Carnegie Forum Sets Panel On Teacher Certification

By Blake Rodman — September 10, 1986 4 min read

The Carnegie Forum on Education and the Economy last week announced the formation of a 33-member planning group to help establish an independent national board that would set professional standards for a new form of teacher certification.

Creation of a such a board, which would be similar to those in law and medicine, was a key proposal of A Nation Prepared: Teachers for the I 21st Century, the report released last May by the Carnegie Task Force on Teaching as a Profession, a project of the Carnegie forum.

The presidents of the nation’s two largest teachers’ unions, Mary Hatwood Futrell of the National Education Association and Albert Shanker of the American Federation of Teachers, served on the Carnegie task force and have agreed to join the national-board planning group.

The other 12 task-force members will also join the planning group. One of them, James B. Hunt Jr., former Governor of North Carolina, will serve as chairman.

The forum said in a statement that the planning group’s primary task will be to establish the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards as an “operating entity.

In addition, the statement said, the group will monitor the progress of a 15-month research project at Stanford University sponsored by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. Last spring, the foundation awarded Stanford an $817,000 grant to develop prototypes of the kinds of assessments the national board might use to certify teachers.

Mr. Hunt said he will “push hard” to have a national board--complete with members, staff, budget, and offices- in operation by next summer.

Panel’s Members

The planning group members are: Lewis M. Branscomb, professor of technology and public policy at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government and former vice president and chief scientist of I .B.M.; Alan K. Campbell, executive vice president and vice chairman of A.R.A. Services Inc.; Karen Dreyfuss, teacher of English, French, Latin, and Italian at Miami (Fla.) Southridge High School.

Mary Hatwood Futrell, president of the N.E.A.; Clifford Freeman, president-elect of the National Association of State Boards of Education; John W. Gardner, former U.S. Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare and founder of Independent Sector; Fred M. Hechinger, president of The New York Times Company Foundation Inc.

Sonia Hernandez, social-studies teacher at Emma Frey Elementary School in San Antonio; Shirley A. Hill, profess0r of education and mathematics at the University of Missouri at Kansas City and chairman of the Mathematical Sciences Education Board of the National Research Council; Bill Honig, California superintendent of public instruction.

Sue Hovey, teacher and coordinator of ~ for the gifted at Moacow Hdaho) High School and member of the N.E.A. executive committee; James B. Hunt, former Governor of North Carolina; Sussn Alder Kaplan, English teacher at Classical High School in Providence, RI, and trustee of Brown University; Vera Katz, Speaker of the Oregon House of Representatives.

Gov. Thomas H. Kean of New Jersey; Nathaniel H. Lacour Jr., president of the United Teachers of New Orleans and a vice president of the A.F.T.; Judith E. Lanier, dean of the college of education at Michigan State University and chairman of the executive board of the Holmes Group consortium of education-school deans.

Margaret J. Lathlaen, teacher of gifted children at Westwood Elementary School in Friendswood, Tex., and finalist in NASA’S ‘“Teacher in Space” competition; A. Robert Lynch, teacher of economics, psychology, and American studies in the Jericho (N.Y.) Public Schools and executive director of the New York State Council for Social Studies; Arturo Madrid, president of the ‘Tomas Rivera Center at the Claremont (Calif.) Graduate School and president of the National Chicano Council on Higher Education.

Shirley M. Malcom, program head of the office of opportunities in science at the American Association for the Advancement of Science; Helen E. Martin, mathematics and science teacher at Unionville (Pa.) High School; Deborah Meier, principal of Central Park East Elementary School and Central Park East Secondary School in New York City; Thomas W. Payzant, superintendent of the San Diego City Schools and president of the Council for Basic Education.

Claire L. Pelton, English teacher at Los Altos (Calif.) High School; Ruth E. Randall, Minnesota commissioner of education; Doris D. Roettger, reading/language arts coordinator at the Heartland Area Education Agency in Johnson, Iowa; Leonard Rovins, member of the Westport (Conn.) School Board and president- elect of the the National School Boards Association; Mary Budd Rowe, professor of science education at the University of Florida in Gainesville and president-elect of the National Science Teachers Association.

Thomas F. Sedgwick, mathematics teacher at Lincoln High School in Tacoma, Wash.; Albert Shanker, president of the: ... F.T.; Edith L. Swanson, 6th-grade teacher at Edmonson Middle School in Ypsilanti, Mich., and a member of the N.E.A. board of directors; Peggy Swoger, English teacher at Mountain Brook (Ala.) Junior High School.

A version of this article appeared in the September 10, 1986 edition of Education Week as Carnegie Forum Sets Panel On Teacher Certification