Opinion
Education Letter to the Editor

Teachers College Colleagues Air Differences With Levine

November 14, 2006 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

To the Editor:

As teacher-educators, we read the recent report by our former president, Arthur E. Levine, with a great deal of interest (“Prominent Teacher-Educator Assails Field, Suggests New Accrediting Body in Report,” Sept. 20, 2006). Although he found it “useful to omit Teachers College” from the study “to eliminate the appearance of bias,” we want to underscore the utility of separating Teachers College from his study, its methods, and its conclusions.

We agree with much in the report. Many of his recommendations echo those of other “insiders” like the Holmes Group (1986) and the National Commission on Teaching and America’s Future (1996). Mr. Levine’s predecessor at Teachers College, P. Michael Timpane, was one of four education school leaders who founded the Holmes Group. The NCTAF report was chaired by Linda Darling-Hammond, then at Teachers College. The program-quality criteria Mr. Levine proposes are strikingly similar to the criteria the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education used to review Teachers College in 2005, when Mr. Levine was the college’s president.

Despite our agreement that teacher education at Teachers College and elsewhere could be improved, we believe Mr. Levine’s report reads more like an op-ed piece than a research report. The sweeping generalities, the overly simplistic interpretations, and minimal consideration of the context of teaching are disturbing. The selection and depth of study at the selected institutions raise questions. Mr. Levine’s assumptions that differences in preparing teachers indicate failings and that achievement-test scores should be the primary measure judging the success of a teacher are problematic.

For us, one of the most puzzling, contradictory recommendations is “shifting a significant percentage” of teacher preparation to research universities. Quality teacher education programs can and do exist at many types of institutions. To shift teacher preparation to research universities, where it is often not valued, would not only gravely reduce the supply of teachers, but also reduce the diversity of the teaching force at a time when the diversity of the student population is increasing.

As teacher-educators at Teachers College, we are proud of the leadership this institution has provided over 119 years, and, hopefully, will continue to do so. At this point in time, however, we feel a need to publicly separate our efforts to improve teacher education from those associated with our former president in his latest report.

Faculty Members

Teachers College, Columbia University

New York, N.Y.

Harold Abeles

Howard Budin

Margaret Crocco

Renee Darvin

Ofelia Garcia

William Gaudelli

Lin A. Goodwin

Barbara Hawkins

Janet Miller

Celia Oyler

Lenore Pogonowski

James Purpura

Molly Quinn

Anne Sabatini

Frances Schoonmaker

Marjorie Siegel

Karen Zumwalt

A version of this article appeared in the November 15, 2006 edition of Education Week as Teachers College Colleagues Air Differences With Levine


Commenting has been disabled on edweek.org effective Sept. 8. Please visit our FAQ section for more details. To get in touch with us visit our contact page, follow us on social media, or submit a Letter to the Editor.


Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Teaching Webinar
6 Key Trends in Teaching and Learning
As we enter the third school year affected by the pandemic—and a return to the classroom for many—we come better prepared, but questions remain. How will the last year impact teaching and learning this school
Content provided by Instructure
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Equity & Diversity Webinar
Evaluating Equity to Drive District-Wide Action this School Year
Educational leaders are charged with ensuring all students receive equitable access to a high-quality education. Yet equity is more than an action. It is a lens through which we continuously review instructional practices and student
Content provided by BetterLesson
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Student Well-Being Webinar
Attendance Awareness Month: The Research Behind Effective Interventions
More than a year has passed since American schools were abruptly closed to halt the spread of COVID-19. Many children have been out of regular school for most, or even all, of that time. Some
Content provided by AllHere

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Schools Get the Brunt of Latest COVID Wave in South Carolina
In the past few weeks, South Carolina has set records for COVID-19 hospitalizations and new cases have approached peak levels of last winter.
4 min read
Two Camden Elementary School students in masks listen as South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster talks about steps the school is taking to fight COVID-19, Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2021, in Camden, S.C. McMaster has adamantly and repeatedly come out against requiring masks in schools even as the average number of daily COVID-19 cases in the state has risen since early June. (AP Photo/Jeffrey Collins)
Education More States Are Requiring Schools to Teach Native American History and Culture
Advocates say their efforts have gained some momentum with the nation’s reckoning over racial injustice since the killing of George Floyd.
3 min read
A dancer participates in an intertribal dance at Schemitzun on the Mashantucket Pequot Reservation in Mashantucket, Conn., Saturday, Aug. 28, 2021. Connecticut and a handful of other states have recently decided to mandate students be taught about Native American culture and history. (AP Photo/Jessica Hill)
Education Judge's Temporary Order Allows Iowa Schools to Mandate Masks
A federal judge ordered the state to immediately halt enforcement of a law that prevents school boards from ordering masks to be worn.
4 min read
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds speaks to reporters following a news conference, Thursday, Aug. 19, 2021, in West Des Moines, Iowa. Reynolds lashed out at President Joe Biden Thursday after he ordered his education secretary to explore possible legal action against states that have blocked school mask mandates and other public health measures meant to protect students against COVID-19. Reynolds, a Republican, has signed a bill into law that prohibits school officials from requiring masks, raising concerns as delta variant virus cases climb across the state and schools resume classes soon. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
Education Hurricane Ida Deals New Blow to Louisiana Schools Struggling to Reopen
The opening of the school year offered teachers a chance to fully assess the pandemic's effects, only to have students forced out again.
8 min read
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021. Louisiana students, who were back in class after a year and a half of COVID-19 disruptions kept many of them at home, are now missing school again after Hurricane Ida. A quarter-million public school students statewide have no school to report to, though top educators are promising a return is, at most, weeks away, not months.
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021.
John Locher/AP