Smoothing the Transition

January 10, 2001 2 min read

These seven members of the Bush-Cheney transition policy-coordination group for the Department of Education are charged with helping Secretary-designate Rod Paige prepare to lead the agency:

Margaret LaMontagne, senior adviser, Office of the Governor of Texas; William Hansen, executive director, Education Finance Council; Sandy Kress, partner, Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld LLP; education adviser to the 2000 Bush campaign; Sarah Youssef, policy adviser to the Bush campaign; former education analyst, the Heritage Foundation; Christine Wolfe, professional staff member, House Education and the Workforce Committee; Becky Campoverde, communications director, House Education and the Workforce Committee; Nina Shokraii Rees, senior education policy analyst, the Heritage Foundation; education adviser to the Bush campaign.

The following 31 members of the transition advisory team for the Department of Education are described as providing input and related outreach activities for the policy-coordination group:

Lamar Alexander, former U.S. secretary of education; Norman R. Augustine, former chairman, Lockheed Martin Corp.; Keith E. Bailey, chairman, president, and CEO, The Williams Companies Inc.; Frank Brogan, lieutenant governor of Florida; John T. Chambers, president and CEO, Cisco Systems Inc.; Sharon Darling, president, National Center for Family Literacy; Williamson M. Evers, research fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University; Chester E. Finn Jr., president, Thomas B. Fordham Foundation; former assistant U.S. secretary of education; The Rev. Floyd H. Flake, president, Edison Charter Schools; former U.S. representative, D- N.Y.; Howard L. Fuller, director, Institute for the Transformation of Learning, Marquette University; former superintendent, Milwaukee public schools; Lisa Graham Keegan, Arizona state schools superintendent; Eugene W. Hickok, Pennsylvania secretary of education; Phyllis Hunter, consultant, Texas Statewide Reading Initiative; Robert L. King, chancellor, State University of New York; G. Reid Lyon, chief, child-development branch, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development; Mitch Maidique, president, Florida International University; Bruno V. Manno, senior program associate, Annie E. Casey Foundation; former assistant U.S. secretary of education; John McKernan, former governor of Maine; Charles Miller, chairman, Meridian Advisors Ltd.; Darla Moore, president, Rainwater Inc.; Lynne A. Munson, research associate, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research; Diana S. Natalicio, president, University of Texas at El Paso; Susan Neuman, director, Center for Improvement of Early Reading Achievement, University of Michigan; Hugh B. Price, president and CEO, National Urban League; Diane Ravitch, professor, New York University; former assistant U.S. secretary of education; Edward B. Rust Jr., chairman and CEO, State Farm Insurance Cos.; Ted Sanders, president, Education Commission of the States; former deputy U.S. secretary of education; Andrew A. Sorensen, president, University of Alabama; Paul Vallas, CEO, Chicago public schools; Maris Vinovskis, senior researcher, University of Michigan; Mark G. Yudof, president, University of Minnesota.

SOURCE: Bush-Cheney Transition Office.

Related Tags:

A version of this article appeared in the January 10, 2001 edition of Education Week as Smoothing the Transition