Honors & Awards

March 24, 2004 3 min read

Agnes Meyer Teacher Awards

The Washington Post recently honored 19 public school teachers and one private school teacher from Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia with its annual Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award. The award recognizes the crucial role dedicated teachers play in creating a well-balanced educational system. The recipients, who are listed below, each received a $3,000 cash award.

Christina L. Gutierrez, T. C. Williams High School, Alexandria, Va.; Robin Nussbaum Cedar Lane School, Howard County, Md.; Susan C. Madden, Davidsonville Elementary School, Anne Arundel County, Md.; Rachel P. Newell, Hillside Elementary School, Loudoun County, Va.; Laurie J. Sullivan, Barrett Elementary School, Arlington County, Va.; Ann M. Mizelle, Osbourn High School, Manassas, Va.; Joseph L. Denton, Jr., Calvert High School, Calvert County, Md.; Andrew J. Yauchler, Manassas Park Elementary School, Manassas Park, Va.; Priscilla H. Minnich, Matthew Henson Middle School, Charles County, Md.; Gerald A. Link, Northwest High School, Montgomery County, Md.; Jason Kamras, Sousa Middle School, Washington; Pauline Carey, Mount Rainier Elementary School, Prince George’s County, Md.; Inge R. Pisano, Oakton High School, Fairfax County, Va.; Brian M. Bassett, Gar-Field High School, Prince William County, Va.; Catherine Wiant, George Mason Middle School, Falls Church, Va.; Shirley M. Geisbert Benjamin Banneker Elementary School, St. Mary’s County, Md.; Joyce Johnson, W.G. Coleman Elementary School, Fauquier County, Va.; Paul M. Jacobs, T. Benton Gayle Middle School, Stafford County, Va.; Lori H. Bower, Oakdale Elementary School, Frederick County, Md.; Ralph E. Reeves, Jr. , DeMatha Catholic High School, Hyattsville, Md.

Science Teaching Awards

The National Science Teachers Association, CPO Science, and Delta Education announced that three teachers would receive the first annual 2004 Delta Education/CPO Science Awards for Excellence in Inquiry-based Science Teaching. The awards recognize science teachers in grades K-12 who implemented inquiry-based science instruction in the classroom. Each award recipient will receive an all expenses paid trip to the NSTA national convention, a $1,500 cash award, and a commemorative plaque. The winners are listed below.

Peggy Carlisle, Pecan Park Elementary School, Jackson, Miss.; Maureen Barrett, Thomas E. Harrington Middle School, Mt. Laurel, N.J.; and Margaret Holzer, Chatham High School, Chatham, N.J.

Golden Apple Awards

Ten teachers were recently awarded the 2004 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching by the Golden Apple Foundation, a Chicago- based academy of expert teachers that seek to improve teaching methods. The awards, which have been presented annually since 1986, recognizes excellent classroom teachers in Illinois.

Recipients receive a paid sabbatical at Northwestern University, a $2,500 cash prize, a personal Apple computer, and induction into the Golden Apple Academy. The winners are listed below alphabetically.

Jelaine Binford Currie, Metropolitan High School, Chicago; Timothy Devine, Northside College Preparatory High School, Chicago; Elena Diadenko-Hunter, Clemente Community Academy High School, Chicago; Diego Giraldo, Jones College Preparatory High School, Chicago; Chuck Gress, Lake Forest High School, Lake Forest, Ill.; Bill Grosser, Glenbard South High School, Glen Ellyn, Ill.; Rosa McCullagh, University of Chicago Laboratory Schools, Chicago; Steve Newman, Evanston Township High School, Evanston, Ill.; Aaron Podolner, Oak Park and River Forest High School, Oak Park, Ill.; Venessa Simmons-Woods, Evanston Township High School, Evanston, Ill.

Other Honors and Awards

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education recently honored Charles R. Coble, the vice president of policy studies and programs with the Denver-based Education Commission of the States, with its David G. Imig Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teacher Education. Mr. Coble was honored last month at the organization’s 56th annual meeting.