Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

E. Sharon Banks, principal, Northrop High School, Chicago, Ill., has been chosen as the winner of the National PTA's 1993 Phoebe Apperson Hearst Outstanding Educator Award, for her efforts in encouraging greater school involvement by parents of high school students.

John T. Bruer, president, the James S. McDonnell Foundation, St. Louis, Mo., has received the 1993 Quality Education Standards Award from the American Federation of Teachers, in recognition of his recent book, Schools for Thought: A Science of Learning in the Classroom.

Marcia Capuano, principal, H.L. Harshman Junior High School, Indianapolis, Ind., has been named a fellow of the Petra Foundation, a Boston, Mass., human- rights organization that recognizes individuals who overcome obstacles to accomplish important work in human rights.

Wilhelmina Delco, a Texas state representative, was recently awarded the James Bryant Conant Award by the Education Commission of the States, for her contributions to American education.

Ron Downing, an automotive teacher at the Lamar, Mo., Area Vo-Tech School, was recently awarded the Valvoline Automotive Teacher of the Year national award, given to the automotive instructor whose students perform best on a series of tests.

Anne Erwin, director, Hillsboro International High School, Hillsboro, Ore., was recently honored with the Global Classroom Teacher Award from E.F. Educational Tours, Cambridge, Mass, for her development of an interdisciplinary curriculum for her "International High School Program.''

Sister M. Isolina Ferre, chief executive officer, Centros Sor Isolina Ferre, Ponce, P.R., was recently awarded a Hispanic Heritage Award by the Hispanic Heritage Awards committee, a group of presidents and executive directors from 30 national Hispanic organizations. Sister Ferre was honored for her outstanding achievement in education.

Ernest G. Green, managing director, Lehman Brothers, Washington, D.C., and a former assistant secretary for employment and training in the U.S. Labor Department, has received the American Federation of Teachers' Quality Educational Standards in Teaching Award.

James W. Keefe, director of research, National Association of Secondary School Principals, Reston, Va., recently received the 1992-93 award for outstanding educational research from California State University, Fullerton, Calif.

Jack Kennedy, a teacher at City High School, Iowa City, Iowa, has been named National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year by the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Inc., Princeton, N.J.

Ardith Kurchey, student-council adviser, West High School, Painted Post, N.Y., has been named National Student Activity Adviser of the Year by the National Association of Student Councils.

Luz Stella Lopez, an associate professor of psychology at the University Del Norte in Colombia, was honored with the Miriam Levin Goldberg Research Prize for the 1992-93 academic year by Teachers College, Columbia University, New York City, for her outstanding Ph.D. dissertation at the college.

Karen O'Neil, a biology teacher at the Annie Wright School, Tacoma, Wash., has been named Washington State Biology Teacher of the Year.

Mary E. Dooley Weeda, a music teacher in the Anchorage (Alaska) School District, has been chosen as the first recipient of the Rostropovich Teacher Fellowship of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Washington, D.C.

The Livonia (Mich.) PTA Council has been named the winner of the National PTA's 1993 HIV/AIDS Education Award.

The National Council of Negro Women, Washington, D.C., has honored the following eight educators with the N.C.N.W.'s 1993 Excellence in Teaching Award:

National winner: Lessie B. Freeman, Lake Taylor High School, Norfolk, Va. Regional winners: Deborah Clements Johnson, Avery D. Harrington Elementary School, Philadelphia, Pa.; Ronn Johnson, Brown Street Academy, Milwaukee, Wis.; Douglas L. Smith, Columbus East High School, Columbus, Ohio; Yvonne Divans-Hutchinson, Edwin Markham Middle School, Los Angeles, Calif.; Margaret B. Lawrence, Istrouma Senior High and Technology Academy, Baton Rouge, La.; Barbara Pope Bennett, Benjamin Banneker Model Academic Senior High School, Washington, D.C.; Sheryl R. Anderson, Andrew J. Robinson Elementary School, Jacksonville, Fla.

U.S. Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley has named 81 winners in the Drug-Free School Recognition Program, which honors schools that have made outstanding progress toward meeting the sixth national education goal. The schools are listed below by state.

Alabama. Millbrook Junior High School, Millbrook; D.A. Smith Middle School, Ozark. Arizona. Cactus High School, Glendale; Tuba City Boarding School, Tuba City. District of Columbia. Eastern High School, Washington. Florida. Gause Career Development Center, Bartow; Boca Raton Community High School, Boca Raton; Spanish River Community High School, Boca Raton; Roosevelt Vocational School, Lake Wales; Southwest Elementary School, Lakeland; Mulberry High School, Mulberry; Lake Shipp Elementary School, Winter Haven. Georgia. Terry Mill Elementary School, Atlanta; Forrest Hills Elementary School, Decatur.

Hawaii. Kauluwela School, Honolulu; Kipapa Elementary School, Mililani; Pearl City High School, Pearl City; Waialua High and Intermediate School, Waialua. Indiana. Hanover Central Junior/Senior High School, Cedar Lake; St. Barnabas School, Indianapolis. Louisiana. Reeves High School, Reeves. Michigan. West Bloomfield High School, West Bloomfield. Minnesota. North View Junior High School, Brooklyn Park; O.H. Anderson Elementary, Mahtomedi.

Mississippi. West Elementary School, Gulfport. Missouri. Walker Elementary School, Florissant; Russell Elementary School, Hazelwood; Ingels Elementary School, Kansas City; Nixa Middle School, Nixa; Cupples Elementary School, St. Louis; Baden Elementary School, St. Louis. Montana. Largent Education Center, Great Falls; Popular High School, Popular.

New Jersey. North Highlands Regional High School, Allendale; Whippany Park High School, Whippany. New York. Benjamin Franklin High School, Binghamton; Crispell Middle School, Pine Bush. North Carolina. Wilton Elementary School, Franklinton. Ohio. Rodger O. Borror School, Wilmington. Rhode Island. Archie Cole Junior High School, East Greenwich. South Dakota. Takini School, Howes.

Tennessee. Oak Elementary School, Bartlett; Evans Elementary School, Memphis. Texas. A.C. Blunt Middle School, Aransas Pass; Bridgeport High School, Bridgeport; Diboll Junior High School, Diboll; Zach White Elementary School, El Paso; C.D. Landolt School, Friendswood; Hardin Junior High School, Hardin; Kleb Intermediate School, Klein; J.L. Thomas Elementary School, Piano; William P. Hobby Middle School, San Antonio; Laura Reeves Elementary School, Silsbee; Spring High School, Spring.

Utah. Orem High School, Orem; Lincoln Elementary School, Salt Lake City. Virginia. St. Timothy School, Chantilly; Menchville High School, Newport News. Wyoming. East Junior High School, Rock Springs.

Vol. 13, Issue 04

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories