News in Brief

Four More States Express Interest in ESSA Innovative Assessment Pilot

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Four states say they will apply for the second round of the Every Student Succeeds Act's Innovative Assessment pilot: Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, and South Carolina.

The U.S. Department of Education asked states to signal their interest by Oct. 17. Formal applications aren't due until Dec. 17.

If these states do apply and are approved, they would join Louisiana and New Hampshire in trying out new kinds of tests in a handful of districts, with the goal of eventually taking them statewide.

The department can allow up to seven states or groups of states to participate in the pilot, which was one of the most talked-about pieces of ESSA. The program has no extra federal money attached.

Vol. 38, Issue 10, Page 4

Published in Print: October 24, 2018, as Four More States Express Interest in ESSA Innovative Assessment Pilot
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories