Teacher Preparation

AACTE 2012 Book Awards Granted This Weekend

By Catherine A. Cardno — February 21, 2012 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education granted their 2012 Outstanding Book Award this weekend to H. Richard Milner IV for his book Start Where You Are, But Don’t Stay There: Understanding Diversity, Opportunity Gaps, and Teaching in Today’s Classrooms (Harvard Education Press, 2010).

Milner is an associate professor of education and a founding director of the graduate program on learning, diversity, and urban studies in the Department of Teaching and Learning at Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College.

The volume addresses an issue that is critical for teacher preparation: preparing preservice and inservice teachers for the racially diverse student populations they will teach, AACTE said in a press release. Milner’s book is one that addresses real-life issues and dilemmas with vivid case studies, which illustrate the challenges candidates face as they develop into culturally responsive teachers, Jennie Whitcomb—associate dean for teacher education at the University of Colorado at Boulder and the chair of the AACTE committee overseeing the awards—said in the release.

The review committee also granted two honorable mentions for the 2012 Outstanding Book Award. The first, to Peter C. Murrell, Mary E. Diez, Sharon Feiman-Nemser, and Deborah L. Schussler, eds., for Teaching as a Moral Practice: Defining, Developing, and Assessing Dispositions in Education (Harvard Education Press, 2010); and the second to Andy Hargreaves and Dennis Shirley, for The Fourth Way: The Inspiring Future for Educational Change (Corwin Press, 2009).

The AACTE Outstanding Book Award recognizes exemplary books that make a significant contribution to the knowledge base or pedagogy of teacher education.

A version of this news article first appeared in the BookMarks blog.