Table: Blue-Ribbon Panel

September 27, 2005 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Members of Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings’ Commission on the Future of Higher Education include:

table.lgtxt_1 { width: 430px; font-family: Verdana, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 10pt; border-top: 1px solid #cccccc; border-left: 1px solid #cccccc; }

table.lgtxt_1 td ,table.lgtxt_1 th

{ padding: 4px; /* Sets the padding for all cells */ border-bottom: 1px solid #cccccc; border-right: 1px solid #cccccc; } table.lgtxt_1 thead tr th { font-weight: bold; text-align: center; background-color: #5C74A2; color: white; }

table.lgtxt_1 tbody tr th

{ font-weight: bold; text-align: left; background-color: #EDEACB; } table.lgtxt_1 tbody tr td

{ font-weight: normal; text-align: left; vertical-align: top; }

table.lgtxt_1 tbody tr.footer td

{ font-size: 8.5pt }

Charles Miller Commission chariman; former chariman, board of regents, University of Texas system
Carol Bartz Chairman and chief executive officer, Autodesk Inc.
Nicholas Donofrio Executive vice president for innovation and technology, IBM
James Duderstadt President emeritus, University of Michigan
Gerri Ellicott Corporate vice president, Microsoft Corp.
Kati Haycock Director, Education Trust
James B. Hunt Jr. Former governor of North Carolina
Jonathan Grayer Chairman and chief executive officer, Kaplan Inc.
Arturo Madrid Humanities professor, Trinity University
Robert Mendenhall President, Western Governors University
Charlene R. Nunley President, Montgomery College
Arthur J. Rothkopf Senior vice president, U.S. Chamber of Commerce; president emeritus, Lafayette College
Richard Stephens Senior vice president, Boeing Co.
Louis W. Sullivan President emeritus, Morehouse School of Medicine; former U.S. secretary of health and human services
Sara Martinez Tucker President and CEO, Hispanic Scholarship Fund
Richard Vedder Economics professor, Ohio University
Charles M. Vest President emeritus and professor of mechanical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
David Ward President, American Council of Education
Robert Zemsky Education professor and chair, the Learning Alliance for Higher Education, University of Pennsylvania

A version of this article appeared in the September 28, 2005 edition of Education Week as Blue-Ribbon Panel


Jobs Virtual Career Fair for Teachers and K-12 Staff
Find teaching jobs and other jobs in K-12 education at the EdWeek Top School Jobs virtual career fair.

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: October 11, 2023
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Briefly Stated: September 27, 2023
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
9 min read
Education Briefly Stated: September 20, 2023
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education From Our Research Center What's on the Minds of Educators, in Charts
Politics, gender equity, and technology—how teachers and administrators say these issues are affecting the field.
1 min read
Stylized illustration of a pie chart
Traci Daberko for Education Week