High School Commission

January 24, 2001 2 min read

High School Commission
Here are the leaders and members of the National Commission on the High School Senior Year:

Paul E. Patton,
governor of Kentucky
Vice Chair:
Jacquelyn M. Belcher,
president, Georgia Perimeter College, Decatur, Ga.


Rex Bolinger, principal, Angola High School, Angola, Ind.

Peter McWalters, Rhode Island, commissioner of elementary and secondary education
Gene Bottoms, founding director, High Schools That Work, Southern Regional Education Board, Atlanta M. Susana Navarro, director, El Paso Collaborative for Academic Excellence, El Paso Texas
Beth B. Buehlmann, executive director, Center for Workforce Preparation, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Washington Eduardo J. Padron, president, Miami-Dade Community College, Miami
Louis Caldera, U.S. Secretary of the army Rod Paige, U.S. secretary of education-designate; superintendent of schools, Houston
W. Robert Connor, president, National Humanities Center, Research Triangle Park, N.C. Karen Pittman, senior vice president, International Youth Foundation, Takoma Park, Md.
Harry J. Cook, English department chairman, Eastern Technical High School, Baltimore Stephen R. Portch, chancellor, University System of Georgia
Joyce Elliot, English teacher, Robinson High School, Little Rock, Ark., member, National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Charles B. Reed, chancellor, California State University
Milton Goldberg, executive vice president, National Alliance of Business, Washington Delfy Pena Roach, executive director, Parents for Behaviorally Different Children, Albuquerque, N.M.
Lovey Hammel, president, Employment Enterprises Inc. Manassas, Va. Sue W. Scholer, member, Indiana House of Representatives
Gary K. Hart, professor, Institute for Education Reform, California State University-Sacramento; former California secretary of education Nancy Faust Sizer, author; former history teacher; co-lecturer with husband, Theodore M. Sizer, at Harvard University’s graduate school of education
Betty J. Hines, principal, Southwestern High School, Detroit Jeremy Solly, high school senior, Rex Putnam High School, Portland, Ore.
Stella M. Jones, counseling department chairwoman, North Community High School, Minneapolis Donald M. Stewart, president, Chicago, Community Trust, Chicago; former president, College Board, New York City
Dana Larkin, administrative assistant, Parents for Public Schools, Jackson, Miss. Mary Frances Taymans, associate executive director, National Catholic Educational Association, Washington
Leon M. Leberman, professor of physics, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago; founder, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, Aurora, Ill.; 1988 Nobel laureate in physics Mary Thornley, president, Trident Technical College, Charleston, S.C.
Andy Womack, member, Tennessee Senate

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education

A version of this article appeared in the January 24, 2001 edition of Education Week as High School Commission