Opinion
Education Opinion

Appy Hour: Sharing a PD Practice from Newtown

By Justin Reich — December 16, 2012 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Like many of my colleagues in the fraternity of teachers, I’ve spent a lot of this weekend thinking about and mourning with the families and faculty of Sandy Hook Elementary School.

There are many things to observe and discuss in this tragedy, but I thought I’d take a moment to honor and celebrate a little slice of practice that I glimpsed from Sandy Hook. It relates to two of my favorite things: 1) faculty providing professional learning for each other and 2) teachers thinking about how emerging technologies can improve their practice.

Several of my colleagues on Twitter pointed me to the feed of Dawn Hochsprung, the late principal of Sandy Hook Elementary. In it are 100 short messages from an educator who loved her students and her faculty, and who was broadly engaged in local and national discussions about the future of learning and the present shape of education reform. If you want a little peek into the culture of Sandy Hook and the life of a committed educator, take a look. (If you want some help thinking through this new, foreign practice of memorializing social media, this article from my colleague Alice Marwick, “There Isn’t Wifi in Heaven,” may help you think through it.)

There are lots of great lines and great pictures, but the one that caught my eye was this one (if the picture doesn’t render, click the link to see it):

30 Sandy Hook teachers gather for an early morning Appy Hour... sharing the best iPad apps for our classrooms! twitter.com/DHochsprung/st... — Dawn Hochsprung (@DHochsprung) December 4, 2012

So there they are, first thing in the morning, gathered together in the library around too-small tables, talking to each other about how they can enrich the lives of their students. And the name “Appy Hour” is just the sort of goofy thing that teachers come up with to make it all a little more fun.

Early morning technology PD has a storied history—I often share with educators the example of “Bagels and Laptops,” a tradition that Deb Socia started at the Lilla G. Frederick Pilot School in Boston, where teachers shared an early morning PD session and some bagels and cream cheese. It’s a great format for sharing exemplars, projects, and lesson ideas. I look forward to honoring Sandy Hook in future workshops by sharing their revised name for the format.

So to educators out there experimenting with iPads, I heartily encourage you to borrow this practice from Sandy Hook and hold your own Appy Hours. To all the school leaders out there, I heartily encourage you to borrow from Principal Hochsprung in modeling the use of social media to learn, to share practice, to keep in touch with your community, and to celebrate the learning in your schools.

My heart aches for the families and faculty of Sandy Hook Elementary School. When I think of them as time goes on, I hope to think not just of their terrible loss, but also of the great work they are doing. In this course of this tragedy, as I grieve alongside the nation for their loss, I’m grateful for a moment to learn from them.

The Sandy Hook Book Fairy reads with first graders... Keeping books in our hearts and on our minds! twitter.com/DHochsprung/st... — Dawn Hochsprung (@DHochsprung) November 16, 2012

For regular updates, follow me on Twitter at @bjfr and for my papers, presentations and so forth, visit EdTechResearcher.

The opinions expressed in EdTech Researcher are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.


Commenting has been disabled on edweek.org effective Sept. 8. Please visit our FAQ section for more details. To get in touch with us visit our contact page, follow us on social media, or submit a Letter to the Editor.


Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Teaching Webinar
6 Key Trends in Teaching and Learning
As we enter the third school year affected by the pandemic—and a return to the classroom for many—we come better prepared, but questions remain. How will the last year impact teaching and learning this school
Content provided by Instructure
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
School & District Management Webinar
Ensuring Continuity of Learning: How to Prepare for the Next Disruption
Across the country, K-12 schools and districts are, again, considering how to ensure effective continuity of learning in the face of emerging COVID variants, politicized debates, and more. Learn from Alexandria City Public Schools superintendent
Content provided by Class
Teaching Profession Live Online Discussion What Have We Learned From Teachers During the Pandemic?
University of California, Santa Cruz, researcher Lora Bartlett and her colleagues spent months studying how the pandemic affected classroom teachers. We will discuss the takeaways from her research not only for teachers, but also for

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Schools Get the Brunt of Latest COVID Wave in South Carolina
In the past few weeks, South Carolina has set records for COVID-19 hospitalizations and new cases have approached peak levels of last winter.
4 min read
Two Camden Elementary School students in masks listen as South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster talks about steps the school is taking to fight COVID-19, Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2021, in Camden, S.C. McMaster has adamantly and repeatedly come out against requiring masks in schools even as the average number of daily COVID-19 cases in the state has risen since early June. (AP Photo/Jeffrey Collins)
Education More States Are Requiring Schools to Teach Native American History and Culture
Advocates say their efforts have gained some momentum with the nation’s reckoning over racial injustice since the killing of George Floyd.
3 min read
A dancer participates in an intertribal dance at Schemitzun on the Mashantucket Pequot Reservation in Mashantucket, Conn., Saturday, Aug. 28, 2021. Connecticut and a handful of other states have recently decided to mandate students be taught about Native American culture and history. (AP Photo/Jessica Hill)
Education Judge's Temporary Order Allows Iowa Schools to Mandate Masks
A federal judge ordered the state to immediately halt enforcement of a law that prevents school boards from ordering masks to be worn.
4 min read
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds speaks to reporters following a news conference, Thursday, Aug. 19, 2021, in West Des Moines, Iowa. Reynolds lashed out at President Joe Biden Thursday after he ordered his education secretary to explore possible legal action against states that have blocked school mask mandates and other public health measures meant to protect students against COVID-19. Reynolds, a Republican, has signed a bill into law that prohibits school officials from requiring masks, raising concerns as delta variant virus cases climb across the state and schools resume classes soon. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
Education Hurricane Ida Deals New Blow to Louisiana Schools Struggling to Reopen
The opening of the school year offered teachers a chance to fully assess the pandemic's effects, only to have students forced out again.
8 min read
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021. Louisiana students, who were back in class after a year and a half of COVID-19 disruptions kept many of them at home, are now missing school again after Hurricane Ida. A quarter-million public school students statewide have no school to report to, though top educators are promising a return is, at most, weeks away, not months.
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021.
John Locher/AP