In the Spotlight

November 01, 1996 2 min read

The Courtroom Television Network, a cable-television network focusing on the judicial process, announces four winners in its 1996 Educator Grant program. First-place winner Steve Hanson of the St. Cloud (Minn.) Area Learning Center received $2,000, plus $2,000 to buy equipment for his school. Runners-up, who won $1,000 plus $1,000 for school equipment, include: Karen Stofcheck of Lecanto (Fla.) Middle School; Judy Haller of Greene JROTC Academy in Dayton, Ohio; and Cheryl Jansen of John F. Kennedy High School in LaPalma, Calif. Applicants were judged on an essay describing how they used Court TV in their classrooms.

The American Association of School Librarians announces its 1996 award winners: principal Faye Kimsay of Lakeside Elementary School in Chattanooga, Tenn., received the Dis-tinguished School Administrators Award; Ken Hayhock of the School of Library, Archival, and Information Studies in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, received the Distinguished Service Award; library media specialist Jane Baldwin of Katherine L. Gust Elementary School in Littleton, Colo., received the Frances Henne Award; library media specialist Candace Jensen of Colin L. Powell Elementary School in Woodlands, Texas, received the Information Plus Continuing Education Scholarship; library media specialist Ann K. Symons of Juneau-Douglas High School in Juneau, Alaska, received the Intellectual Reading Award; Laura Michelle Mench of Galion, Ohio, received the School Librarians’ Workshop Scholarship; Maine Township High School West of Des Plaines, Ill., received the National School Library Media Program of the Year Award; Robert Grover, Jacqueline Laken, Shelia Blume, and Carol Fox of the Kansas Association of School Librarians Research Committee received the AASL/Highsmith Research Grant; and the Massachusetts School Library Media Association and Massachusetts Library Association Children’s Issue Section received the ABC-CLIC Leadership Grant.

Linda Alston, a public school teacher in Aurora, Colo., has been awarded the National Council of Negro Women’s Excellence in Teaching Award, sponsored by Shell Oil Co. Alston was cited for inspiring a high level of achievement among African-American students and for her ex-traordinary contributions to teaching.

Northern Life Insurance Co. announces this year’s grand-prize winners in its Education’s Unsung Heroes Program: Debrah Fordice of Dubuque, Iowa, won $25,000 for pairing 6th graders with nursing home residents; Catherine Ney of Blacksburg, Va., received $10,000 for creatively linking children’s literature with math, science, technology, and other elementary school subjects; and Stephen Simmons of Houston won $5,000 for an educational engineering program that produced an alternative-fuel vehicle.

A version of this article appeared in the November 01, 1996 edition of Teacher as In the Spotlight