Opinion
School Climate & Safety Opinion

Let’s Act to End School Shootings While We Still Can

The spotlight on Uvalde, Texas, will fade. Don’t let your commitment to student safety go with it
By Principal Recovery Network — June 10, 2022 2 min read
Illustration of a gun with a school and school bus resting on the barrel of the gun. Background full of speech bubbles.
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

We belong to a club that shouldn’t exist.

We are members of Principal Recovery Network, a National Association of Secondary School Principals-sponsored group of school leaders who have experienced gun violence in our buildings. We created the network because when the nation—and our elected officials—inevitably turned their attention away from our tragedies and failed to prevent future ones, someone needed to step up to help principals and their communities through the years of recovery.

We are so tired of reliving the worst days of our lives. Time and again, the same thing happens: A shooting occurs, we ask our elected leaders to help us heal and stop future violence, and all we are left with are thoughts and prayers. After the shooting at Robb Elementary in Uvalde, Texas, last month, we need to disrupt this cycle. We need our representatives at every level of government to do everything it takes to prevent our kids and educators from being murdered in school.

See Also

Mourners grieve at Oxford High School in Oxford, Mich., Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2021. Authorities say a 15-year-old sophomore opened fire at Oxford High School, killing four students and wounding seven other people on Tuesday.
Mourners grieve at Oxford High School in Oxford, Mich., on Dec. 1, 2021. A 15-year-old sophomore opened fire at the school, killing four students and wounding seven other people.
Paul Sancya/AP
School Climate & Safety Opinion We Can Do More to Stop School Shootings
Sarah Rogerson , June 8, 2022
5 min read

But the unfortunate truth is we have only a small window in which to act. Our members, who include principals from Columbine, Sandy Hook, and Stoneman Douglas, know this all too well. We experienced tragedies that shook the nation, yet all that was left behind were the aftershocks of death and trauma. When the news stops covering shootings, that does not mean the problem is solved.

Now, for the moment, all eyes are on Uvalde. A slew of media stories, press conferences, funerals, celebrity visits, and therapy dogs rightfully keep our attention focused on helping this Texas town and ensuring tragedies like this one never happen again.

Yet, every day the attention fades. News vans leave, funerals end, celebrities return to their jobs, and the dogs go back home. Soon, the homemade crosses and the deafening silence will be all that remain—until the next shooting happens somewhere else in the country.

We will not be silent. We will work to make sure that our collective voices reach the halls of Congress. Because the minute that we as a nation stop talking about school shootings, our representatives do the same. If you care about your students and colleagues, you cannot let this conversation fade away. We must all make our voices heard.

The reality is that the tragedy at Robb Elementary was the 27th school shooting this year. That’s a shooting every five days. And now 19 children and two teachers are among the 2,600 casualties as a result of school shootings since 1970. Six months into the year, there have already been more than 250 mass shootings in various venues across the country.

This violence extends beyond our schools, and nowhere is truly safe. Discussions on ending school shootings must never be put on the back burner until the avoidable and needless deaths stop forever.

In the network’s effort to break the cycle of stagnation, we recently begged our elected leaders to do somethinganything—to prevent another horrific incident in our schools. While members of our group come from different places and backgrounds, we are all united in our demand that politicians do their jobs and find a solution to stem the violence. As we write this, there are federal bipartisan bills under consideration, and passing even one bill will save lives. Any action is better than the paralysis we’re dealing with right now.

There is a time for thoughts and prayers. And there is a time to act. That time is now. Add your voice to the calls for elected leaders to protect our students, educators, schools, and communities. If our representatives don’t respond now, it is inevitable these tragedies will happen again.

Michael Bennett was the assistant principal of Columbia High School in East Greenbush, N.Y. Currently, he is the assistant superintendent for school administration for the Schodack Central school district in New York.

Elizabeth Brown is the principal of Forest High School in Ocala, Fla.

Andy Fetchik is a former principal of Chardon High School in Chardon, Ohio. He is currently the director of human resources at the Mayfield City schools in Ohio.

Lauren Ford is a former principal of Procter R. Hug High School in Reno, Nev. She is now a lead area superintendent at Washoe County school district in Nevada.

Denise Fredericks is the principal of Townville Elementary School in Townville, S.C.

Kathleen Gombos is the principal of Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Conn.

Warman Hall was the principal of Aztec High School in Aztec, N.M. He is now the director of federal programs in the district.

Jake Heibel is the principal of Great Mills High School in Great Mills, Md.

Matthew Hicks was the assistant principal at Noblesville West Middle School in Noblesville, Ind. He is now the superintendent of Northeastern Wayne Schools in Wayne County, Ind.

Greg Johnson is the principal of West Liberty-Salem High School in West Liberty, Ohio.

Michelle Kefford is the principal of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla.

Kevin Lein is a former principal of Harrisburg High School in Harrisburg, S.D. He is now the principal of Camelot Intermediate School in Iowa.

Andy McGill is the assistant principal of West Liberty-Salem High School in West Liberty, Ohio.

Jeff Meisenheimer is the principal of Lee’s Summit North High School in Lee’s Summit, Mo.

George Roberts is a former principal of Perry Hall High School in Baltimore. He is currently a community superintendent of the Baltimore County public schools in Maryland.

Michael Sedlak is a former assistant principal of Chardon High School in Chardon, Ohio. He is currently the principal of East Woods School in Ohio.

Ty Thompson is a former principal of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla. He is now the assistant director of athletics and student activities for the Broward County public schools in Florida.

Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Budget & Finance Webinar
Innovative Funding Models: A Deep Dive into Public-Private Partnerships
Discover how innovative funding models drive educational projects forward. Join us for insights into effective PPP implementation.
Content provided by Follett Learning
Budget & Finance Webinar Staffing Schools After ESSER: What School and District Leaders Need to Know
Join our newsroom for insights on investing in critical student support positions as pandemic funds expire.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Student Achievement Webinar
How can districts build sustainable tutoring models before the money runs out?
District leaders, low on funds, must decide: broad support for all or deep interventions for few? Let's discuss maximizing tutoring resources.
Content provided by Varsity Tutors for Schools

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

School Climate & Safety Opinion How Do Restorative Practices Work?
Traditional punitive measures tend to reap more misbehavior.
13 min read
Images shows colorful speech bubbles that say "Q," "&," and "A."
iStock/Getty
School Climate & Safety What Helped These K-12 Leaders After School Shootings
School shootings leave deep and lasting impact on the community, including those charged with leading students and staff in the aftermath.
5 min read
School staff cheer as students returned to in-person classes at Central Visual and Performing Arts High School in St. Louis on Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2023, following a shooting on Oct. 24, 2022, that killed a student and a teacher. Kacy Shahid, then the school's principal, faced the challenge of guiding the school community through recovery as she struggled herself to process the events.
School staff cheer as students returned to in-person classes at Central Visual and Performing Arts High School in St. Louis on Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2023, following a shooting on Oct. 24, 2022, that killed a student and a teacher. Kacy Shahid, then the school's principal, faced the challenge of guiding the school community through recovery as she struggled herself to process the events.
Jim Salter/AP
School Climate & Safety Another State Will Let Teachers Carry Guns. What We Know About the Strategy
Tennessee lawmakers passed a bill allowing teachers to carry guns with administrators' permission a year after the Covenant School shooting.
5 min read
People protest outside the House chamber after legislation passed that would allow some teachers to be armed in schools during a legislative session on April 23, 2024, in Nashville, Tenn.
People protest outside the House chamber after legislation passed that would allow some teachers to be armed in schools during a legislative session on April 23, 2024, in Nashville, Tenn. Tennessee could join more than 30 other states in allowing certain teachers to carry guns on campus. There's virtually no research on the strategy's effectiveness, and it remains uncommon despite the proliferation of state laws allowing it.
George Walker IV/AP
School Climate & Safety Video WATCH: Columbine Author on Myths, Lessons, and Warning Signs of Violence
David Cullen discusses how educators still grapple with painful lessons from the 1999 shooting.
1 min read