Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints


The 1998 Awards for Excellence and Innovation, sponsored by the American Association for Career Education, were given to three organizations for excellence and innovation in programs, practices, and publications. The recipients are: Educators for Tomorrow Program, in the Ector County Independent School District, Odessa, Texas; the National Planning for Life Recognition Program, of the National Consortium of State Career Guidance Supervisors, Columbus, Ohio; the Architecture Curriculum, in the Boulder Valley Middle School Applied Technology Centers, Boulder, Colo.


The Encarta Lesson Collection Contest, sponsored by the Microsoft Corp., recognized teachers who submitted outstanding lesson plans that make use of Microsoft products. The two grand-prize winners received MidWest Micro Home multimedia computer systems. They are: Terri Gilbert from Forsyth Central High School in Cumming, Ga., and Tammy Payton from Loogootee Elementary West in Loogootee, Ind.

In addition, nine other teachers won Microsoft Office '97 Professional software. They are: Louis Anoff, Prescott College, Tucson, Ariz.; Cindy Eusey, McEvoy Middle School, Macon, Ga.; Kathryn Garcia, Sam Houston High School, Arlington, Texas; Joseph Gothchy, Thomas Jefferson High School, Federal Way, Wash.; Linda Hains, Rock Hill High School, Rock Hill, S.C.; Steven Hayes, Carl L. Barton School, Freeburg, Ill.; Joyce Mayo, Claremont Community School 42 X, Bronx, N.Y.; Phyllis Walker Stokes, McEvoy Middle School, Macon, Ga.; Barbara Wood, J.J. Smith Elementary School, Enumclaw, Wash.


The Golden Apple Award, co-sponsored by the Citywide Education Coalition and the Boston Teachers Union, was given to 15 Boston public school teachers for educational excellence. The award honors excellence in teaching and a learning commitment. Teachers were nominated by their peers, students, parents, and administrators. The winners and their schools are listed below.

Chuck Aversa, Boston Latin School, Boston; Regina Bailey, Mather Elementary School, Dorchester; Judith Kauffmann Baker, Madison Park Technical Vocational High School, Roxbury; Ron Bennett, Martin Luther King Middle School, Roxbury; Marybeth Bernard, Grover Cleveland Middle School, Dorchester; Adam Brown, Umana Barnes Middle School, East Boston; Irma Ferrer, James P. Timilty Middle School, Roxbury.

Stephen Gordon, Snowden International High School, Copley; Lois Hartley, William Howard Taft Middle School, Brighton; JoAnne Lee-Nieves, Jeremiah E. Burke High School, Dorchester; Candida Mundo-Arboleda, Louis Agassiz Elementary School, Jamaica Plain; Despena Papachristos, David A. Ellis Elementary School, Roxbury; Thelma Pierce, Mattahunt Elementary School, Mattapan; Bernadette Reid, James M. Curley Elementary School, Jamaica Plain; Mattie Shields, English High School, Jamaica Plain.


The Technology and Learning Teacher of the Year awards program, sponsored by Microsoft Corp., honors K-12 teachers who use technology to inspire students and enhance learning. Technology & Learning magazine announced the four regional and 49 state winners of the annual award for 1998. The regional finalists, marked by a (*), will compete for the national title. Awardees are listed below by state.

Alabama, Jaqueline Thornton, W.O. Parmer Elementary School, Greenville; Alaska, Carol B. Goltz, West Anchorage High School, Anchorage; Arizona, Pamela Lee Hopkins, Desert View High School, Tucson; Arkansas, Jim Yeager, Pottsville High School, Pottsville; California, Kevin Petitte, Hidden Valley Middle School, Escondido; Colorado, Glenda Leader-Nisttahuz, Rangeview High School, Aurora. Connecticut, Michelle Puhlick, Jack Jackter Elementary School, Colchester; Delaware, Patrick J. Bush, Howard High School of Technology, Wilmington; *Florida, Carol Wilson, Welleby Elementary School, Sunrise; Georgia, Robert M. Caplan, Tapp Middle School, Powder Springs; Hawaii, James Petersen, Aiea High School, Aiea; Idaho, David Heath, Eagle Rock Junior High School, Idaho Falls; Illinois, Amy E. Sandgren, Rock Island High School; Indiana, Anita Thompson, Ben Davis High School, Indianapolis; *Iowa, Chris Hungerford, Excel Alternative School, Marshalltown; Kansas, Anne M. Hageman, Topeka High School, Topeka; Kentucky, Gary Akins, Williamsburg Independent Schools, Williamsburg; Louisiana, John I. Swang, Mandeville Middle School, Mandeville; Maryland, Evelyn E. Walls, Francis Scott Key Elementary/Middle School, Baltimore.

Massachusetts, Albert Baggetta, Agawam High School, Agawam; Michigan, Joseph L. Hoffman, West Bloomfield High School, West Bloomfield; Minnesota, Peter Sullivan, Roseville Area High School, Roseville; Mississippi, Paul L. Raley, Meridian High School, Meridan; Missouri, Karen LaFever, Parkway Northeast Middle School, Creve Coeur; Montana, Vince Long, Billings Senior High School, Billings; Nebraska, Danelle Johnson, Shickley Public School, Shickley; Nevada, Linda J. Thompson, Advanced Technologies Academy, Los Vegas; New Hampshire, Terry Bailey, Pinkerton Academy, Derry; *New Jersey, Florence McGinn, Hunterdon Central Regional High School, Flemington.

New Mexico, Martin T. Schmitz, Cibola High School, Albuquerque; New York, Linda M. Chapman, Somers High School, Lincolndale; North Carolina, Pamela L. Maness, Seagrove Elementary School, Seagrove; North Dakota, Vivian Meiers, Northridge Elementary School, Bismarck; Ohio, Irene Moon, Wadsworth High School, Wadsworth; Oklahoma, Jamie Lynn Brehm, Russell Dougherty Elementary School, Edmond; *Oregon, Michael J. Brown, Seaside High School, Seaside; Pennsylvania, Karen McIlvaine, Central Columbia Elementary School, Bloomsburg; Rhode Island, Gery Detonnancourt, Woonsocket High School, Woonsocket.

South Carolina, Linda E. Hains, Rock Hill High School, Rock Hill; South Dakota, Jerry Olson, Webster Public School, Webster; Tennessee, Judy Beier, Hunters Lane Comprehensive High School, Nashville; Texas, Melinda Zeares, Arthur Kramer Elementary School, Dallas; Utah, G. Leigh Gunnell, Brighton High School, Salt Lake City; Virginia, Susan E. Spencer, Forest Edge Elementary School, Reston; Washington, Stephen D. Lalonde, University High School, Spokane; West Virginia, Kathy Kemper, Flinn Elementary School, Sissonville; Wisconsin, David Wiegand, Wausau West High School, Wausau; Wyoming, Ronald W. Ankeny, Shoshoni High School, Shoshoni.


Martin J. Koldyke, former chairman of the Chicago School Finance Authority, is the recipient of the Spirit of Erikson Institute Award, which recognizes accomplishment and resolve by a volunteer in support of the institute's mission, "Knowledge in the service of children."

Vol. 17, Issue 36, Page 42

Published in Print: May 20, 1998, as Honors & Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories