Education Honors & Award

Honors & Awards

January 09, 2007 4 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

State Teachers of the Year

The National Teacher of the Year program, sponsored by ING and a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, has announced its 2007 State Teachers of the Year. The state winners will be honored at a White House ceremony in the spring in which President George W. Bush will name the 2007 National Teacher of the Year from among the finalists.

Here is the list of State Teachers of the Year:

Alabama: Cameron Sharbel McKinley, Riverchase Elementary School, Hoover.
Alaska: Ina B. Bouker, Dillingham Elementary School, Dillingham.
American Samoa: Joserose S. Jyothibhavan, Tafuna High School, Department of Education, Pago Pago.
Arizona: Kristin Bourguet, Marana High School, Tucson.
Arkansas: Justin Minkel, Jones Elementary School, Springdale.
California: Alan Lawrence Sitomer, Lynwood High School, Lynwood.
Colorado: Susan R. Ryder, Estes Park Middle School, Estes Park.
Connecticut: Christopher Poulos, Joel Barlow High School, Redding.
Delaware: Caridad Alonso, William C. Lewis Dual Language Elementary School, Wilmington.
Department of Defense Education Activity: Patricia Ann Laney, Murray Elementary School, Fort Bragg.
District of Columbia: Githa Natarajan, John Eaton Elementary School.
Florida: Conney Dahn, Jensen Beach High School, Jensen Beach.
Georgia: Pam Walker, Alexander High School, Douglasville.
Hawaii: Jami Muranaka, Kaimuki High School, Honolulu.
Idaho: Michael Clabby, Lake City High School, Coeur d’ Alene.
Illinois: Joseph G. Fatheree, Effingham High School, Effingham.
Indiana: Anna Shults, Fall Creek Elementary School, Fishers.
Iowa: Jan Keese, Crocker Elementary School, Ankeny.
Kansas: Joshua M. Anderson, Olathe Northwest High School, Olathe.
Kentucky: Susanne M. Burkhardt, Simpsonville Elementary School, Simpsonville.
Louisiana: Carol Leah Price, Zachary High School, Zachary.
Maine: Brittany E. Ray, Narraguagus High School, Harrington.
Maryland: Michele M. Hammond, Stephen Decatur Middle School, Berlin.
Massachusetts: Jessie Auger, Rafael Hernandez Two-Way Bilingual School, Roxbury.
Michigan: Kimberly Kyff, Jamieson Elementary School, Detroit.
Minnesota: Lee-Ann Stephens, Park Spanish Immersion School, St. Louis Park.
Mississippi: Lee J. James, Choctaw County Career and Technology Center, Ackerman.
Missouri: Darryl Thomas Johnson, Smithville High School, Smithville.
Montana: Gary Alan Carmichael, Whitefish High School, Whitefish.
Nebraska: Madaline Fennell, Franklin Elementary School, Omaha.
Nevada: Melanie J. Teemant, Bob Miller Middle School, Henderson.
New Hampshire: Carolyn Kelley, Seacoast School of Technology, Exeter.
New Jersey: Karen Ginty, Monmouth Beach Elementary School, Monmouth Beach.
New Mexico: Tamra A. Tiong, Dulce Elementary School, Dulce.
New York: Marguerite D. Izzo, Howard T. Herber Middle School, Malverne.
North Carolina: Diana F. Beasley, Hickory High School, Hickory.
North Dakota: Marlene Srock, Bel Air Elementary School, Minot.
Northern Mariana Islands: Acelia Castro Dela Cruz, Tanapag Elementary School, Saipan.
Ohio: Eric A. Combs, Fairborn High School, Fairborn.
Oklahoma: Linda Hasler-Reid, Muskogee 7th & 8th Grade Center, Muskogee.
Oregon: Jackie Cooke, West Gresham Grade School, Gresham.
Pennsylvania: Lois J. Rebich, Ross Elementary School, Pittsburgh.
Puerto Rico: Isabel Rodriguez Santos, Lorenzo Coballes Gandia High School, Hatillo.
Rhode Island: Catherine Davis Hayes, Oakland Beach Elementary School, Warwick.
South Carolina: Jennifer H. Murphy, Irmo Elementary School, Irmo.
South Dakota: Charlotte Mohling, Wessington Springs School District, Wessington Springs.
Tennessee: Susanne H. Frensley, Hillsboro Comprehensive High School, Nashville.
Texas: Dana K. Boyd, Dolphin Terrace Elementary, El Paso.
Utah: Kim Schaefer, Whitehorse High School, Montezuma Creek.
Vermont: Kathleen Sullivan, Warren Elementary School, Warren.
Virgin Islands: Valrica Bryson, St. Croix Educational Complex, Kingshill.
Virginia: Susan W. Evans, Rural Retreat High School, Rural Retreat.
Washington: Andrea Peterson, Monte Cristo Elementary School, Granite Falls.
West Virginia: Sarah Morris, Berkeley Springs High School, Berkeley Springs.
Wisconsin: Terry Lee Kaldhusdal, Magee Elementary School, Genesee Depot.
Wyoming: Mark A. Nethercott, Star Valley High School, Afton.

2006 Partnership Awards

The National Network of Partnership Schools at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md., recognized several schools, districts, and organizations for their excellence in developing school, family, and community partnership programs. The winners, who received free registration to attend an NNPS professional-development conference and a cash prize, are listed below:

Partnership school awards: Cherokee Heights Elementary School, St. Paul, Minn.; Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School, Silver Spring, Md.; Grant Elementary School, Wausau, Wis.; Highlands Elementary School, Naperville, Ill.; Kennedy Junior High School, Lisle, Ill.; Phalen Lake Elementary, St. Paul, Minn.; Webster Stanley Elementary School, Oshkosh, Wis.

Partnership district awards: Local District 4, Los Angeles Unified School District, Calif.; Naperville Community Unit School District 203, Naperville, Ill.

Partnership organization awards: California PARENT Center, June Burnett Institute, San Diego; Strategic Learning Initiatives, Chicago; The Family Works of the Family Services Agency, Inc., Gaithersburg, Md.

Partnership state awards: California Department of Education; Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

National Staff Development Council

Nancy Love and Susan Mundry were awarded the National Staff Development Council’s Susan Loucks-Horsley Award for their work in improving the understanding of professional learning in the areas of math, science, and technology.

A version of this article appeared in the January 10, 2007 edition of Education Week


Curriculum Webinar Computer Science Education Movement Gathers Momentum. How Should Schools React?
Discover how schools can expand opportunities for students to study computer science education.
School & District Management Webinar Fostering Student Well-Being with Programs That Work
Protecting student well-being has never been more important. Join this webinar to learn how to ensure your programs yield the best outcomes.
Reading & Literacy Webinar 'Science of Reading': What Are the Components?
Learn how to adopt a “science of reading” approach to early literacy to effectively build students’ vocabulary and content knowledge.

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: September 21, 2022
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: September 7, 2022
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: August 31, 2022
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Briefly Stated: August 24, 2022
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read