Grants Awarded

October 19, 2007 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

STEM Grants

The Lemelson-MIT Program has announced the 16 high schools that will be participating in the 2007-08 InvenTeams, a national grants initiative to encourage high school students to become more engaged in science, math, technology, and engineering through problem-solving and inventions. The project is funded with grants of up to $10,000 to each school from the Lemelson Foundation, a Cambridge, Mass.-based philanthropy that supports inventors and entrepreneurs. The recipients are:

California: Troy High School, Fullerton.
District of Columbia: Sidwell Friends School.
Georgia: Hiram High School, Hiram.
Illinois: University of Chicago Laboratory School, Chicago.
Maryland: Charles Herbert Flowers High School, Springdale.
Massachusetts: Gann Academy, Waltham; Rockport High School, Rockport.
Michigan: Farmington Harrison High School, Farmington Hills.
Minnesota: Great River School, St. Paul; Saint Thomas Academy, Mendota Heights.
New York: Saratoga Springs High School, Saratoga Springs.
Oregon: Oregon Episcopal School, Portland.
Texas: Edgewood Fine Arts Academy, San Antonio.
Washington: West Valley High School, Spokane.
Wisconsin: Brillion High School, Brillion.

Facilities Investments

The Miami, Fla.-based division of ASPIRA, a national nonprofit that works to promote Puerto Rican and Latino youth leadership through education, has received $7.4 million in a multi-partnership investment for facility renovation and construction at a low-income charter middle school in Miami. This $7.4 million loan was contributed as a New Markets Tax Credit program through the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Community Development Financial Institutions Fund and facilitated with tax credits for the financing by the Florida Community Loan Fund.


Classroom Technology Webinar Building Better Blended Learning in K-12 Schools
The pandemic and the increasing use of technology in K-12 education it prompted has added renewed energy to the blended learning movement as most students are now learning in school buildings (and will likely continue

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: November 17, 2021
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Nearly a Million Kids Vaccinated in Week 1, White House Says
Experts say there are signs that it will be difficult to sustain the initial momentum.
4 min read
Leo Hahn, 11, gets the first shot of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine, Tuesday, Nov. 9, 2021, at the University of Washington Medical Center in Seattle. Last week, U.S. health officials gave the final signoff to Pfizer's kid-size COVID-19 shot, a milestone that opened a major expansion of the nation's vaccination campaign to children as young as 5. (AP Photo/Ted S. Warren)
Education How Schools Are Getting Kids the COVID Shot, and Why Some Aren’t
Some district leaders say offering vaccine clinics, with the involvement of trusted school staff, is key to helping overcome hesitancy.
5 min read
A girl walks outside of a mobile vaccine unit after getting the first dose of her COVID-19 vaccine, outside P.S. 277, Friday, Nov. 5, 2021, in the Bronx borough of New York. (AP Photo/Eduardo Munoz Alvarez)
Education Biden Administration Urges Schools to Provide COVID-19 Shots, Information for Kids
The Biden administration is encouraging local school districts to host vaccine clinics for kids and information on benefits of the shots.
2 min read
President Joe Biden, and first lady Jill Biden walk to board Marine One on the South Lawn of the White House in Washington, Saturday, Nov. 6, 2021. Biden is spending the weekend at his home in Rehoboth Beach, Del. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)