Opinion
School Choice & Charters Letter to the Editor

Online Education Is Only Option That Works for Some Families

April 04, 2017 1 min read

To the Editor:

I write in response to the Digital Education blog post about the New York University and RAND Corp. study on online education in Ohio (“Online Charter Students in Ohio Perform Far Worse Than Peers, Study Finds,” Feb. 16, 2017).

While we at the Ohio Connections Academy support the need for research to determine what works best for students, we are disappointed by studies that fail to recognize areas of success.

The education outcomes reported in the study focus on student-achievement assessments and the Ohio Graduation Test, or OGT, from 2009 to 2013. During that time, the Ohio Department of Education rated our academy “excellent” for the 2009-10 school year, and “effective” for the 2010-11 and 2011-12 school years. We met state averages or indicators for the OGT for school years 2011-12 and 2012-13.

More recently, during the 2014-15 school year, there were some bright spots in Ohio Connections Academy’s report card. The academy’s K-3 literacy score was a B, and it met state proficiency reading averages in the 4th through 8th grades. The academy also met state standards for most OGTs, and received an A in each broad category measuring student progress.

As policymakers and opinion leaders seek to bring accountability to online schools, they first should understand how these schools work. This is why we invite legislators and reporters to visit our learning centers to see how our students are engaged and how their progress is monitored as they work through the curriculum.

As discussions continue about making online education more accountable, I would argue that lawmakers are also accountable for maintaining school choice in Ohio. This choice should include online education, if for no other reason than this is the only option that works for some families. That choice should not be taken away from parents just because some schools fail or some measures obscure the accomplishments of students who are doing well. That’s true of traditional schools, too.

We should all be focused on doing a more thoughtful job of measuring results, so we all can be truly accountable.

Marie Hanna

Superintendent

Ohio Connections Academy

Mason, Ohio

Related Tags:

A version of this article appeared in the April 05, 2017 edition of Education Week as Online Education Is Only Option That Works for Some Families

Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Classroom Technology Webinar
Here to Stay – Pandemic Lessons for EdTech in Future Development
What technology is needed in a post pandemic district? Learn how changes in education will impact development of new technologies.
Content provided by AWS
School & District Management Live Online Discussion A Seat at the Table: Strategies & Tips for Complex Decision-Making
Schools are working through the most disruptive period in the history of modern education, facing a pandemic, economic problems, social justice issues, and rapid technological change all at once. But even after the pandemic ends,
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Education Funding Webinar
From Crisis to Opportunity: How Districts Rebuild to Improve Student Well-Being
K-12 leaders discuss the impact of federal funding, prioritizing holistic student support, and how technology can help.
Content provided by Salesforce.org

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

School Choice & Charters Opinion Is Hybrid Home Schooling the Future of Education?
Rick Hess speaks with Mike McShane about hybrid home schooling, which combines the best of home schooling and traditional schooling.
7 min read
Image shows a multi-tailed arrow hitting the bullseye of a target.
DigitalVision Vectors/Getty
School Choice & Charters Oklahoma Charter Schools Granted Local Tax Revenue in 'Seismic' Settlement
A groundbreaking settlement will fundamentally change the way charter schools are funded in Oklahoma, despite vehement opposition.
Nuria Martinez-Keel, The Oklahoman
3 min read
This July 19, 2019 photo shows an Epic Charter Schools office in Oklahoma City. The Oklahoma State Board of Education voted Thursday in favor of an agreement with the state's public charter school association to settle a 2017 lawsuit.
This July 19, 2019 photo shows an Epic Charter Schools office in Oklahoma City. The Oklahoma State Board of Education voted Thursday in favor of an agreement with the state's public charter school association to settle a 2017 lawsuit.
Sue Ogrocki/AP
School Choice & Charters COVID-19 May Energize Push for School Choice in States. Where That Leads Is Unclear
The pandemic is driving legislators' interest in mechanisms like education savings accounts, but the growth may not be straightforward.
8 min read
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds delivers her Condition of the State address before a joint session of the Iowa Legislature on Jan. 12 at the statehouse in Des Moines, Iowa.
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds delivers her Condition of the State address to state lawmakers on Jan. 12. She's pushing a major school choice expansion.
Bryon Houlgrave/The Des Moines Register via AP
School Choice & Charters Letter to the Editor Are NOLA Charters a Mixed Bag?
To the Editor:
The opinion essay by Douglas N. Harris about how New Orleans’ education reforms post-Katrina are relevant to the COVID-19 era (“As Schools Recover After COVID-19, Look to New Orleans,” Sept. 30, 2020) highlights some basic improvements in the NOLA system but downplays the most significant aspects of those changes: the impact on people of color.
1 min read