November 01, 2002 4 min read

Following are application deadlines for awards, honors, and contests available to teachers. Asterisks (*) denote new entries.

*November 15 READING
The Exemplary Reading Program Award is sponsored by the International Reading Association to recognize outstanding reading and language arts programs at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. A participating state chooses one winning school each year. All U.S. and Canadian schools are eligible for the award, provided that the state has an Exemplary Reading Program Award Committee to judge program applications. At least one faculty or staff member from an applying school must be a member of the International Reading Association. Winners are recognized with a plaque at the IRA Annual Convention and serve as models for other schools and teachers. For more information, contact: Shirley Morton, Division of Professional Development, International Reading Association, 800 Barksdale Rd., P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 236; fax (302) 731-1057; e-mail;

*November 15 READING
The International Reading Association presents two $1,000 awards in reading and language arts for its K-12 teacher members. The Nila Banton Smith Award honors a middle or secondary school classroom teacher or reading teacher. Applicants must show leadership in translating theory and current research into practice for developing content-area literacy. The Eleanor M. Johnson Award recognizes one outstanding reading or language arts elementary teacher who has taught for a minimum of five years and is endorsed by four individuals. All nominees must be members of the International Reading Association to be eligible. Contact: Executive Office, International Reading Association, P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 221;
fax (302) 731-1057; e-mail;

The International Reading Association and TLC School, a division of the educational software publisher Riverdeep—The Learning Company Inc., announce the 2003 IRA Presidential Award for Reading and Technology. Educators creatively using technology to help students read are encouraged to apply. One grand-prize winner receives a laptop computer, $1,000 in reading software from Riverdeep, and an expenses-paid trip to the IRA’s annual conference in Orlando. As many as seven regional winners from the United States, one winner from Canada, and one winner from outside North America each receive $500 worth of reading software. Individuals may nominate themselves or others; all nominees must be full-time educators who work directly with students ages 5 to 18. For more information, contact: Executive Office, International Reading Association, P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 221; fax (302) 731- 1057; e-mail;

*November 15 SCIENCE
The Shell Science Teaching Award, sponsored by Shell Oil Company, recognizes one exemplary classroom science teacher and two finalists with an expenses-paid trip to the NSTA National Convention. The winner receives $10,000 and must have eight years’ teaching experience, primarily teach science, and teach K-12 students in Canada, the United States, its territories, or a U.S. Department of Defense Dependent school. For more information, contact: Lori Pinson, Shell Science Teaching Award, NSTA, 1840 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201-3000; (703) 243-7100;

*November 23 NUTRITION
The Dole Food Company recognizes innovative teachers with the “Creative 5 a Day” Teacher of the Year Contest. Teachers submit descriptions of activities involving fruits and vegetables, as well as letters of recommendation from their schools’ principals. Applications are judged by a panel of educators for success in motivating elementary students to eat more fruits and vegetables. The grand-prize winner receives a “5 a Day” party for his or her class hosted by Dole’s Bobby Banana. Contact: Dole Nutrition Program, 100 Hegenberger Rd., Suite 100, Oakland, CA 94621; fax (510) 639-5556;

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics’ Mathematics Education Trust sponsors the Lifetime Achievement Award. NCTM members who are at least 55 years old and have at least 25 years of distinguished service in math education are eligible. Each application must be supported by a letter of nomination, the nominee’s résumé, and up to five letters of recommendation. Contact: NCTM’s MET, 1906 Association Dr., Reston, VA 20191-9988; (703) 620-9840, ext. 2112;

*December 15 ASTRONOMY
The Astronomical Society of the Pacific welcomes nominations for the 2003 Thomas Brennan Award, which honors a teacher whose work has had a substantial impact on high school astronomy. Candidates must have taught astronomy to high school students; organized workshops in astronomy; or developed innovative courses, curricula, and science programs aimed at the high school level. Nominations must be submitted on Brennan Award forms, and nominees must reside in North America. One winner receives the $250 award and a plaque to be presented at the society’s annual meeting. The winner may also be invited to write an article for the Astronomical Society of the Pacific’s Mercury Magazine or Universe in the Classroom newsletter describing his or her work. Contact: Marilyn Delgado, Astronomical Society of the Pacific, 390 Ashton Ave., San Francisco, CA 94112; (415) 337-1100, ext. 100; e-mail;