Honors & Awards

May 05, 2004 4 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print


The Council of Chief State School Officers recently honored 55 teachers with state teacher of the year awards. The awards recognize skilled K-12 classroom teachers who have a positive impact on their students and communities. The winners are listed below by state, territory, or federal designation.

Alabama: Tammy Rickard, Spain Park High School, Birmingham.

Alaska: Kathie Steele, Chugiak High School, Eagle River.

American Samoa: Mene Taua’a, Alofau Elementary School, Pago Pago.

Arizona: Jane Ann Robertson, Abia Judd Elementary School, Prescott.

Arkansas: Donna Adkins, Louisa E. Perritt Primary School, Arkadelphia.

California: Paul Michael Lewanski, Tustin High School, Tustin.

Colorado: Henry Thomas McIntosh, John Mall High School, Walsenburg.

Connecticut: William P. Davenport, Nonnewaug High School, Woodbury.

Delaware: Rita Cannon Hovermale, Woodbridge High School, Bridgeville.

Department of Defense Education Activity: Joyce Schenck Loyd, Lucas Elementary School, Ft. Campbell, Ky.

District of Columbia: Sandra Britt Jenkins, Stuart Hobson Museum Middle School.

Florida: Dayle Timmons, Chets Creek Elementary School, Jacksonville.

Georgia: Robert A. Guy, Oconee County Middle School, Watkinsville.

Hawaii: Robert S.J. Hu, Mililani High School, Mililani.

Idaho: Elizabeth Roehr, Meridian Academy, Meridian.

Illinois: David Morrison, Prospect High School, Mt. Prospect.

Indiana: Mark Robert Weaver, Clay Junior High School, Carmel.

Iowa: Ernest Lee Schiller, Central Lee High School, Donnellson.

Kansas: Keil E. Hileman II, Monticello Trails Middle School, Shawnee.

Kentucky: Patti Scott Rowland, Hogsett Elementary School, Danville.

Louisiana: Jean M. Woodside, Bains Lower Elementary School, St. Francisville.

Maine: Marguerite Lawler-Rohner, Westcott Junior High School, Westbrook.

Maryland: Aaron D. Deal, Salisbury Middle School, Salisbury.

Massachusetts: Melinda A. Pellerin-Duck, The High School of Commerce, Springfield.

Michigan: William R. Cecil, Waverly Intermediate School, Lansing.

Minnesota: Gino R. Marchetti, Lake Harriet Community School (Upper Campus), Minneapolis.

Mississippi: Andrew Lark, Starkville High School, Starkville.

Missouri: Tara Sparks, Robert H. Sperreng Middle School, St. Louis.

Montana: Alyson M. Mike, East Valley Middle School, East Helena.

Nebraska: Diane M. Woodford, Covington Elementary School, South Sioux City.

Nevada: Rhonda McGlinn, Hunsberger Elementary School, Reno.

New Hampshire: Ida M. Dziura, South School, Londonderry.

New Jersey: Diane M. Cummins, Clearview Regional High School, Mullica Hill.

New Mexico: Nancy Kathryn Ackerman, La Union Elementary School, La Union.

New York: Lynn Astarita Gatoo, Henry Hudson School #28, Rochester

North Carolina: Allison Huffman Ormond, Rockingham County Middle School, Reidsville.

North Dakota: David L. Volk, Ben Franklin Junior High and Fargo North High School, Fargo.

Northern Mariana Islands: Brenda Schultz Garapan Elementary School, Saipan.

Ohio: Doreen Neuhoff Uhas-Sauer, Fort Hayes Arts and Academic High School, Columbus.

Oklahoma: Cynthia Ann Tate-Ball, Sadler Arts Academy, Muskogee.

Oregon: Catherine H. Thurber-Brown, Tigard High School, Tigard.

Pennsylvania: Leslie J. Nicholas, Wyoming Valley West High School, Plymouth.

Rhode Island: Kathleen M. Mellor, Davisville Middle School, North Kingstown.

South Carolina: Jason Schott Fulmer, Redcliffe Elementary School, Aiken.

South Dakota: Roxie Ahlbrecht, Robert Frost Elementary School, Sioux Falls.

Tennessee: Tracy L. Hoilman, Unicoi County High School, Erwin.

Texas: Ellen Carlton Herbert, Longview High School, Longview.

Utah: Scott Crump, Bingham High SChool, South Jordan.

Vermont: Michael F. Dwyer, Otter Valley Union High School, Brandon.

Virgin Islands: Regenia L. Williams, J. Antonio Jarvis School, St. Thomas.

Virginia: Laurie J. Sullivan, Kate Waller Barrett Elementary School, Arlington.

Washington: Dennis Earl Griner, Garfield-Palouse High School, Palouse.

West Virginia: David C. Soltesz, John Marshall High School, Glen Dale.

Wisconsin: Barbara C. Johnson, Irving Elementary School, West Allis.

Wyoming: Jacob A. Patrick, Saratoga High School, Saratoga.


The American Educational Research Association recently presented educational research awards at its 85th Annual Meeting last week.

The Washington-based organization honored Richard C. Atkinson with its Distinguished Public Service Award. The award recognizes public officials who develop policies by using educational research and statistics.

James A. Banks received the 2004 Social Justice in Education Award, which honors individuals who advance social justice causes through educational research.

The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award, which recognizes significant contributions to educational research, was awarded to Lorrie A. Shepard.

Geoffrey D. Bowman and Jannette K. Klinger were honored with the Early Career award, which recognizes young researchers.


The William E. Simon Foundation, a New York City-based nonprofit organization, honoredElayne Bennett last week with its Prize for Social Entrepreneurship. Ms. Bennett was honored for her philanthropic work involving in-school programs that educate adolescents on the risks of sex, drugs, and alcohol. She received a $250,000 cash prize.

The foundation also honored David Robinson, a two-time National Basketball Association World Champion with the San Antonio Spurs, for his efforts to help at-risk students. Mr. Robinson, who has retired from playing professional basketball, donated more than $9 million to establish the Carver Academy, an elementary school in San Antonio for low-income children. He was awarded a $250,000 cash prize that will be donated to a charity.


This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Student Well-Being Webinar
Attend to the Whole Child: Non-Academic Factors within MTSS
Learn strategies for proactively identifying and addressing non-academic barriers to student success within an MTSS framework.
Content provided by Renaissance
Classroom Technology K-12 Essentials Forum How to Teach Digital & Media Literacy in the Age of AI
Join this free event to dig into crucial questions about how to help students build a foundation of digital literacy.

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: June 19, 2024
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Briefly Stated: June 12, 2024
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: May 29, 2024
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: May 8, 2024
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read