Honors & Awards

May 03, 2000 3 min read


The winners of the Chevy Malibu Teaching Excellence Awards for 2000, co-sponsored by TIME For Kids and Chevrolet Malibu, have been announced.

Janet Muller, a 3rd and 4th grade teacher at Duniway Elementary School in Portland, Ore., was awarded the grand prize, including a new Malibu car and $2,000 to be used for classroom materials and supplies. Susan Skinner, a special education teacher at North Asheboro (N.C.) Middle School, was named the first runner-up; she received $1,000 and a trip to New York City.

Ten educators received honorable-mention awards of free class subscriptions to TIME For Kids. They are:

Charles Bennerman, mathematics teacher, East Columbus High School, Lake Waccamaw, N.C.; Cheryl Connolly, science resource teacher, Randon Elementary School, San Jose, Calif.; Ruthie Hardee, 6th grade teacher, Hexter Elementary School, Dallas; Luanne Kowalke, 4th grade teacher, Greenbriar Elementary School, Northbrook, Ill.; Katrina Macht, 4th grade teacher, Hillside Intermediate School, Bridgewater, N.J.

Sheryl Motto, special education teacher, Cohoes High School, Cohoes, N.Y.;Marilyn Narey, art teacher, Canon-McMillan High School and Canonsburg Middle School, Canonsburg, Pa.; Kathryn Nederostek, 5th grade teacher, East Woods Elementary School, Hudson, Ohio; Axel Ramirez, 8th grade social studies teacher, Lakeridge Junior High School, Orem, Utah; Pam Solvie, 1st grade teacher, Morris Area Elementary School, Morris, Minn.


The Nasdaq Educational Foundation and the National Council on Economic Education recently announced the winners of the Nasdaq National Teaching Awards.

Kali Kurdy, a teacher at Borah High School in Boise, Idaho, was recognized for excellence in economic education as the grand winner. Ms. Kurdy received a cash award of $15,000, in addition to a $10,000 award as a regional winner.

In addition, cash prizes of $10,000 each were presented to the four other regional winners: Forrest Fonnesbeck, Dixie High School, St. George, Utah; David Kaplan, William Penn High School, Philadelphia; Steven Page, Vivian Gaither Senior High School, Tampa, Fla.; Bruce Lee Rottman, Brookfield Academy, Brookfield, Wis.

Twenty regional semifinalists previously received $1,000 each. They are listed below by state:

Arkansas. Laura Marsh, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville. California. Michael Green, Mark Keppel High School, Alhambra; Kenneth R. Hill, Hanford High School, Hanford; Steven Louis Randall, Yucaipa High School, Yucaipa.

Connecticut. Richard Bochinski, Darien High School, Darien; Glenn Hartsoe, Choate Rosemary Hall, Wallingford. Florida. Sheila Booker, Ana Manning, and Valerie Mercak, Lakeland Senior High School, Lakeland.

Illinois. Donald Bedeker, Beecher High School, Beecher. Indiana. Jennifer Glaser, Silver Creek High School, Sellersburg. Michigan. Patricia Tuma, Midland High School, Midland. Nebraska. Michael Wiesen, Ashland Greenwood High School, Ashland.

New Hampshire. Virginia Crook, Merrimack High School, Merrimack. New Mexico. Lisa Dobson, Rio Rancho High School, Rio Rancho. Pennsylvania. Jeane McNamara, Conestoga Senior High School, Berwyn.

Oklahoma. Carolyn Davis, Duncan High School, Duncan. Texas. Cari Gray, New Braunfels High School, New Braunfels. Virgnina. Ina Baker, Broadway High School, Broadway. Washington. Tracie Shepard, Puyallup High School, Puyallup.


The Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center, in Hutchinson, Kan., been selected to receive this year’s Education Achievement Award from the United States Space Foundation, a nonprofit organization in Colorado Springs, Colo., that promotes space education.

U.S. Sens. Thad Cochran, R-Miss., and Edward M. Kennedy, D-Mass., were recently honored with the Ralph Lowell Award, given by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. The lawmakers were recognized for their co-sponsorship of 1992 legislation that led to the creation of the PBS Ready to Learn Service.

A version of this article appeared in the May 03, 2000 edition of Education Week