Goodlad Gets $500,000 Grant for Fellowship Program

By Lynn Olson — September 09, 1992 2 min read

CINCINNATI--John I. Goodlad, one of the nation’s most prominent school reformers, has launched a fellowship program to train future leaders in both teacher education and K-12 schooling.

The program will be supported with a three-year, $500,000 grant from Philip Morris Companies Inc., which announced the award here last month during the annual meeting of the Education Commission of the States.

Mr. Goodlad, a professor of education at the University of Washington, in 1990 released Teachers for Our Nation’s Schools, a scathing critique of teacher preparation. (See Education Week, Oct. 24, 1990.)

Since then, he has been working with the ECS, the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, and a core group of states to reform teacher education along the lines suggested in his book.

The grant will go to the Institute for Educational Inquiry, a nonprofit organization founded by Mr. Goodlad two years ago to forward his work.

The funding will enable up to 60 midcareer fellows from colleges, universities, and school districts that are participating in Mr. Goodlad’s National Network for Educational Renewal to attend four weeklong seminars at the institute.

‘Teaching School’ Interns

Fellows will also complete an internship at one of a dozen “teaching schools’’ now being established around the country. The schools, to be modeled after teaching hospitals in medicine, are currently being designed by the members of Mr. Goodlad’s network.

The seminars will focus on the mission of schooling and teacher education in a democratic society, changes in curriculum and pedagogy to ensure access to knowledge for all students, the importance of school-university partnerships, and stewardship of the nation’s schools.

The first group of 18 fellows was scheduled to meet in Seattle late last month.

The initial participants are from: California Polytechnic State University; Metropolitan State College of Denver; the University of Connecticut; the University of Southern Maine; Wheelock College in Massachusetts; Montclair State College in New Jersey; Miami University in Ohio; Texas A&M University; Brigham Young University in Utah; the University of Washington; and the University of Wyoming.

Participants also are representing a consortium of colleges and universities from South Carolina, composed of Benedict College, Columbia College, Furman University, the University of South Carolina, Winthrop College, and the South Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching and School Leadership.