Temporary Appointees Named to 6 Top E.D. Posts

March 29, 1989 1 min read

Washington--Temporary appointments were announced last week for six senior Education Department positions vacated by the resignations of Reagan Administration appointees.

The appointments will last until President Bush nominates his permanent choices for the posts, and the Senate confirms them.

The following officials were named to serve in an acting capacity:

Patricia McGill Smith, assistant secretary for special education and rehabilitative services, succeeding Madeleine C. Will. Ms. Smith had been deputy assistant secretary in that office.

Jim Williams, assistant secretary for postsecondary education, succeeding Kenneth D. Whitehead. Mr. Williams had been a special assistant in that office.

William L. Smith, assistant secretary for civil rights, succeeding LeGree S. Daniels. Mr. Smith most recently was a special adviser to Bonnie F. Guiton, assistant secretary for vocational and adult education.

Daniel Bonner, assistant secretary for elementary and secondary8education, succeeding Beryl Dorsett. Mr. Bonner had been acting deputy assistant secretary in that office.

Bruno Manno, assistant secretary for educational research and improvement, succeeding Patricia M. Hines. Mr. Manno had been chief of staff and acting deputy assistant secretary for policy in that office.

Gary Rasmussen, deputy undersecretary for management, succeeding Patrick Pizzella. Mr. Rasmussen had been acting administrator for management services in that office.


A version of this article appeared in the March 29, 1989 edition of Education Week as Temporary Appointees Named to 6 Top E.D. Posts