2008 Young Scholar Research Fellowships

October 31, 2008 1 min read

The Knowles Science Teaching Foundation has awarded $110,000 fellowships to support research focused on preparing and supporting science and mathematics teachers in U.S. high schools.

The winners are Sreyashi Jhumki Basu of New York University’s Steinhardt School of Education, Elizabeth A. van Es of University of California—Irvine, Scott McDonald of Pennsylvania State University, and Mistitling Sato of the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.

The Young Scholar Research Fellowship winners will conduct research on topics ranging from encouraging student participation to building on skills taught in teacher-preparation programs.

The recipients of the two-year fellowships were chosen from among 33 scholars who submitted research proposals to the Knowles Science Teaching Foundation. More information about the 2008 Young Scholar Research Fellowships is available through the foundation’s Web site.

For application information, click here.

See Also

Read about other education-related honors & awards.