In The Spotlight

February 01, 1998 1 min read

The Chevron Education Award for Best Classroom Practices, funded by Chevron Corp. and presented by the California Academy of Sciences in cooperation with the National Science Foundation, recognizes junior and senior high school teachers who have developed compelling techniques for teaching math and science. The 12 finalists are: Susan Mercer of Spurgeon Intermediate in Santa Ana, Calif.; Jane Williams of George H. Moody Middle School in Richmond, Va.; Robert Gerver of North Shore High School in Glen Head, N.Y.; Virginia Laird of Rockwall (Tex.) High School; Karen Seddon of Neptune Middle School in Kissimmee, Fla.; Mark Rice of Stringer (Miss.) Attendance Center; Louis Nadelson of Capital High School in Olympia, Wash.; Gracelynn Johnson of Camden (N.J.) High School; Elissa Elliott of Mayo High School in Rochester, Minn.; Richard Feay of Porter Middle School/Gifted Magnet in Granada Hills, Calif.; Catherine McCluskey and Myra Halpin of East Wake High School with the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in Wendell, N.C.; and Barry Shapiro of North Hollywood (Calif.) High School/Zoo Magnet Center.