Opinion Blog

Peter DeWitt's

Finding Common Ground

A former K-5 public school principal turned author, presenter, and leadership coach, DeWitt provides insights and advice for education leaders. He can be found at www.petermdewitt.com. Read more from this blog.

School & District Management Opinion

The Answer to the Leadership Crisis Is Not a Principal Pipeline

Guided learning is one way to increase the aspiring leader’s chance for success
By Vince Bustamante & Tim Cusack — September 11, 2023 6 min read
Screen Shot 2023 09 08 at 7.35.11 AM
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

It is no secret that we are in a leadership crisis in education. More and more great leaders are retiring, shifting their career focus, or are leaving their leadership positions and the profession completely. In a nationally representative survey of public and private K-12 principals in the United States, the National Teacher and Principal Survey (NTPS, 2022) indicated that as of the end of June 2022, 11.2 percent of all principals left the role. For those younger than 54, about 9 percent are leaving, whereas for those 55 or older, it is almost 20 percent (Taie & Lewis, 2023). While there are many reasons why they are leaving, the fact remains, we need to attract more aspiring leaders to the principalship.

There is no doubt that we are faced with the dilemma of seeking out aspiring leaders and appropriately preparing them for principalship. It is also possible that the way we have been looking at leadership preparation may not be the best way to solve the shortage we currently face. Let’s think about what generally we consider as markers for a principal: time spent in the classroom, age, credentials, and time spent in a district and/or school. While important, they shouldn’t be the only attributes we are considering for leadership development.

In Leader Ready: Four Pathways to Prepare Aspiring School Leaders, we offer an alternative philosophy of leadership preparation. We feel the “pipeline” may not be the best analogy. Think about it, whatever commodity enters a pipeline at the beginning (eg., water) is the exact same thing that exits the pipeline at the end. There is no growth or change. This can’t be the way we think about leadership development. Rather, a more appropriate analogy would be that of a pathway system. When we embark on a journey along a path, there are opportunities to deviate along the journey, embrace the scenery, and, most importantly, stop and reflect on progress made. Leadership development is better served when aspiring leaders embark on a pathway to leadership that seeks to individualize the process of development with the journey being equally as important as the destination.

As we discussed in the book what aspects of leadership development were most significant, we landed on the following principles:

  • Leadership is not a linear progression.
  • Time cannot be the only determining factor for leadership effectiveness.
  • Across districts, there needs to be a higher degree of agreement regarding the attributes of effective leadership.
  • Practical experiences for aspiring leaders must be relevant and impactful.
  • Aspiring leaders need clear, consistent communication at every step of the journey.

Through these principles, we developed the roots of school leader preparation, which serve as the four areas that should be the focus of strengthening the development of our aspiring school leaders.

Picture1

Raising the Bar on Leadership Standards

Practice standards are invaluable! Why? They provide a common language for our aspiring leaders. Standards communicate the skills and competencies our aspiring leaders should know, understand, and be able to perform. When used with greater intentionality, standards help us clarify expected performance. They also provide a consistent way to understand the types of leadership experiences that are needed. When greater emphasis is placed on unpacking standards collectively, it becomes easier to link all aspiring leader development across a district to the established standards. Using the defined competencies within standards as success criteria for daily leadership practices and goal setting for professional growth plans leaves less to chance in enhancing the skills, opportunities, and experiences our aspiring leaders need.

Creating a Culture for Implementation

The success of leadership development hinges on the environment in which leaders are being developed. As a mentor guiding aspiring leaders through the journey, we must ensure specific parameters are considered while preparing aspiring leaders for the principalship. To build the collective efficacy of leadership development, the first step is to learn more about WHO our leaders are as individuals. We advocate a discovery process where we consider the specific skill, will, and thrill of our leaders.

Picture2

By discovering the specific skill, will, and thrill of our leaders, we will be able to more accurately create leadership-development experiences that cater to their individual development.

Once we have determined the skill, will, and thrill of our aspiring leaders, we should ensure the environment in which we are working is conducive to the development of our leaders. Understanding that how our buildings are structured (both physically and in governance) will help us gain a better perspective on how leadership is perceived. Two things:

Planning Guided Leadership Experiences

We know that leadership standards provide the foundation for what aspiring leaders need to learn. How training experiences are created and implemented is equally important! We are huge fans of guided practice. We learn through observation. When we watch someone perform a task, it often comes down to: “If they can do it, I can do it.” When mentors understand the skill and will of their proteges, they can craft leadership experiences that allow appropriate time and rigor. Guided learning specifies the steps needed to increase the aspiring leader’s self-efficacy. Through a graduated model, which moves from a basic level of understanding to more complex tasks and challenges, we examine how to gradually decrease the responsibility of the mentor in favor of increasing the capability of the aspiring leader. With the development of collegial trust in an environment that seeks to meet the aspiring leader where they are at, our model moves the learner toward a level of mastery of the requisite competencies.

Attaining Mastery Experiences

We hear the work “mastery” a lot in education. Knowing that the level of principal attrition is high, we need to encourage and entice more aspiring leaders to take on the mantle of school leadership. Though celebrating their incremental steps from novice to capable practitioner, we see the fruit that comes from strong roots of leadership preparation. It’s critical for school districts to encourage our teacher leaders to step forward into more defined building leadership positions. Through expert noticing, we offer ways to clearly communicate successes. This leads to the provision of feedback that prompts, pushes, or pulls the aspiring leader to want to take that next step forward. We share examples of directive, contingency, attribution, and impact feedback, which all help to inform how the learning is progressing. Our processes establish the rigor commensurate for the leadership task being learned and equip the mentor with ways to find the sweet spots of complexity and challenge all the while affirming the skill, will, and thrill of the aspiring leader.

The Pathway to Leadership

Allowing aspiring leaders to navigate the various pathways to leadership preparation is essential to the development of our next generation of principals and assistant principals. It is our hope that this shift of thinking will promote a more holistic and personalized journey for our aspiring leaders.

The opinions expressed in Peter DeWitt’s Finding Common Ground are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.

Events

School Climate & Safety K-12 Essentials Forum Strengthen Students’ Connections to School
Join this free event to learn how schools are creating the space for students to form strong bonds with each other and trusted adults.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Reading & Literacy Webinar
Creating Confident Readers: Why Differentiated Instruction is Equitable Instruction
Join us as we break down how differentiated instruction can advance your school’s literacy and equity goals.
Content provided by Lexia Learning
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
IT Infrastructure & Management Webinar
Future-Proofing Your School's Tech Ecosystem: Strategies for Asset Tracking, Sustainability, and Budget Optimization
Gain actionable insights into effective asset management, budget optimization, and sustainable IT practices.
Content provided by Follett Learning

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

School & District Management Q&A How K-12 Leaders Can Better Manage Divisive Curriculum and Culture War Debates
The leader of an effort to equip K-12 leaders with conflict resolution skills urges relationship-building—and knowing when to disengage.
7 min read
Katy Anthes, Commissioner of Education in Colorado from 2016- 2023, participates in a breakout session during the Education Week Leadership Symposium on May 3, 2024.
Katy Anthes, who served as commissioner of education in Colorado from 2016-2023, participates in a breakout session during the Education Week Leadership Symposium on May 3, 2024. Anthes specializes in helping school district leaders successfully manage politically charged conflicts.
Chris Ferenzi for Education Week
School & District Management Virginia School Board Restores Confederate Names to 2 Schools
The vote reverses a decision made in 2020 as dozens of schools nationwide dropped Confederate figures from their names.
2 min read
A statue of confederate general Stonewall Jackson is removed on July 1, 2020, in Richmond, Va. Shenandoah County, Virginia's school board voted 5-1 early Friday, May 10, 2024, to rename Mountain View High School as Stonewall Jackson High School and Honey Run Elementary as Ashby Lee Elementary four years after the names had been removed.
A statue of confederate general Stonewall Jackson is removed on July 1, 2020, in Richmond, Va. Shenandoah County, Virginia's school board voted 5-1 early Friday, May 10, 2024, to rename Mountain View High School as Stonewall Jackson High School and Honey Run Elementary as Ashby Lee Elementary four years after the names had been removed.
Steve Helber/AP
School & District Management Quiz Quiz Yourself: How Much Do You Know About the School District Technology Leader?
The tech director at school districts is a key player when it comes to purchasing. Test your knowledge of this key buyer persona and see how your results stack up with your peers.
School & District Management Deepfakes Expose Public School Employees to New Threats
The only protection for school leaders is a healthy dose of skepticism.
7 min read
Signage is shown outside on the grounds of Pikesville High School, May 2, 2012, in Baltimore County, Md. The most recent criminal case involving artificial intelligence emerged in late April 2024, from the Maryland high school, where police say a principal was framed as racist by a fake recording of his voice.
Police say a principal was framed making racist remarks through a fake recording of his voice at Pikesville High School, a troubling new use of AI that could affect more educators. A sign announces the entrance to the Baltimore County, Md., school on May 2, 2012.
Lloyd Fox/The Baltimore Sun via AP