Opinion
Education Opinion

Failing to Teach Students How to Read

By Walt Gardner — January 08, 2018 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

We hear so much about the importance of computer literacy, but what about reading literacy? A new lawsuit filed by Public Counsel on behalf of a group of students, parents and advocacy organizations charges that California has not met its constitutional duty to provide a free and public education of at least a reasonable quality (“Are California’s public schools failing their students on literacy?” Los Angeles Times, Dec. 26, 2017). The suit says the problem exists in charter schools as well as in traditional schools.

Its basis is a Stanford University study, which reported that of the 26 school districts nationwide with low reading scores, 11 were in California. What it doesn’t point out, however, is that California also happens to have the largest percentage of students whose first language is not English. That’s not an excuse but an important explanation. Ever since the early 1980s, California has been the principal port of entry for immigration.

The study also fails to note that cutoff scores to determine proficiency levels are arbitrarily set by panels that rarely agree with each other (“Reading Tests Vary With the Standard Used,” The Wall Street Journal, Jan. 23, 2017). For example, a state panel in Wisconsin in the 1990s said that 88 percent of students in the state were proficient. But another panel said it was only 35 percent. Which panel was correct?

Moreover, average reading scores on the National Assessment for Educational Progress for 9- and 13-year-olds are higher now than at any time in the past 45 years. I haven’t seen NAEP scores for California students. But I think the plaintiffs will need to use them to make their case. I think they’ll also have to explain the results of the latest Progress in International Reading Literacy Study, which ranked 4th-grade students from 50 countries and 11 benchmarking regions.

I saw first-hand the difficulty of teaching reading to immigrants when I was teaching English in the Los Angeles Unified School District. Starting in 1980, my class rosters were suddenly filled with the names of students from all parts of the world. As a result, I had to scrap prior lessons plans that were designed for English-speaking students, and design new ones to meet the needs of students from so many different cultures and backgrounds. The district failed to provide the necessary support in making the transition. I found myself relying on newspaper cartoons to teach them.

I’ve often wondered why students from European countries have been able to learn so many different languages. What makes their teachers so successful? For example, almost all students in Sweden graduate from high school speaking and reading English. Are there lessons that teachers in the U.S. can learn? If so, what are they? I realize that Sweden is far more homogeneous than California. Nevertheless, I would be most interested in learning more.

The opinions expressed in Walt Gardner’s Reality Check are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.


Commenting has been disabled on edweek.org effective Sept. 8. Please visit our FAQ section for more details. To get in touch with us visit our contact page, follow us on social media, or submit a Letter to the Editor.


Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Teaching Webinar
6 Key Trends in Teaching and Learning
As we enter the third school year affected by the pandemic—and a return to the classroom for many—we come better prepared, but questions remain. How will the last year impact teaching and learning this school
Content provided by Instructure
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
School & District Management Webinar
Ensuring Continuity of Learning: How to Prepare for the Next Disruption
Across the country, K-12 schools and districts are, again, considering how to ensure effective continuity of learning in the face of emerging COVID variants, politicized debates, and more. Learn from Alexandria City Public Schools superintendent
Content provided by Class
Teaching Profession Live Online Discussion What Have We Learned From Teachers During the Pandemic?
University of California, Santa Cruz, researcher Lora Bartlett and her colleagues spent months studying how the pandemic affected classroom teachers. We will discuss the takeaways from her research not only for teachers, but also for

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Schools Get the Brunt of Latest COVID Wave in South Carolina
In the past few weeks, South Carolina has set records for COVID-19 hospitalizations and new cases have approached peak levels of last winter.
4 min read
Two Camden Elementary School students in masks listen as South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster talks about steps the school is taking to fight COVID-19, Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2021, in Camden, S.C. McMaster has adamantly and repeatedly come out against requiring masks in schools even as the average number of daily COVID-19 cases in the state has risen since early June. (AP Photo/Jeffrey Collins)
Education More States Are Requiring Schools to Teach Native American History and Culture
Advocates say their efforts have gained some momentum with the nation’s reckoning over racial injustice since the killing of George Floyd.
3 min read
A dancer participates in an intertribal dance at Schemitzun on the Mashantucket Pequot Reservation in Mashantucket, Conn., Saturday, Aug. 28, 2021. Connecticut and a handful of other states have recently decided to mandate students be taught about Native American culture and history. (AP Photo/Jessica Hill)
Education Judge's Temporary Order Allows Iowa Schools to Mandate Masks
A federal judge ordered the state to immediately halt enforcement of a law that prevents school boards from ordering masks to be worn.
4 min read
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds speaks to reporters following a news conference, Thursday, Aug. 19, 2021, in West Des Moines, Iowa. Reynolds lashed out at President Joe Biden Thursday after he ordered his education secretary to explore possible legal action against states that have blocked school mask mandates and other public health measures meant to protect students against COVID-19. Reynolds, a Republican, has signed a bill into law that prohibits school officials from requiring masks, raising concerns as delta variant virus cases climb across the state and schools resume classes soon. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
Education Hurricane Ida Deals New Blow to Louisiana Schools Struggling to Reopen
The opening of the school year offered teachers a chance to fully assess the pandemic's effects, only to have students forced out again.
8 min read
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021. Louisiana students, who were back in class after a year and a half of COVID-19 disruptions kept many of them at home, are now missing school again after Hurricane Ida. A quarter-million public school students statewide have no school to report to, though top educators are promising a return is, at most, weeks away, not months.
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021.
John Locher/AP