Opinion
Education Opinion

Readers Respond

September 12, 2007 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

The premiere issue of Digital Directions, launched in June, prompted many responses from readers. Here is a sampling.

Digital Natives

This is a great publication, and I truly appreciate all of the articles, especially John Q. Porter’s interview. I agree with him that technology is being held to a greater standard than some of the other instructional tools.

I am the K-12 technology curriculum leader for the Long Beach Unified School District in California and am constantly looking out for effective emerging technology for use in the district and in the classroom. Our student population has changed, and we need to help our teachers meet the needs of these digital natives.

I am currently working on my dissertation on the changing roles of teachers in one-to-one laptop classrooms and am interested in seeing what is happening in other educational institutions.

Our district technology budget is currently limited since there is no line item for technology at the state level and we have to depend on district general funds. We are looking at our needs and hope to have a budget that will allow us to support the emerging technologies.

I think this publication is above average and look forward to future issues.

Vanitha Chandrasekhar
K-12 Technology Curriculum Leader
Long Beach Unified School District
Long Beach, Calif.

Exemplary Methodologies

Congratulations! Finally, something that is both innovative and generative with regard to truly exemplary educational digital-technology methodologies and executions. Thank you on behalf of all teachers, students, and parents currently constrained by traditional education irrelevance.

Jim Ross
President
21st Century Digital Learning Environment
Clinton Township, Mich.

Keep It Up!

Education Week does wonderful work, and I’m really looking forward to this new resource for information on a field of such large and growing importance. Keep it up!

Brian Taylor
Managing Editor
California School Boards Association
West Sacramento, Calif.

Gaming in the Classroom

I wanted to drop you a note and tell you how much I enjoyed the Digital Directions magazine. I wanted to share something that we are working on in West Virginia that you might be interested in. I have done a lot of research on teachers’ using gaming in the classroom. What I found was until teachers have their own “game” to play and learn from, they will not transfer that methodology to the classroom. With that being said, we worked with Ruby Payne and one of her books, Working with Students,and used the context of it to build an online simulation game for teachers to play to practice classroom-discipline strategies. We have done formative and summative evaluations on it in five universities across West Virginia.

Nancy Sturm
Education Technology Adviser to Gov. Joe Manchin III
West Virginia Office of Technology
Charleston, W.Va.

Correction: A story in the Summer 2007 issue, “Wireless Technologies Present New Set of Challenges,” incorrectly referred to routers and hubs in wireless networks. It should have referred to wireless hubs, which do not use routers. Also, the story should have said that the common wireless standards are 802.11 b and 802.11 g, and that 802.11 b moves data at up to 11 megabits per second, and 802.11 g moves data at 54 megabits per second. In addition, the story should have said that standard wired networks move data at 100 megabits per second.

Email letters to the editor to kbushweller@epe.org.
A version of this article appeared in the September 12, 2007 edition of Digital Directions as Readers Respond

Events

Jobs October 2021 Virtual Career Fair for Teachers and K-12 Staff
Find teaching jobs and other jobs in K-12 education at the EdWeek Top School Jobs virtual career fair.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Data Webinar
Using Integrated Analytics To Uncover Student Needs
Overwhelmed by data? Learn how an integrated approach to data analytics can help.

Content provided by Instructure
Professional Development Online Summit What's Next for Professional Development: An Overview for Principals
Join fellow educators and administrators in this discussion on professional development for principals and administrators.

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education 'Widespread' Racial Harassment Found at Utah School District
The federal probe found hundreds of documented uses of the N-word and other racial epithets, and harsher discipline for students of color.
1 min read
A CNG, compressed natural gas, school bus is shown at the Utah State Capitol, Monday, March 4, 2013, in Salt Lake City. After a winter with back-to back episodes of severe pollution in northern Utah, lawmakers and Utah Gov. Gary Herbert will discuss clean air legislation and call for government and businesses to convert to clean fuel vehicles.
Federal civil rights investigators found widespread racial harassment of Black and Asian American students in the Davis school district north of Salt Lake City, Utah.
Rick Bowmer/AP Photo
Education Tiny Wrists in Cuffs: How Police Use Force Against Children
An investigation finds children as young as 6 and a disproportionate amount of Black children have been handled forcibly by police officers.
15 min read
Jhaimarion, 10, reacts as he listens to his mother, Krystal Archie talking with an Associated Press reporter in Chicago on Sept. 23, 2021. Archie’s three children were present when police, on two occasions, just 11 weeks apart, kicked open her front door and tore through their home searching for drug suspects. She’d never heard of the people they were hunting. Her oldest child, Savannah was 14 at the time; her youngest, Jhaimarion, was seven. They were ordered to get down on the floor.
Jhaimarion, 10, reacts as he listens to his mother, Krystal Archie talking with an Associated Press reporter in Chicago on Sept. 23, 2021. Archie’s three children were present when police, on two occasions, just 11 weeks apart, kicked open her front door and tore through their home searching for drug suspects. She’d never heard of the people they were hunting. Her oldest child, Savannah was 14 at the time; her youngest, Jhaimarion, was seven. They were ordered to get down on the floor.
Nam Y. Huh/AP
Education Gunman in 2018 Parkland School Massacre Pleads Guilty
A jury will decide whether Nikolas Cruz will be executed for one of the nation’s deadliest school shootings.
3 min read
Annika Dworet and her husband, Mitch Dworet, wipe away tears as their son's name is read aloud during Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School shooter Nikolas Cruz's guilty plea on all 17 counts of premeditated murder and 17 counts of attempted murder in the 2018 shootings, at the Broward County Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. on Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2021. The Dworet's son, Nicholas Dworet, 17, was killed in the massacre.
Annika Dworet and her husband, Mitch Dworet, wipe away tears as their son's name is read aloud during Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School shooter Nikolas Cruz's guilty plea on all 17 counts of premeditated murder and 17 counts of attempted murder in the 2018 shootings, at the Broward County Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. on Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2021. The Dworet's son, Nicholas Dworet, 17, was killed in the massacre.
Amy Beth Bennett/South Florida Sun Sentinel via AP
Education Briefly Stated: October 20, 2021
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read