Pacesetter Task Forces

May 06, 1992 1 min read

The following are the co-chairmen of the five disciplinary task forces for the College Board’s Pacesetter project. Named by the board in conjunction with national subject-matter organizations, the task forces are responsible for identifying the information and skills students should know, instructional strategies, and ways to assess student achievement.

English Task Force
Robert Scholes (chair)
Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Humanities
Brown University

William McBride (co-chair)
Associate chair of the secondary section
National Council of Teachers of English
Colorado State University

Foreign Language--Spanish Task Force
Myriam Met (chair)
Coordinator, foreign languages
Division of Academic Skills
Montgomery County (Md.) Public Schools

Lynn Sandstedt (co-chair)
Executive director designate
American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portugese
University of Northern Colorado

Mathematics Task Force
Philip C. Curtis Jr. (chair)
Professor of mathematics
University of California at Los Angeles

John A. Dossey (co-chair)
Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics
Illinois State University

Science Task Force
Arnold A. Stassenburg (chair)
Principal investigator
Scope, Sequence, and Coordination Project
National Science Teachers Association
State University of New York-Stony Brook

Doris R. Helms (co-chair)
Professor of biology
Associate Dean, College of Sciences
Clemson University

World History Task Force
Stanley N. Katz (co-chair)
American Council of Learned Societies
New York, N.Y.

Peter N. Stearns (co-chair)
Heintz Profesor
Head, Department of History
Carnegie Mellon University

A version of this article appeared in the May 06, 1992 edition of Education Week as Pacesetter Task Forces