August 05, 1992 6 min read

In the schools

George Counter, superintendent of the Holyoke (Mass.) Public Schools, to superintendent of the Thomaston (Conn.) Public Schools.

Allen Frazier, superintendent of the Waconia (Minn.) Public Schools, to superintendent of the Plymouth (Conn.) Public Schools.

John Gallagher, superintendent of the Keokuk (Iowa) Public Schools, to superintendent of the Enfield (Conn.) Public Schools.

Paul J. Haggerty, superintendent of schools in Springfield, Mass., to superintendent of schools in Seminole County, Fla.

Timothy A. Jaech, principal of the special-needs department for the California School for the Deaf, in Riverside, to superintendent of the Wisconsin School for the Deaf and Educational Services Center for the Hearing Impaired, in Madison.

Bruce Storm, assistant superintendent of the Lexington (Mass.) Public Schools, to superintendent of the Branford (Conn.) Public Schools.

Naomi R. Weinstein, assistant director of alumni relations at the Riverdale Country School in the Bronx, New York City, to director of alumni relations for the school.

In the districts

Piyush C. Agrawal, supervisor for mathematics programs in the Dade County (Fla.) Public Schools, to superintendent for curriculum and instruction for the Piscataway (N.J.) School District.

David J. Helme, principal of the Wheatley School in Old Westbury, N.Y., to superintendent of schools in the East Williston (N.Y.) Union Free School District.

In the states

James J. MacCallum, a Madison, Va., attorney and former president of the Boone County (W.Va.) Board of Education, and former president of the West Virginia Department of Education, to the state board’s president for the 1992-93 school year.

Mary L. Peterson, special assistant to the Nevada state superintendent of education, to acting deputy state superintendent for instructional, research, and evaluative services for the Nevada Department of Education.

In the associations

Robert V. Mahaffey, director of public affairs and marketing for the Brady Company in Scottsdale, Ariz., to director of publications and marketing for the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

Wendell G. Mohling, science teacher at Shawnee Mission (Kan.) Northwest High School, to president of the National Science Teachers Association.

Other appointments

The following have been elected officers and board representatives of the National Council for the Social Studies: Charlotte C. Anderson, director of Education for Global Involvement Inc. in Chicago, Ill., president; Cecelia Adams Gross, chair of the Department of History at Springfield (Mass.) Technical Community College, college and university representative; Barbara G. Jackson, 4th-grade teacher at North Springs Elementary School in Columbia, S.C., elementary representative; James W. Lane, teacher at Orange High School in Pepper Pike, Ohio, secondary representative; Shirley B. Mead-Mezetta, social-studies consultant for San Mateo (Calif.) County and executive secretary for the California Council for the Social Studies, “other related professional’’ representative; Richard G. Moulden, 7th- and 8th-grade social-studies teacher at Chinook Middle School in Bellevue, Wash., secondary representative; Denny Schillings, social-studies teacher at Homewood (Ill.)-Flossmoor High School, president-elect; Bob Stahl, associate professor of education at Arizona State University in Tempe, vice president.

Six committe members were recently appointed to the National Staff Development Council’s National Advisory Committee for Urban Middle-Level Staff Development:

Howard Hardin, director of educational assessment and assistance for the Jefferson County Schools in Louisville, Ky.; Kay Lovelace, director of the Staff Development Management Academy of the Detroit (Mich.) Public Schools; Carlene Murphy, director of staff development, public relations, and adopt-a-school for the Richmond County Schools in Augusta, Ga.; Bertha Pendleton, deputy superintendent of the San Diego, Calif., schools; Efrain Villa, principal of the Kosciusko Middle Schools in Milwaukee, Wis.; Charles Warner, principal of the Jackie Robinson Middle School in New Haven, Conn.

Ernest L. Boyer, president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, has been named chairman of the Lincoln Center Institute for the Arts in Education in New York City.

Patricia M. Byrne, executive assistant to the president and director of public affairs at Lesley College in Cambridge, Mass., to executive director of the Cambridge (Mass.) Partnership for Public Education.

Miriam T. Chaplin, professor of education and chair of the education department at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, at Camden, has been elected vice president of the National Council of Teachers of English.

Ann Dumas, director of business development for Florian Wierzbowski Architecture in Chicago, Ill., to business-development representative for the K-12 and higher-education markets at the architecture firm Perkins & Will in Chicago.

Robert E. Evanson, chief operating officer at Harcourt Brace Jovanich Inc., to executive vice president and chief financial officer at Macmillan/McGraw-Hill School Publishing Company in New York City.

Dan L. Heinlen, director of alumni affairs at the Ohio State University Alumni Association in Columbus, Ohio, to chair-elect of the board of the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

Barbara S. Holt, executive director of the Citizens Schools Committee, a group promoting educational excellence in Chicago, Ill., to program officer for education at the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation in Chicago.

Dr. C. Everett Koop, former U.S. Surgeon General, has been named a distinguished scholar at the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, in Princeton, N.J.

Terry Smith, a consultant on management, public affairs, and education and a consultant to the National Geographic Society’s geography-education program, to executive director of the group.

John Wesley Cook, director of the Yale Institute of Sacred Music, Worship, and the Arts, has been named president of the board of directors of the Henry Luce Foundation Inc. in New York City.

Frank B. Withrow, a team leader and manager of the Star Schools program in the U.S. Education Department’s Office of Educational Research and Improvement, to director of learning technologies for the Council of Chief State School Officers.

Philip H. Yasinski, vice president of the Points of Light Foundation and former senior vice president of the National Alliance of Business, to vice president of the Close Up Foundation in Alexandria, Va.

Robert E. Young, dean and professor of education at the University of Wisconsin Center at Fox Valley, Menasha, Wis., to program associate at the Bush Foundation in St. Paul, Minn.

Resignations and Retirements

Robert J. Gerardi, superintendent of the Middle Township Public Schools in Cape May Courthouse, N.J., will retire from his post on December 31.

Charles B. Saunders Jr., vice president of the American Council on Education, will retire from his position at the end of August.

Piyush C. Agrawal
Paul Haggerty
Howard Hardin
Barbara S. Holt
Charles E. Inniss
Kay Lovelace
Robert V. Mahaffey
Carlene Murphy
Bertha Pendleton
Terry Smith
Charles Warner
Naomi R. Weinstein

A version of this article appeared in the August 05, 1992 edition of Education Week as APPOINTMENTS