Published Online: September 25, 2007

Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

South Dakota Teacher of the Year Award

South Dakota Education Secretary Rick Melmer recently named Sharon Andrews, a 5th grade teacher at Challenge Center School in the Sioux Falls School District, the 2008 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. She will receive a $14,000 technology package from the Calgary, Alberta, Canada-based SMARTer Kids Foundation to improve student engagement and learning through the use of technology, as well as additional cash prizes from state-wide organizations and businesses. Ms. Andrews has been teaching at Challenge Center, an accelerated learning elementary school, for seven years and will represent South Dakota in the 2008 National Teacher of the Year competition.

Maine Teacher of the Year Award

Sanford High School history teacher Martin McKeon was awarded the 2008 Maine Teacher of the Year award. The award was presented by state Education Commissioner Susan A. Gendron for Mr. McKeon’s exceptional teaching performance in the 1,200-student school. Mr. McKeon will go on to compete for the National Teacher of the Year award.

New York City Science Teacher Awards

The Siemens Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Siemens AG, an engineering and electronics company headquartered in Berlin and Munich, Germany, in partnership with the New York Hall of Science, has honored 10 teachers from the New York City area with the 2007 Siemens Science Teacher Awards. The middle and high school teachers were recognized for their successful use of hands-on activities to help their students gain a deeper understanding and a growing interest in math and science. Each of the winners received a trophy and a trophy case. The recipients are listed below:
Rose V. Bruy, P.S. 4, Queens; Deborah Crimi, St. Matthias Parish School, Queens; Maryann Daly, Huntington Intermediate School, Long Island; Elizabeth Koos, P.S. 242, Queens; Pablo Lopez, P.S. 5, Bronx; Mike O’Herlihy, Manhattan Comprehensive Night and Day High School, New York City; Juan G. Rodriguez, St. Leo School, Queens; Bette Schonzeit, Hillcrest High School, Queens; Kristin Sherwood, Aquinas High School, Bronx; Martha Snegroff, Ardsley Middle School, Westchester.

Education Software Award

Portland, Ore.-based Inspiration Software has been awarded the 2007 EdNET Impact Award by Quality Education Data, Inc., a Denver-based publishing and media company that encourages a progressive approach in the education system. Inspiration Software, now in its 25th year, was acknowledged for its use of software that uses visual learning techniques to further student learning.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories