October 10, 1990 4 min read

Katherine Afendoulis, a third grade teacher at Collins Elementary School in Grand Rapids, Mich., has been selected Michigan’s 1990-91 “Teacher of the Year” by the Michigan State Board of Education.

William Branch, a political science and history teacher at Evanston Township High School in Evanston, Ill., has been named the 1990-91 Illinois “Teacher of the Year” by the Illinois State Board of Education.

Carrey Carruthers, Governor of New Mexico, has been awarded the first annual National Academy Foundation Fellow Award for outstanding public sector leadership in education.

Linda N. Foster, principal of Alamo Heights (Tex.) Junior High School, has been awarded the “Luby Prize for Educational Leadership” for 1990 by the education department of Trinity University, San Atonio.

Joseph Gatto, dean of Visual Arts at the Los Angeles County High School for the Arts, has been named “Outstanding Secondary Arts Educator’’ for 1989-90 by the California Arts Education Association.

Cindy Pritzker, president of the Chicago Public Library Board of Directors and president of the Chicago Public Library Foundation, has received the “1990 President’s Award” from the Friends of Libraries, U.S.A.

Paul Reese, a teacher at Ralph Bunche School, P.S. 125 in New York City, has been named “Educator of the Year” for 1990 by Electronic Learning magazine.

Sharon L. Strating, a fifth grade teacher at John Glenn Elementary School in the Savannah R-3 School District, has been named Missouri’s 1990-91 “Teacher of the Year.”

Robert Tinker, Chief Science Officer of the Technical Education Research Centers, has received the inaugural “Siemens Award for the Advancement of Science” from Computerland Smithsonian Awards and the Siemens Corporation.

Gerald N. Tirozzi, state education commissioner for Connecticut, has been chosen to receive the Connecticut Association of Affirmative Action Officers’ 1990 “Affirmative Action Achievement Award.”

The Foundation for Children’s Books recently received the Greater Boston Council of the International Reading Council’s “Literacy Award” for 1990.

The Florida Department of Education recently honored five high-school principals with the 1990 “Commissioner’s Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership.” The award recognizes principals who have demonstrated consistent commitment to their students’ welfare and progress, effective use of community resources, sound management abilities, and increased student performance.

The principals, their schools, and the school locations are listed below:

Fred Bynum, Astronaut High School, Brevard County; Peter Bucholtz, Miami Palmetto High School, Dade County; David Lauer, Hamilton County High School, Hamilton County, Roseanne Wood, sail (School for Applied Individualized Learning), Leon County; and Barbara Paonessa, Boca Ciega High School, Pinellas County.

The Nevada Department of Education recently announced the winners of the 1990 “Nevada Educator Awards.” The six honored educators were selected for their exemplary leadership abilities, professional growth and achievements, and their commitment to excellence in education. Each winner will receive a $25,000 award during an Educator Award Retreat to be held in Los Angeles in March.

The award recipients are:

Jim Bryn, chemistry teacher, Sparks High School, Washoe County School District; Malinda Frazier, second grade teacher, Lovelock Elementary School, Pershing County School District; William C. Langley, principal, St. Viator Elementary School, the Catholic Diocese of Las Vegas; Cynthia Montoya, librarian, Gibson Elementary School, Clark County School District; Steve Pellegrini, science teacher, Yerington High School, Lyon County School District; Joan Turner, special education teacher, Las Vegas High School, Clark County School District.

The Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C., in conjunction with Great Britain’s Royal Shakespeare Company, sponsored a summer institute entitled “Teaching Shakespeare: Texts and Performances” from July 23 to August 20. Twenty-five teachers from public and private schools around the country participated in the study of all aspects of Shakespeare’s work, from textual interpretation to performance. The teachers studied the Bard’s work at the Folger and in Stratford-on-Avon, home of the r.s.c.

The participants and their schools are listed below:

Julie Bathke, Krueger Middle School, San Antonio, Tex.; Jean Burns, LaPorte (Ind.) High School; Paul J. Cartier, Hope High School, Providence, R.I.; Edith Perry Clay, Powell Junior High School, Jackson, Miss.; Tom Collins, Oregon Episcopal School, Portland, Ore.

Timothy J. Curry, Moline (Ill.) High School; Janet S. Dale, Hoffman-Kensington High School, Hoffman, Minn.; Denise P. Fournier, Rundlett Junior High School, Concord, N.H.; Laura C. Gordon, Somerset (Pa.) Junior High School; Audrey W. Hawkins, Eastern High School, Washington, D.C.

Karen Huffman, Central High School, Rapid City, S.D.; James Incorvaia, Huntington (N.Y.) High School; Lynn Lawrence, Osbourne Park High School, Manassas, Va.; Susan C. Ledford, Flathead High School, Kalispell, Mont.; Sarah H. Mayper, Attleboro (Mass.) High School.

Russell D. McDowell, Doane Stuart School, Albany, N.Y.; Jim O’Rourke, Lincoln Park High School, Chicago, Ill.; Peggy Prugh, Jackson Hole (Wyo.) High School; Barbara G. Reisner, American Fork (Utah) High School; Marcia Martens-Rosenboom, George Little Rock High School, George, Idaho.

Deborah Thompson, Finney High School, Detroit, Mich.; Amy S. Tompkins, Enloe High School, Raleigh, N.C.; Michael A. Vanlandingham, Roane County High School, Kinston, Tenn.; Norma Wright, Union Middle School, San Jose, Calif.; John Zdrazil, West Central Schools, Elbow Lake, Minn.

A version of this article appeared in the October 10, 1990 edition of Education Week as Honors