Honors & Awards

October 15, 2003 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Plato Learning Technology Award

Plato Learning, Inc., a Bloomington-Minn.- based education software company that offers e-learning instruction, recently honored Sleepy Eye Elementary School in Sleepy Eye, Minn., with its inaugural William R. Roach Learning Technology Center Award Program.

The award, named for the company’s former chairman and president, honors financially-challenged schools that are committed to developing technology programs to improve student success.

Sleepy Eye Elementary School will receive a educational technology lab, Plato Learning software, professional development, and technology support.

Although this year’s award was confined to schools in Minnesota, Plato officials intend to expand the award to other states next year.

Catholic Education Award

The National Catholic Educational Association recently honored five individuals with its Elizabeth Seton Award for service to Catholic education. The award, which is the organization’s highest honor, recognizes individuals who impact Catholic education in the United States either through educational leadership, partnerships, or philanthropic contributions. Each recipient names a student from their community to receive a $1,000 scholarship.

The recipients are listed below alphabetically.

John A. Krol, Wilmington, Del; Arthur Modell, Baltimore; Thomas and Maureen O’Brien, Pittsburgh; Rev. John P. Smyth, Chicago.

Other Honors and Awards

The National Education Association’s Foundation for the Improvement of Education recently announced that former NEA president Mary Hatwood Futrell will receive its 2003 Award for Outstanding Service to Public Education.

The award recognizes an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to public education. Ms. Futrell will be honored at the NEA Foundation’s annual gala in Washington, DC, on Dec. 11, 2003.

Barbara Bryd-Bennett, the chief executive officier of the 73,000- student Cleveland Public Schools, recently received the Tree of Life Award from the New York-based Jewish National Fund.

The humanitarian award recognizes individuals from industry, government and education for leadership roles in community involvement, dedication to community service, and efforts to promote peace. A project in Isreal involving children will be funded in Ms. Byrd- Bennett’s name.

The Disney Corporation recently named John Passarini, a phyiscal education teacher in the 3,000-student Wayland Public Schools in Wayland, Mass., its Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

Mr. Passarini, who was named a DisneyHand Honoree in July, was chosen from 32 honorees. He received a $15,000 prize, and his school district was given $5,000.


Student Well-Being K-12 Essentials Forum Boosting Student and Staff Mental Health: What Schools Can Do
Join this free virtual event based on recent reporting on student and staff mental health challenges and how schools have responded.
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Curriculum Webinar
Practical Methods for Integrating Computer Science into Core Curriculum
Dive into insights on integrating computer science into core curricula with expert tips and practical strategies to empower students at every grade level.
Content provided by
Jobs Virtual Career Fair for Teachers and K-12 Staff
Find teaching jobs and other jobs in K-12 education at the EdWeek Top School Jobs virtual career fair.

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: October 11, 2023
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Briefly Stated: September 27, 2023
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: September 20, 2023
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education From Our Research Center What's on the Minds of Educators, in Charts
Politics, gender equity, and technology—how teachers and administrators say these issues are affecting the field.
1 min read
Stylized illustration of a pie chart
Traci Daberko for Education Week