Honors & Awards

February 19, 2003 3 min read

Disney American Teacher Awards

The Walt Disney Co. recently named 32 teachers as honorees for Disney’s American Teachers Awards 2002-03. The awards honor teachers who have been instrumental in creating imaginative and constructive learning environments for students and fellow teachers.

Awards are given in 10 teaching categories. Each honoree will receive a $10,000 cash award, and his or her school will also receive a $5,000 award. The teachers will also participate in a workshop on creative teaching practices in Orlando, Fla., and work with Disney Worldwide Outreach to help improve teacher collaboration and professional development.

Ten category finalists will receive an additional $5,000 each, and the grand-prize winner, who will be named Outstanding Teacher of the Year, will receive $25,000. The honorees are listed below by category.

Elementary—Early Childhood: Randy Heite, Kingsley Elementary School, Chicago; Pauline Jacroux, Aikahi Elementary School, Kailua, Hawaii; Pam Johnson, Koliganek School, Koliganek, Ark.

Elementary—Primary: Dano Beal, Lafayette Elementary School, Seattle; Rosanne Pettignano-Kirchmann, St. Barnabas Elementary School, Bronx, N.Y.; Pamela Roller, Galveston Elementary School, Galveston, Ind.

Elementary—Intermediate: Cecelia Lucero, Laguna Elementary School, Laguna Pueblo, N.M.; Gail McGoogan, Narcoossee Community School, St. Cloud, Fla; John Piepper, Webster Stanley Elementary School, Oshkosh, Wis.

Middle School/Junior High—Science and Math: Patrick Dick, Blatchley Middle School, Sitka, Alaska; Jack Joyce, Pretty Eagle Catholic School, St. Xavier, Mont.; Mark Weaver,Clay Junior High School, Clay, Ind.

Middle School/Junior High—Humanities: Janice Daubenmier and Debby Kent, Hastings Middle School, Columbus, Ohio; Davy Meister, Martin Middle School, Lampeter, Pa.; Roxane Rollins, Roosevelt Middle School, Oceanside, Calif.

High School—Science and Math: Celeste Ball, Kutztown High School, Kutztown, Pa.; Julie Joyner, Palm Beach Lakes Community High School, West Palm Beach, Fla.; Sherri Steward-Ganz, Grapevine High School, Grapevine, Texas.

High School—Humanities: Kerry Demers, Salpointe Catholic High School, Tucson, Ariz.; Penny Ferguson and Mark White, Maryvile High School, Maryville, Tenn.; Daniel Moran, East Brunswick High School, Kendall Park, N.J.

K-12—The Arts: Margaret Elder, Anaheim High School, Anaheim, Calif.; Tim Flinchbaugh, Standing Stone Elementary School/Jackson Miller Elementary School, Huntingdon, Pa.; Connie Rohde-Stanchfield , Santa Ynez Valley Union High School, Santa Ynez, Calif.

K-12—Special Education: Marianne Marsh, Marlton Charter School, Los Angeles; Barbara McLaughlin, Chebanse Elementary School, Chebanse, Ill.; Wendy Miller, James W. Smith Elementary School, Cove City, N.J.

K-12—Wellness/Sports: Pam Atkins, Will Davis Elementary School, Austin, Texas; Judith Griffin, Morton Junior. High School, Morton, Ill.; John R. Passarini, Wayland Public Schools, Wayland, Mass.

Other Honors and Awards

Jeffrey Carl Harriman, a reading teacher at Mountain View Elementary School in Palmer, Alaska, was recently awarded the Carnegie Medal by the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission. The award recognizes individuals who risk their lives to save or attempt to save the lives of others. Recipents of this award receive a bronze medal and a $3,500 cash award.

Mr. Harriman was recognized for saving the life of a seven-year-old student after a man walked into a school cafeteria and stabbed three children. Mr. Harriman confronted the assailant in a classroom, pulling the attacker off an injured student and holding the assailant at bay until the police arrived.

Katherine Wright Knight, a teacher at Little Rock Parkview High School in Little Rock, Ark., was recently honored with the NEA Foundation’s Award for Teaching Excellence.

The award sponsored by the National Education Association, recognizes teachers who promote teaching excellence. She received a $25,000 cash award.