Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

'First Class' Teacher Awards

Sallie Mae, a national provider of financial services for postsecondary education, based in Reston Va., and the American Association of School Administrators in Arlington, Va., have named 52 first-year teachers from around the country recipients of the 1999 Sallie Mae First Class Teacher Award. Each winner received $1,500 and a trip to Washington. The honorees are listed below by state.

Alabama. Carolyn Lowery, Oakdale Elementary School, Tuscaloosa. Alaska. Sargeant Truesdell, Soldotna Middle School, Soldotna. Arizona. Valla Harkins, Madison Park Elementary School, Phoenix. Arkansas. Kerrie Waggoner, Central Junior High School, Springdale. California. Janine Jellander, Mira Costa High School, Manhattan Beach. Colorado. Adrea Lawrence, Heritage High School, Littleton. Connecticut. Nicolle Trow, New Lebanon Elementary School, Greenwich; Delaware. Lisa Wilson, Smyrna High School, Smyrna. District of Columbia. Charles Leighton, Jefferson Junior High School.

Florida. Stephanie Desmarais, Seminole Heights Elementary School, Tampa. Georgia. Robin Smith, Miller Elementary School, Warner Robins. Guam. Marian Abiador, Mount Santa Rosa Elementary School, Hagatna. Hawaii. Charles Ramos, Waipahu High School, Waipahu. Idaho. Dana Miller, Wendell Elementary School, Wendell. Illinois. Heather Dent, Glencoe South Elementary School, Glencoe. Indiana. Heather Miller, S. Ellen Jones Elementary School, New Albany. Iowa. Kelli Rixner, Meredith Middle School, Des Moines. Kansas. Christine Ketron, Auburn Elementary School, Auburn. Kentucky. Brian Allred, South Oldham High School, Crestwood.

Louisiana. Stephanie Baumbouree, Prien Lake Elementary, Westlake. Maine. Cheri Gowen, Thornton Academy, Saco. Maryland. William Thomas, Kettering Middle School, Upper Marlboro. Massachusetts. Michelle Gandee, Peter Fitzpatrick Elementary School, Peperell. Michigan. Michelle Herring, North Middle and South Middle Schools, Belleville. Minnesota. Renee Sbrocco, Thomas Jefferson High School, Bloomington. Mississippi. Sybil Wilner, Trent Lott Middle School, Pascagoula. Missouri. Deborah Hill, Mark Twain Junior High School, Center. Montana. Jaime McGill, Golden Ridge Elementary School, Fairfield.

Nebraska. April Whiteaker, Swanson Elementary School, Omaha. Nevada. Jamie Jaeger, K.O. Knudson Middle School, Las Vegas. New Hampshire. Kelly Sedgley, Epsom Central School, Epsom. New Jersey. Jennifer Renda, Hunterdon Central Regional High School, Flemington. New Mexico. Brian Easton, Los Alamos High School, Los Alamos. New York. Theresa Manfre, Archer St. Microsociety/Multimedia School, Freeport. North Carolina. Derek Schroll, Trinity Elementary School, Trinity. North Dakota. Jennifer Bolluyt, Carl Ben Eielson Elementary, Fargo. Ohio. Jennifer Hansen, Eastern Heights Junior High School, Elyria.

Oklahoma. Jennifer Hensley, Quail Creek Elementary School, Oklahoma City. Oregon. Lisa Luce, Hendrick Middle School, Medford. Pennsylvania. Lisa Heintzelman, Rheems Elementary School, Rheems. Rhode Island. Chris Cobain, Exeter-West Greenwich High School, West Greenwich. South Carolina. Deidre Cousins, Nursery Road Elementary School, Columbia. South Dakota. David Ohrtman, Kadoka School District 35-1, Kadoka. Tennessee. Hildred Griggs, Lookout Mountain School, Lookout Mountain. Texas. Jeffrey Nordine, Sandra Day O'Connor High School, Helotes. Utah. Cheyenne Correia, Rosecrest Elementary, Salt Lake City. Vermont. Dianna Ivey, Mount Anthony Union Middle School, Bennington. Virginia. SooJung Kim, Washington Irving Middle School, Springfield. Washington. Rebecca Pringle, Horse Heaven Hills Middle School, Kennewick. West Virginia. Elizabeth Bennett, Midland Trail Elementary, Belle. Wisconsin. Michael Nesterick, Powers Elementary School, Beloit. Wyoming. Jillian Balow, Moorcroft Elementary School, Moorcroft.

Journalism Teacher Awards

The Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Inc. has named Randy Glen Swikle the 1999 High School Journalism Teacher of the Year. Mr. Swikle has been advising students at Johnsburg (Ill.) High School in the weekly production of their school paper since 1978. He will receive a plaque, and one senior at his school will receive a $1,000 college scholarship to study news-editorial journalism.

The newspaper fund, based in Princeton, N.J., also named four Distinguished Advisers and six Special Recognition Advisers.

The Distinguished Adviser honorees are: Brenda Gorsuch, West Henderson High School, Hendersonville, N.C.; Rebecca Sipos, McLean (Va.) High School; Janet McKinney, Ben Davis High School, Indianapolis; and Jeff Nardone, Grosse Pointe South High School, Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.

The Special Recognition Adviser honorees are: Deborah Buttleman Malcolm, Davenport (Iowa) Central High School; Edith Boykin, I.H. Kempner High School, Sugar Land, Texas; Karl Grubaugh, Granite Bay (Calif.) High School; Alyce Stanwood, Cupertino (Calif.) High School; John Mathwin, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring, Md.; and Marie Harris, George Washington High School, Danville, Va.

Vol. 19, Issue 6, Page 54

Published in Print: October 6, 1999, as Honors & Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories