The United Kingdom: An Educator’s Guide

May 05, 2004 3 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

The United Kingdom—covering England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland—had just over 10 million students in 2002-03, with more than 90 percent enrolled in publicly financed schools, usually known as state schools. The vast majority of students—8.4 million—attended schools in England.

The Department for Education and Skills oversees education and training in England. In the late 1990s, Parliament devolved primary responsibility for education and training in Northern Ireland and Wales to their national assemblies, although the education systems in England and Wales are very similar. The Scottish Executive Education Department is responsible for setting education policy in Scotland.

Although the Education Reform Act of 1988 established a national curriculum for schools in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland, Scotland has no prescribed national curriculum.

Similarly, the testing systems differ across the United Kingdom. In England, children take National Curriculum tests in English, mathematics, and science at ages 7, 11, and 14, or Key Stages 1, 2, and 3. At about age 16, or the end of Key Stage 4, most students take General Certificate of Secondary Education exams, or GCSEs, available in a wide range of subjects. (There is also a system of vocational exams.) Grades from A* (the highest) to G are given based on work during the course and on end-of-course exams. If students choose to stay beyond the compulsory education age of 16, and prepare for higher education, they then take Advanced, or A-level, exams. Teachers at the school mark tests for 7-year-olds. But tests for older children are marked externally, and a school’s results are published nationally.

Wales and Northern Ireland do not test 7-year-olds. And after they received greater control over education policy in the late 1990s, under Prime Minister Tony Blair’s Labor government, both decided to drop the national publication of test results in performance tables. Both also are considering replacing tests for 11- and 14-year-olds with ongoing teacher-designed assessments.

Although Scotland has national tests for its students, children take them when they are ready, at teachers’ discretion, rather than on the basis of age. The results are marked at the school and remain private. The government there is pursuing “more effective, pupil-focused assessment procedures.”

Public Financing

So it is really only in England where the Labor government’s education strategies are in full force. Children in England attend primary schools from age 5 to age 11, although many primary schools also provide “nursery” classes for those younger than 5. Secondary schools serve students from 11 to 16 or beyond.

Moreover, England has different types of publicly financed schools. The most common, called “state-maintained schools,” receive their support from the state and are part of the local education authority, or LEA, although they are largely self-governing when it comes to matters like staff appointments and allocation of resources.

Church-related or “voluntary” schools are largely financed by the state. The churches (or other voluntary bodies, mainly groups associated with churches) typically provide the physical facilities and maintain control over religious instruction. A voluntary school’s independence from the LEA depends on how much financial support it receives.

The most prestigious private, or independent, schools are called “public” schools. They include such internationally known schools as Eton and Harrow.

Unlike in the United States, the national government bears more than 80 percent of the costs for publicly financed precollegiate education, with per-pupil expenditures typically higher in the more disadvantaged areas. Although government spending is broadly redistributive, a well-to-do area can choose to spend more per student if the local education authority decides to do so.

—Lynn Olson


This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Student Well-Being Webinar
A Whole Child Approach to Supporting Positive Student Behavior 
To improve student behavior, it’s important to look at the root causes. Social-emotional learning may play a preventative role.

A whole child approach can proactively support positive student behaviors.

Join this webinar to learn how.
Content provided by Panorama
Recruitment & Retention Live Online Discussion A Seat at the Table: Why Retaining Education Leaders of Color Is Key for Student Success
Today, in the United States roughly 53 percent of our public school students are young people of color, while approximately 80 percent of the educators who lead their classrooms, schools, and districts are white. Racial
Jobs January 2022 Virtual Career Fair for Teachers and K-12 Staff
Find teaching jobs and other jobs in K-12 education at the EdWeek Top School Jobs virtual career fair.

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: January 12, 2022
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education School Bus Driver Retires After 48 Years Behind Wheel
Charles City school bus driver Betty Flick sat behind the wheel for the final time last week, wrapping up a 48-year career for the district.
3 min read
Charles City school bus driver Betty Flick poses with one of her farewell signs. Flick has been driving for Charles City School District for 48 years.
Betty Flick quickly fell in love with the job and with the kids, which is what has had her stay in the district for this long.
Courtesy of Abby Koch/Globe Gazette
Education Briefly Stated: December 1, 2021
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: November 17, 2021
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read