Opinion
School & District Management Letter to the Editor

The More Opportunities Students Get, the Better

January 10, 2022 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

To the Editor:

Necessity really is the mother of invention, and I am impressed to learn in an article in Education Week that a school district in House Springs, Mo., is solving its staffing shortages by hiring students as custodians and food-service workers (“Hiring Students to Ease Staffing Shortages: One School District’s Unorthodox Solution,”Dec. 16, 2021).

I am surprised that some consider giving these opportunities to students controversial. Preparing our children to become productive members of society does not happen overnight, and our society used to recognize that. The practice of hiring student workers used to be quite common. In fact, I worked as a janitor at my high school while a student. Participating in the workforce from a young age developed my work ethic and gave me valuable skills that helped lead me to where I am today. If we want to impart these values to the next generation, we must give students opportunities and not underestimate them.

Our country has always been known for its strong work ethic. It was this strong work ethic that founded the first Constitutional Republic, won two World Wars, and created the most innovative and productive country in the world. While the left attempts to degrade work as something to be overcome, I believe that work is good in and of itself. Democrat policies like increased unemployment payments, stimulus checks, welfare programs without work requirements, and egregiously high-income taxes all create a disincentive to work—leading to the major labor crisis we’re in today.

Our Founding Fathers knew the only way our Republic would last is if the people maintain the ability to govern themselves. That is why I applaud the efforts of these schools and the students participating in this program. The House Springs school district is setting students up for a successful future—it’s time more school districts do the same.

Virginia Foxx, R-N.C.
U.S. Representative
Washington, D.C.

Related Tags:

A version of this article appeared in the January 12, 2022 edition of Education Week as The More Opportunities Students Get, The Better

Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Assessment Webinar
The State of Assessment in K-12 Education
What is the impact of assessment on K-12 education? What does that mean for administrators, teachers and most importantly—students?
Content provided by Instructure
Jobs January 2022 Virtual Career Fair for Teachers and K-12 Staff
Find teaching jobs and other jobs in K-12 education at the EdWeek Top School Jobs virtual career fair.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Reading & Literacy Webinar
Proven Strategies to Improve Reading Scores
In this webinar, education and reading expert Stacy Hurst will provide a look at some of the biggest issues facing curriculum coordinators, administrators, and teachers working in reading education today. You will: Learn how schools
Content provided by Reading Horizons

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

School & District Management Opinion If You Can’t Maintain an Initiative, Maybe You Shouldn’t Do It
Schools are often really good at finding new initiatives to implement but aren't always good at maintaining. Here's a model to consider.
5 min read
Screen Shot 2022 01 21 at 7.57.56 AM
Shutterstock
School & District Management Schools Are Desperate for Substitutes and Getting Creative
Now in the substitute-teacher pool: parents, college students, and the National Guard.
10 min read
Zackery Kimball, a substitute teacher at Bailey Middle School, works with two classes of students at the school's theater hall on Friday, Dec. 10, 2021, in Las Vegas. Many schools have vacant teaching and/or support staff jobs and no available substitutes to cover day-to-day absences.
Zackery Kimball, a substitute teacher at Bailey Middle School in Las Vegas, works with two classes of students at the school's theater hall on a Friday in December 2021.
Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal via AP
School & District Management 3 Ways School Districts Can Ease the Pain of Supply Chain Chaos
Have a risk management plan, pay attention to what's happening up the supply chain, and be adaptable when necessary.
3 min read
Cargo Ship - Supply Chain with products such as classroom chairs, milk, paper products, and electronics
iStock/Getty Images Plus
School & District Management Vulnerable Students, Districts at Greater Risk as Natural Disasters Grow More Frequent
New federal research indicates the harm from fires and storms to school facilities, learning, and mental health is disproportionate.
4 min read
Helina Thorp, right, 14, expresses frustration while unsuccessfully trying to log in to her school distance-learning classes in Placerville, Calif., after Pacific Gas & Electric intentionally shut off power to prevent wildfires amid high winds in September 2020.
Helina Thorp, right, 14, expresses frustration while unsuccessfully trying to log in to her school distance-learning classes in Placerville, Calif., after Pacific Gas & Electric shut off power to prevent wildfires amid high winds in September 2020.
Daniel Kim/The Sacramento Bee via AP