Members of History-Standards Panel

March 04, 1992 2 min read

Following are the members of the National Council for History Standards:

Charlotte Crabtree (chairman), director, National Center for History in the Schools, University of California, Los Angeles; Gary Nash (vice chairman), associate director, National Center for History in the Schools; Charlotte Anderson, president, National Council for the Social Studies; Joyce Appleby, president, Organization of American Historians; David Bambach, teacher, Woolslair Elementary Gifted Center, Pittsburgh School District; Samuel Banks, director of instructional support services, Baltimore City Schools; David Battini, teacher, Cairo Durham High School, Cairo, N.Y.; Earl Bell, president, Organization of History Teachers; Mary Bicouvaris, teacher, Hampton Roads Academy, Newport News, Va.; Diane Brooks, president, Council of State Social Studies Specialists; Pedro Castillo, associate professor of history, Oakes College, University of California, Santa Cruz; Ramon Cortines, superintendent, San Francisco Unified School District.

Elizabeth Fox-Genovese, director, Institute for Women’s Studies, Emory University; Carol Gluck, George Sanson Professor of History, East Asia Institute, Columbia University; Darlene Clark Hine, John A. Hannah Professor of History, Michigan State University; Bill Honig, state superintendent of public instruction, California; Akira Iriye, professor of history, Harvard University; Kenneth Jackson, Barzun Professor of History and the Social Sciences, Columbia University; Morton Keller, Samuel J. and Augusta Spector Professor of History, Brandeis University; William Leuchtenberg, William Rand Kenan Jr. Professor of History, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Bernard Lewis, Cleveland E. Dodge Professor of Near Eastern Studies, Princeton University.

William McNeill, professor emeritus, department of history, University of Chicago; Stephanie Pace Marshall, president, Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development; John J. Patrick, director, social-studies development center, Indiana University; C. Frederick Risinger, associate director, social-studies development center, Indiana University; Gilbert T. Sewall, director, American Textbook Council; Warren Solomon, curriculum consultant, Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; Michael Winston, professor emeritus of history and vice president emeritus for academic affairs, Howard University.

Related Tags:

A version of this article appeared in the March 04, 1992 edition of Education Week as Members of History-Standards Panel