Education Honors & Award

Honors & Awards

September 06, 2006 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Science Award

The Denver-based Education Commission of the States announced the winners of its 2006 awards earlier this summer. Nancy S. Grasmick, Maryland’s state superintendent of schools, received the James Bryant Conant Award, which recognizes an individual’s contributions to American education. Kentucky won the Frank Newman Award for State Innovation, which honors a state or states that have shaped education policy. The ECS Chairman’s Award went to Neil Portnow, president of the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, for his efforts to promote arts in education and his contributions to the organization. The ECS Corporate Award was given to the Public Broadcasting Service, for its commitment to, and investment in, improving public education.

School Media Awards

Thomson Gale, the educational publishing and e-learning division of the Farmington Hills, Minn.-based Thomson Corporation, and the Library Media Connection, a magazine for school media specialists, recently honored three schools for their efforts to raise student achievement through collaborations between teachers and school librarians or technology staff.

The Teachers and Media Specialists Influencing Student Achievement awards, which include $2,500 cash prizes, were awarded to: Andale Elementary School, Andale, Kan.; Bowling Green High School, Bowling Green, Ohio; Helena Middle School, Helena, Mont. The following is a list of schools receiving honorable mentions for that award competition: Campbell Middle School, Daytona Beach, Fla.; Chapman Elementary School, Huntsville, Ala.; Fox Meadows Elementary School, Memphis, Tenn.; Glynn Academy, Brunswick, Ga.; Henrico High School, Richmond, Va.; Navarre High School, Navarre, Fla.; Walter M. Williams High School, Burlington, N.C.

Science Award

Gale G. Streblow, a 7th grade science teacher at Slinger Middle School in Slinger, Wis., has received the 2006 Hilda E. Taylor Teacher Award from the Jason Project. The annual award, named after a teacher who died in the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001, honors a teacher who creatively and effectively uses the Ashburn, Va.-based organization’s science and math curriculum in the classroom.

Technology Awards

The National School Boards Association, based in Alexandria, Va., recently awarded its Salute District awards to three school districts that focus on technology as a means of improving student achievement. The winners are: Kokomo-Center Township Consolidated School Corporation, Kokomo, Ind.; Kyrene School District, Tempe, Ariz.; Loudon County Public Schools, Ashburn, Va.

In addition, previous Salute District winner, Calcasieu Parish Public School System in Lake Charles, La., received a Trailblazer award from the organization for the technology planning that allowed the district to serve students, staff, and the community during Hurricane Rita.

A version of this article appeared in the September 06, 2006 edition of Education Week


Classroom Technology Webinar Building Better Blended Learning in K-12 Schools
The pandemic and the increasing use of technology in K-12 education it prompted has added renewed energy to the blended learning movement as most students are now learning in school buildings (and will likely continue

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Briefly Stated: November 17, 2021
Here's a look at some recent Education Week articles you may have missed.
8 min read
Education Nearly a Million Kids Vaccinated in Week 1, White House Says
Experts say there are signs that it will be difficult to sustain the initial momentum.
4 min read
Leo Hahn, 11, gets the first shot of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine, Tuesday, Nov. 9, 2021, at the University of Washington Medical Center in Seattle. Last week, U.S. health officials gave the final signoff to Pfizer's kid-size COVID-19 shot, a milestone that opened a major expansion of the nation's vaccination campaign to children as young as 5. (AP Photo/Ted S. Warren)
Education How Schools Are Getting Kids the COVID Shot, and Why Some Aren’t
Some district leaders say offering vaccine clinics, with the involvement of trusted school staff, is key to helping overcome hesitancy.
5 min read
A girl walks outside of a mobile vaccine unit after getting the first dose of her COVID-19 vaccine, outside P.S. 277, Friday, Nov. 5, 2021, in the Bronx borough of New York. (AP Photo/Eduardo Munoz Alvarez)
Education Biden Administration Urges Schools to Provide COVID-19 Shots, Information for Kids
The Biden administration is encouraging local school districts to host vaccine clinics for kids and information on benefits of the shots.
2 min read
President Joe Biden, and first lady Jill Biden walk to board Marine One on the South Lawn of the White House in Washington, Saturday, Nov. 6, 2021. Biden is spending the weekend at his home in Rehoboth Beach, Del. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)