinar
Digital Literacy Strategies to Promote Equity
Our new world has only increased our students’ dependence on technology. This makes digital literacy no longer a “nice to have” but a “need to have.” How do we ensure that every student can navigate
Content provided by
Mathematics Online Summit Teaching Math in a Pandemic
Attend this online summit to ask questions about how COVID-19 has affected achievement, instruction, assessment, and engagement in math.
School & District Management Webinar Examining the Evidence: Catching Kids Up at a Distance
As districts, schools, and families navigate a new normal following the abrupt end of in-person schooling this spring, students’ learning opportunities vary enormously across the nation. Access to devices and broadband internet and a secure

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Speech Therapists
Lancaster, PA, US
Lancaster Lebanon IU 13
Elementary Teacher
Madison, Wisconsin
One City Schools
Elementary Teacher - Scholars Academy
Madison, Wisconsin
One City Schools

Read Next

Education Obituary In Memory of Michele Molnar, EdWeek Market Brief Writer and Editor
EdWeek Market Brief Associate Editor Michele Molnar, who was instrumental in launching the publication, succumbed to cancer.
5 min read
Education Briefly Stated Briefly Stated: December 9, 2020
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Briefly Stated Briefly Stated: Stories You May Have Missed
A collection of articles from the previous week that you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Briefly Stated Briefly Stated: Stories You May Have Missed
A collection of stories from the previous week that you may have missed.
8 min read