Opinion Blog


Rick Hess Straight Up

Education policy maven Rick Hess of the American Enterprise Institute think tank offers straight talk on matters of policy, politics, research, and reform. Read more from this blog.

Policy & Politics Opinion

The 10 Favorite Rick Hess Straight Up Posts of 2023

What did we consider and learn about education this year?
By Rick Hess — December 18, 2023 2 min read
Image shows a multi-tailed arrow hitting the bullseye of a target.
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

It’s been a long year, with wars in Europe and the Middle East, momentous U.S. Supreme Court decisions on race-based admissions and student loans, a steady series of culture clashes, and persistent fears that AI is coming for our jobs. (Or our lives.) Before we turn the page and dive into an election year that seems calculated to feel at least as harried as the one just past, it’s worth looking back at the year just past. In that spirit, I like to revisit the RHSU columns I penned during the year and surface the top 10—as determined by readership, feedback, and personal preference.

There are always a few pieces that don’t necessarily make the cut of “top 10” but still seem to deserve a mention. This year, those include Teachers and Parents Are Skeptical of ‘New Reforms.’ Leaders Can Break the Cycle (May 22, 2023), ‘A Nation at Risk Turns 40: Its Roots, Its Legacy (April 24, 2023), SEL Allies and Foes Alike Deserve Tough Scrutiny (August 1, 2023).

Now, without further ado, here are the top 10 RHSU columns of 2023.

10. How Much Faith Should Educators Have in High-Dosage Tutoring? (February 6, 2023): Tutoring can be a powerful tool but enthusiasts risk turning it into one more expensive, disappointing fad.

9. Are Cultural Clashes Over K-12 Normal? (March 8, 2023): Through the decades, education has more often been shaped by value-laden debates than technocratic ones.

8. ‘Innovation’ Is a Four-Letter Word (June 19, 2023): Many in education thrill to the promise of ‘innovation.’ That’s a problem.

7. AI Isn’t the Problem. It’s How We Use It, Especially in Schools (July 24, 2023): The problem is not the technology but the tasks schools are asking students to do.

6. It’s OK to Like Both Public Schools and School Choice (September 18, 2023): Families want more options for their children. That doesn’t mean they dislike their local schools.

5. Republicans Keep Talking About Abolishing the Education Department. Why? (October 2, 2023): For decades, GOP presidential candidates have pledged to ax the federal agency. But, even if they’re sincere, it’ll be tough to deliver.

4. Grade Inflation Teaches Students We Don’t Mean What We Say (November 27, 2023): When we tell students that we care about hard work and merit and then don’t follow through, it has big consequences for students, teachers, and parents.

3. Is It Time to Ditch the Carnegie Unit? (September 25, 2023): A fixation on seat time has hindered efforts to sensibly rethink K–12 schooling. But is there a risk that abandoning the Carnegie Unit will create more problems in itself?

2. Am I Anti-Equity? You Decide (November 8, 2023): We’ve come to a place in education where ideologues are doing destructive things in the name of equity. Is it anti-equity to reject those efforts?

1. Could the Nation’s Largest District Afford to Double Teacher Pay and Triple Counseling? (May 2, 2023): New York City is spending $38,000 per student. If officials don’t think that’s enough to pay teachers, support students, and deliver excellence, something’s wrong. Let’s do the math.

OK. Time to start fresh and see what 2024 holds. Wishing all of you a happy and healthy new year. And, I don’t know about you, but I feel like we’ve had a whole lot of turbulence and that we’re due for a break.

The opinions expressed in Rick Hess Straight Up are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.

Events

Jobs Virtual Career Fair for Teachers and K-12 Staff
Find teaching jobs and other jobs in K-12 education at the EdWeek Top School Jobs virtual career fair.
English-Language Learners Webinar English Learners and the Science of Reading: What Works in the Classroom
ELs & emergent bilinguals deserve the best reading instruction! The Reading League & NCEL join forces on best practices. Learn more in our webinar with both organizations.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Teaching Webinar
Challenging the Stigma: Emotions and STEM
STEM isn't just equations and logic. Join this webinar and discover how emotions fuel innovation, creativity, & problem-solving in STEM!
Content provided by Project Lead The Way

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Funding How States Are Rethinking Where School Funding Should Go
There's constant debate over the best way to allocate state money to schools. Here are some ways states are reworking their school funding.
7 min read
Conceptual illustration of tiny people is planning the personal budget, accounting, analysis.
Muhamad Chabibalwi/iStock/Getty
Federal Low-Performing Schools Are Left to Languish by Districts and States, Watchdog Finds
Fewer than half of district plans for improving struggling schools meet bare minimum requirements.
11 min read
A group of silhouettes looks across a grid with a public school on the other side.
Vanessa Solis/Education Week via Canva
Education Funding A Court Ordered Billions for Education. Why Schools Might Not Get It Now
The North Carolina Supreme Court is considering arguments for overturning a statewide order for more school funding.
6 min read
A blue maze with a money bag at the end of the maze.
iStock/Getty
Education Funding Schools Want More Time to Spend COVID-19 Aid for Homeless Students
Senators want to give districts more time to spend COVID relief funds for students experiencing homelessness.
4 min read
New canvas school bags hanging on the backs of empty classroom student chairs in a large modern classroom
iStock/Getty Images