Duncan Names New Members to Assessment Board

By Erik W. Robelen — September 06, 2011 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

The board that sets policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress, a.k.a. the nation’s report card, will soon have some new faces, including the head of the Baltimore school district and Kentucky’s education commissioner.

Today, U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced seven individuals who will serve four-year terms on the National Assessment Governing Board starting in October, including five newcomers.

The new members are:

• Andres Alonso, the CEO of the Baltimore City school district;

• Terry Holliday, the Kentucky commissioner of education;

• Dale Nowlin, a veteran math and science teacher at Columbus North High School in Columbus, Ind.;

• B. Fielding Rolston, the chairman of the Tennessee state board of education; and

• Cary Sneider, an associate research professor at Portland State University in Portland, Ore.

The two members getting another term are: Lou Fabrizio, the data, research, and federal policy director for the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction; and Susan Pimentel, an education consultant based in Hanover, N.H. who was a lead writer on the English/language arts and literacy standards for the Common Core State Standards Initiative.

“These seven leaders play critical roles in informing the public about where we are in education as a nation,” Secretary Duncan said in a press release. “Together, their diverse professional experience in education will be a valuable resource in identifying where we need dramatic improvement and how we can better provide our children with a 21st-century education.”

Created by Congress in 1988, NAGB has 26 members, including governors, state legislators, local and state school officials, educators, and others.

Related Tags:

A version of this news article first appeared in the Curriculum Matters blog.