Published Online:

Editor Wins Award For Education Week

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

u Assistant Editor Peggy Caldwell is among 15 journalists awarded first prizes in the 1981 National Education Reporting Awards competition sponsored by the Education Writers Association. Ms. Caldwell, formerly education writer for the Louisville Times, won in the features category for newspapers with circulations of under 75,000 for her account of a changing situation for schools in Cleveland, "Troubled Cleveland Schools Near Turning Point."

The competition's grand prize was awarded to Mary Bishop, Thomas Ferrick Jr., and Donald Kimelman of the Philadelphia Inquirer for "The Shame of the Schools," a lengthy and detailed series of articles on the Philadelphia school system that grew out of a year-long investigation by the reporting team.

Other first-prize winners included:

Betty Curran, the Manassas, Va., Journal Messenger; William F. Quigley Jr., the Newburyport, Mass., Daily News; Fred Anklam Jr., the Jackson, Miss., Clarion-Ledger; Philip Terzian, the Lexington, Ky., Herald; Glen Macnow, The Detroit Free Press; Sara Rimer, The Washington Post; Frank DeLoache, Marion Hale, Helen Huntley, and Vernon Smith Jr., The St. Petersburg Times; David Behrendt, The Milwaukee Journal; Otto Friedrich, Time Magazine; Janis Johnson, MIAMI Magazine; Christopher Connell, Educational Record; Kim Hawkins, kool-tv in Phoenix, Ariz.; and John Merrow, National Public Radio in Washington, D.C.

Web Only

Commenting temporarily disabled due to scheduled maintenance. Check back soon.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories