Opinion
School Climate & Safety Opinion

We Can Do More to Stop School Shootings

We need federal gun safety, but local solutions can help
By Sarah Rogerson — June 08, 2022 5 min read
Mourners grieve at Oxford High School in Oxford, Mich., Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2021. Authorities say a 15-year-old sophomore opened fire at Oxford High School, killing four students and wounding seven other people on Tuesday.
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

June is Gun Violence Awareness Month, and this year, it will be observed at memorials and funerals as ripples of grief ravage a country bloated with weapons and battling common-sense education and gun-safety reforms.

My family is among the victims of this epidemic of mass shootings. Last November, my nephew was shot by a classmate in the hallway at Oxford High School in Michigan. He survived, but four other children died that day. Two days after my nephew was shot, a threat scribbled on a wall in a student restroom forced my own son’s middle school—more than 500 miles away—into lockdown. And then, six months later, on the night of the attack in Uvalde, Texas, as the vice president of our local school board, I presided over a moment of silence.

Although predictable and preventable, the tragedy in Uvalde is unlikely to move Congress to act on common-sense gun reform, but there are initiatives that school community leaders and parents of school-age children can take on a hyperlocal level to start curbing the scourge of gun violence right now.

See Also

The archbishop of San Antonio, Gustavo Garcia-Siller, comforts families outside the Civic Center following a deadly school shooting at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas, Tuesday, May 24, 2022.
The archbishop of San Antonio, Gustavo Garcia-Siller, comforts families following a deadly school shooting at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas, on Tuesday, May 24, 2022.
Dario Lopez-Mills/AP
School Climate & Safety Opinion A Devastated Teacher's Plea for Gun Reform
Mary M. McConnaha, May 25, 2022
4 min read

Numerous studies have shown that students participating in social-emotional-learning programs paired with better mental health supports and implemented through a lens of equity, can increase academic performance and improve classroom behavior. Through social-emotional learning, children acquire the skills necessary to manage their emotions, understand their strengths and overcome challenges, and develop a sense of awareness and empathy for others.

Mental health supports can range from school counseling to parent education and, importantly, create a learning environment where students feel safe to explore and develop these skills. Equity and inclusion measures are intended to ensure that all children are able to access and realize their full achievement potential.

In the months since the incident of violence against my nephew, I have witnessed targeted and deliberate campaigns of misinformation across the country intended to interrupt the very programs that could be the most effective way to curb gun violence in America.

Armed with nonsensical talking points from pro-gun, anti-critical-race-theory politicians, misinformed parents and school board candidates allege that schools are using a combination of mental health supports and responsible decisionmaking and social-skills programs to indoctrinate their children with politically progressive viewpoints. This narrative deliberately ignores the gains that these proven social-emotional learning programs provide to all students.

Lessons about resilience, emotional self-regulation, and communication skills will not indoctrinate students into any political views. These programs will, however, give educators the tools they need to intervene and interrupt the radicalization and the pathology of the next generation of mass shooters.

Systemic racism, the K-12 culture wars, and gun violence are inextricably linked. The perpetrators of mass shootings are not only predominantly white, they often exhibit troubling behavior predictive of their future actions. And those actions remain inadequately addressed by an overextended public education system. Both the racist attacker in the Buffalo, N.Y., grocery store massacre and the gunman who injured my nephew made prior threats in school that should have resulted in a more robust response on multiple fronts.

Instead of investing in tools to help school officials prevent and address red flags, discussions and actions post-tragedy inevitably center on arming teachers, surveillance technology, clear (or bulletproof) backpacks, and zero-tolerance behavior policies.

In practice, these measures have not effectively curbed white violence by white perpetrators, but many of them have increased disciplinary proceedings against Black students, perpetuating and exacerbating race-disparate outcomes that equity policies seek to remediate.

Militarizing (or hardening) our schools and pursuing harsh student discipline is inefficient, ineffective, and expensive. Our most effective practices are proactive rather than punitive. Equipping our teachers with proven strategies, rather than firearms, is our best bet for safer schools and more-successful, self-regulated, future-ready students.

Comprehensive K-12 school counseling programs, which help children learn critical-thinking skills, self-discipline, and delayed gratification are key, and the American School Counselors Association has developed standards that any school system can adopt. Well-executed restorative-justice and other school-based practices that center de-escalation of conflict and repair student and community relationships can help address the root causes of school shootings including a lack of stability at home, social isolation, and lack of social-support networks. Programs such as Sandy Hook Promise “Start With Hello” are specifically designed to help children identify signs of social isolation in their peers and teach them how to help others feel included and supported.

I know many people feel frustrated and helpless. But there is so much that can be done.

The Uvalde shooter was described as a lonely teenager with a difficult home life and a history of being bullied in middle school due to a speech impediment. Each of these issues is precisely the focus of social-emotional, mental health, and equity and inclusion programs.

I know many people feel frustrated and helpless. But there is so much that can be done. Encourage your administrators and school boards to stay focused on creating interdisciplinary teams to design and implement a strategic plan for equity and inclusion, such as we did in my district, where social-emotional learning and mental health best practices are a key component.

Attend school board public-comment sessions or initiate write-in campaigns with other parents and teachers to support these efforts and combat the false narrative of fearmongers, including those who perpetrate replacement-theory lies. Educate yourself on your district’s violence-prevention efforts and consider whether your professional training empowers you to contribute to the social-emotional-learning and violence-reduction conversations in your school district.

If you spend your day working in the fields of child welfare, career development, mental health, substance abuse, juvenile justice, housing insecurity, or law enforcement, you can prevent a tragedy in your own backyard. My family survived gun violence. Yours shouldn’t have to. Let’s reclaim the narrative.

Recent Data: School Shootings

In 2018, Education Week journalists began tracking shootings on K-12 school property that resulted in firearm-related injuries or deaths. There is no single right way of calculating numbers like this, and the human toll is impossible to measure. We hope only to provide reliable information to help inform discussions, debates, and paths forward.
Below, you can find big-picture data on school shootings since 2018. (This chart will be updated as new information becomes available.)


See Also: School Shootings This Year: How Many and Where

A version of this article appeared in the June 15, 2022 edition of Education Week as We Can Do More to Stop School Shootings

Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Classroom Technology Webinar
Academic Integrity in the Age of Artificial Intelligence
As AI writing tools rapidly evolve, learn how to set standards and expectations for your students on their use.
Content provided by Turnitin
Recruitment & Retention Live Online Discussion A Seat at the Table: Chronic Teacher Shortage: Where Do We Go From Here?  
Join Peter DeWitt, Michael Fullan, and guests for expert insights into finding solutions for the teacher shortage.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Reading & Literacy Webinar
The Science of Reading: Tools to Build Reading Proficiency
The Science of Reading has taken education by storm. Learn how Dr. Miranda Blount transformed literacy instruction in her state.
Content provided by hand2mind

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

School Climate & Safety How a Superintendent Urged Parents to Discuss Gun Violence With Their Kids
The leader of the school district that serves Monterey Park, Calif., encouraged parents not to "let the TV do the talking."
5 min read
A woman comforts her son while visiting a makeshift memorial outside Star Ballroom Dance Studio in Monterey Park, Calif., Monday, Jan. 23, 2023. Authorities searched for a motive for the gunman who killed multiple people at the ballroom dance studio during Lunar New Year celebrations.
A woman comforts her son while visiting a memorial outside the Star Ballroom Dance Studio in Monterey Park, Calif., two days after a gunman killed 11 people and injured several others as they celebrated Lunar New Year.
Jae C. Hong/AP
School Climate & Safety Guidance on Responding to Students' Questions About Shootings
A guide for educators on ways to foster a sense of safety and security among students at a time when gun violence seems widespread.
4 min read
People gather for a vigil honoring the victims of a shooting several days earlier at Star Ballroom Dance Studio, Monday, Jan. 23, 2023, in Monterey Park, Calif. A gunman killed multiple people late Saturday amid Lunar New Year's celebrations in the predominantly Asian American community.
Two days after a mass shooting that killed 11 people, people gather for a vigil outside the Star Ballroom Dance Studio in Monterey Park, Calif. In the aftermath of shootings and other community violence, educators are called on to help students process their emotions and help them feel safe.
Ashley Landis/AP
School Climate & Safety Many Schools Don't Have Carbon Monoxide Detectors. Are They Overlooking the Risk?
Less than a quarter of states have laws requiring carbon monoxide detectors in school buildings.
5 min read
Image of a carbon monoxide detector with a blurred blueprint in the background.
iStock/Getty
School Climate & Safety Students of Color Disproportionately Suffer From Police Assaults at School, Says Report
A new report tallies up assaults by school-based police officers on students of color.
6 min read
Deputy Carroll walks the hall of Rice Elementary School with an administrator on Wednesday.
A school police officer walks the halls of Rice Elementary School in Greenwood, S.C., with an administrator on April 6, 2022.
Lindsey Hodges/The Index-Journal via AP