Honors & Awards

June 11, 2003 3 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Creative 5 Awards

The Dole Food Co., the world’s largest fruit marketer, recently honored three teachers with its Creative 5 a Day Teacher of the Year awards. The awards recognize elementary school teachers who use educational activities to encourage students to eat five helpings of fruits or vegetables per day.
The first-place winner received an honorary luncheon at school, fruit gift bags for students, and a trip to a major theme park.
The winners are listed below.
First place: Vickie Leaf, Ilalko Elementary School, Aurburn, Wash.
Second place: Helen Robinson, Thomas Jefferson Magnet School, Utica, N.Y.
Third place: Barbara Wnek, Parker Elementary School, Florissant, Mo.

Distance-Learning Awards

The United States Distance Learning Association, a nonprofit organization based in Boston, recently honored the Florida Virtual School with its pre-K-12 Excellence in Distance Learning Programming Award.
The association also recognized Mary Mitchell and Bruce Friend, both from the Florida Virtual School, with its pre-K-12 Excellence in Distance Learning Teaching and Most Outstanding Achievement by an Individual awards, respectively.
The awards recognize the accomplishments of distance-learning professionals, educators, and organizations. The recipients were honored at the 2003 Learning and Training Week Conference and Expo in Washington on April 30.

ISTE Tech Awards

The International Society for Technology in Education honored two educators last month for their leadership and dedication to integrating technology into the classroom. Lori Rounds of The Woods Academy in Bethesda, Md., received the Outstanding Leader award. Douglas Becker of South Dorchester High School in Cambridge, Md., received the Outstanding Teacher award.
Both recipients received $1,000 in travel expenses to attend the 2003 National Educational Computing Conference and ISTE memberships.

Outstanding Teachers of America Awards

The Carlston Family Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in San Rafael, Calif., recently honored five public high school teachers in California with its Outstanding Teachers of America awards. The awards recognize teachers in public high schools for their dedication to student education.
Each recipient will receive a $15,000 cash stipend, and his or her school will receive a $5,000 cash stipend. The winners are listed below alphabetically.
Martin Brandt
, Independence High School, San Jose; Clifford C. Corigliano Sr., San Bernardino High School, San Bernardino; Brad Dolin, Azusa High School, Azusa; Kathryn Hieger, Edison High School, Fresno; and Mark Olsen, Gladstone High School, Covina.

United States-Japan Foundation Awards

The United States- Japan Foundation, an independent nonprofit organization based in New York City, has honored two teachers with its Elgin Heinz Outstanding Teacher awards. The awards recognize teachers who incorporate into their teaching educational activities to further cultural understanding between the American and Japanese societies.
The recipients received certificates, a $2,500 cash award, and a $5,000 project grant. The winners are listed below by category.
Humanities Award: Patricia Burleson, Island View Elementary School, Anacortes, Washington.
Japanese Language Award: Sachiko Murphy, Central Campus of Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines, Iowa.

Shaklee Institute Teacher Awards

The Shaklee Institute, a private, nonprofit organization based in Witchita, Kan., that supports the improvement of professional practices in the education of children with disabilities, recently honored 10 special education teachers with its 2003 Teacher awards.
The awards recognize the country’s top special education teachers. Each winner received a $1,000 cash prize, an award sculpture, and an all-expense-paid trip to participate in a five-day professional-development summer session.
The winners are listed below alphabetically.
Tina Bailey
, Phillips School in Marietta, Ohio; Allison Cugini, Public School 23 Richmondtown School, New York City; Laurie Eckenrode, Washington Elementary School, Raleigh, N.C.; Joseph Goldberger, Love Nolan Elementary School, College Park, Ga.; Greta Palmberg, Vocational Education Community Transition Occupational Relations program, Intermediate District 287, Brooklyn Park, Minn.; Melissa Park, Little Run Elementary School, Fairfax, Va.; Larry Statler, Santa Teresa Elementary School, San Jose, Calif.; Margaret Wilson, Niwot Elementary School, Longmont, Colo.; Edwina Coen Young, Washington Park Elementary, Laurinburg, N.C.; Michelle Zirngibl, High School Life Skills Support, Upper Saint Clair School District, Saint Clair, Pa.

—By Marianne Hurst


This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Assessment Webinar
The State of Assessment in K-12 Education
What is the impact of assessment on K-12 education? What does that mean for administrators, teachers and most importantly—students?
Content provided by Instructure
Jobs January 2022 Virtual Career Fair for Teachers and K-12 Staff
Find teaching jobs and other jobs in K-12 education at the EdWeek Top School Jobs virtual career fair.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Reading & Literacy Webinar
Proven Strategies to Improve Reading Scores
In this webinar, education and reading expert Stacy Hurst will provide a look at some of the biggest issues facing curriculum coordinators, administrators, and teachers working in reading education today. You will: Learn how schools
Content provided by Reading Horizons

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: January 12, 2022
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education School Bus Driver Retires After 48 Years Behind Wheel
Charles City school bus driver Betty Flick sat behind the wheel for the final time last week, wrapping up a 48-year career for the district.
3 min read
Charles City school bus driver Betty Flick poses with one of her farewell signs. Flick has been driving for Charles City School District for 48 years.
Betty Flick quickly fell in love with the job and with the kids, which is what has had her stay in the district for this long.
Courtesy of Abby Koch/Globe Gazette
Education Briefly Stated: December 1, 2021
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: November 17, 2021
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read