News in Brief

AASA Announces Finalists for Superintendent's Award

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments
| Includes correction(s).

AASA, the School Superintendents Association, last week announced the finalists for the 2014 National Superintendent of the Year.

The finalists are Alberto Carvalho, the superintendent of the Miami-Dade County district in Florida; Terry Grier, the superintendent in Houston; Kevin Maxwell, who was selected for his leadership of the Anne Arundel County school system in Maryland, and is currently the schools chief in Prince George's County, Md.; and Michele Taylor, the superintendent in Calhoun, Ga. The national winner will be announced at AASA's annual conference next month.

Miami-Dade won the Broad Prize for Urban Education in 2012, and Houston won that award last year.

Vol. 33, Issue 17, Page 4

Published in Print: January 15, 2014, as AASA Announces Finalists for Superintendent's Award
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

An earlier version of this brief gave the wrong current positions for Kevin Maxwell and Michele Taylor.

Most Popular Stories